We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can not miss this Chinese restaurant and Chinese gourmet.”
Review of The Good Fortune

The Good Fortune
Ranked #204 of 655 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: US$0 - US$32
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Malaysian, Thai
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You can not miss this Chinese restaurant and Chinese gourmet.”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

All the kinds of foods in this restaurant are very delicious. The food are mainly focus on the Hunan cuisine, but it also has the other kinds of cuisine, like Thai, Singapore, HONG KONG and so on. the more important is that the chief will try their best to cook the taste dishes you want. Their service is very intimate, NO.1。

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    20
    4
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Pleasant evening”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Was in the mood for a Chinese meal tonight so tried here and was not disappointed. We got a very pleasant welcome as soon as we walked in and we looked after very well. The food was really very good with the ribs being excellent. The atmosphere was good even though the place was quiet with only two other tables in use ,but both by Chinese customers which I would take to be a good sign. All in all a good evening.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisJ36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Chinese food”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Good and traditional Chinese food. Particularly, if you like spicy food that is the best choice. You can enjoy delicious Chinese Hunan style and hk style food there.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“U never try U never know”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This was my first time we had visited this restaurant and went with friends ,I am glad I made the decision ,super meals freshly prepared. ,good quality modern chinese cuisine ,very good service ,i don't want to say i am here to recommend this place ,all i have to said is try it for yourself different people have different point ,I will going back there again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shervell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great food let down by the atmosphere and service”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Took a punt on this place based on other reviews after our regular restaurant slipped. So 5 men say just give us a good selection of starter dishes to get us started, impress us. And all the waitress wanted to do was get us to pick the £20 set menu. Considering we would be happy to spend £50 or more each I thought they would be happier to let us select from the menu. And on the menu, it is too busy. Too much going and and not helpful for the undecided and indecisive. Tiger beer was OK but it needs to be colder but the wine was good even if we had to ask for a cooler for the white. Final gripe was they said they cannot do Irish coffee, what's that all about. Like I said at the beginning great food but sloppy service lets the chef down. And it baffles me why this placed was half empty on a Saturday before Xmas. Won't rush back but would he OK if I ended up here again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Good Fortune also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to The Good Fortune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing