We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great appartment with everything we needed”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Portsmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Barbastro, Spain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great appartment with everything we needed”
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I am a regular visitor to the Ocean Apartments and I wanted to write to say how happy we were with everything. I return to Portsmouth most summers and we always manage to get our favourite appartment. Nothing is too much trouble from the well organised management and what really makes us happy is that the apartments are really well located and spacious...a true luxury in Southsea!
I strongly recommend these Apartments and have had many great summers thanks to them. Keep up the good work Ocean Hotel and Apartments!

Room Tip: Contact and book an apartment early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P.Knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    25
    9
    8
    7
See reviews for
41
31
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

each time we come we find improvements to this lovely place, the appartments are as comfortably furnished and the staff kind and helpful as ever. looking forward to being back soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank couchbeings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2011

the suite was great staff very very helpful always a chearful greeting from them all crissy,dawn and lovly trasey though my wife was ill they could not have been more helpful and they loved our little dog minty she loved the sea view rooms very clean and in good order due too trasey who looked after us very well very secure and private car park we have stayed at a lot of hotels and apartments and think that the ocean hotel is second too none tanis , bill and minty

Room Tip: good family rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelt03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

The first time i viseted the Ocean Hotel it was a very welcoming nice friendly relaxed atmosphere. The hotel room was clean,quiet had a good view of the spinnaker tower and a nice place to relax for the night. The meals in the hotel was excellent as were the breakfast not much of a choice on the menu.

How ever when i viseted the second time i was disappointed. The day i booked the hotel room the member of staf or manageress on the phone tried to sell me a seaview room wich cost allot more than a normal room. But anyway i decided to get a normal room and i was happy for doing it because when i got their the front of the hotel (Seaview rooms) were covered in scaffolding with not a mention of this on the phone. The room i had was cold echoed terrible and had no tea or coffee provided unlike all the otheir hotels i have stayed in.

Still had no faults with the food.


Would think about staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ECMLTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Although it was just two nights last weekend, we spent a fantastic weekend in The Ocean Hotel in Southsea. It was great from the start as we swung into the free private car park which is a real bonus for a seafront hotel. After checking in, we zoomed up to our room in a 1920’s style lift which was amazing! "Haven't seen one of these in a while... not that I'm that old!" If you’ve seen ‘The Kings Speech’ you will know what we mean! Our room was just perfect and exactly as described – very, very spacious with large picture windows overlooking the sea. We enjoyed breakfasts and one evening meal in the restaurant and May, our waitress and chef, although being ‘one man down’ in the kitchen, produced great fayre and lots of it. It was all very friendly and we enjoyed much banter with her and Chrissie, the manageress, who gave us a lot of information on what was on and how to get there and nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely be back again later in the year to enjoy more time at this lovely hotel.
Marina & Patrice from Newbury

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magnoliasun-co-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2011

The best place to stay for week. We looked for somewhere affordable to spend a week in Portsmouth and found the Ocean Apartments after a short search. After a few nice calls to the managers we received a very good offer for a self-catering apartment with everything needed. We were welcomed very kindly and everything was arranged promptly, even though we arrived way to early. The apartment was just awesome, huge rooms, light with a magnificent view over the seafront Southparade Pier and the Isle of Wight. And not to forget this historic elevator we used every time although it only needed to bring us to the first floor...
It surely wasn't our last visit to Pompy and the Ocean

Room Tip: Check out the historic elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flem11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

A brilliant 3 nights stay in a room the size of a house! The manageress, beautiful Chrissy, and her ever so wicked staff looked after us 5 old F___S superbly! The worlds best and possibly oldest lif,t and magic views overlooking the sea. Neill.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverfoxAmpthill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
0.9 mi away
Queen's Hotel
Queen's Hotel
#25 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#5 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
4.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Hotel & Apartments

Property: Ocean Hotel & Apartments
Address: 8-10 St. Helens Parade | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 0RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our specialty is offering quality accommodation to suit most circumstances and budgets by providing hotel rooms, suites and apartments for holidaymaker's and business personnel on short or long term stays. We have earned an excellent reputation for providing welcoming and comfortable quality accommodation offering a choice between hotel bedrooms, suites and self-contained apartments of various sizes most of which enjoy magnificent sea views. We take pride in providing excellence at affordable rates with friendly and professional service backed with a wealth of years experience in providing a wide range of quality accommodation. Whether you are taking a family holiday, enjoying a romantic weekend or visiting us on business, we are sure you will be impressed by our high standards of accommodation. On business or pleasure... Enjoy our hospitality at the Ocean Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel And Apartments
Ocean Hotel Portsmouth
Ocean Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing