We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic in all aspects!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Portsmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic in all aspects!”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Fantastic facilities and fantastic staff!! Nothing was too much trouble. Apartment was very comfortable and met our every needs.Had a problem with electricity on first night, which was sorted out straight away. Staff went above and beyond to help my elderly father while I was at work. Would recommend these facilities, first class. Food in the bar was excellent too.
Overall an excellent visit, we will be back. Thank you all Harold, Amanda and Little Nellie x

Room Tip: Apartments are spacious and good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    25
    9
    8
    7
See reviews for
41
31
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Where do i start, I having been staying at the ocean over a three week as i was working in this area. First I want to say a Big Thankyou to all the staff for looking after me, and nothing was no trouble for theam, and also May's breakfast is to die for, Tip if you book this hotel i would recommend May's Breakfast as you would miss out...rooms was clean and also modern. On our final week the reception staff upgraded me and my work colluge, and I want to say a Big Thankyou for that!!!!I am now looking to come back for our wedding anervesary for the weekend in may!! I will looking forward in seeing you all again next year,I

Room Tip: bokk the breakfast its great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinsamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Great location and generally very friendly and obliging staff. Room was kept very clean - rather overpowering smell of disinfectant. Disappointing in all other areas, however. Room had no carpets or curtains (other than thin blinds), very echoey and unwelcoming. Heating did not work, and it took 3 days to get it sorted - took them 2 days to provide a (very smelly) electric heater. Telephone and hairdryer did not work, and only one set of towels for two people in the room. Lack of hot water after 8.30am. Unable to check in at 2pm as promised because receptionist had had to go out and left woman in charge who didn't know how to check us in. Bedlinen smelled of stale BO. After the first 4 complaints it became embarrassing and time consuming.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivory_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

stayed here for two weeks so far, nice room, friendly staff, brilliant cooked to order breakfast
with cereal full English and toast and marmalade noting is to much for staff,right on the front
so go for beach walks, if you get chance.i get to stay in alot of hotels while working away
and would recommend this if staying in and around area

Room Tip: sea view extra but well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We had a two bedroom apartment and were amazed at the size! The views over the Solent were amazing. The decor was tired and furnishings basic, but it was such good value!
Staff were very helpful and we had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We had a 5 night stay at the Ocean Hotel and had a suite. The view from the large windows was fantastic. Chrissy the Manageress was really helpful and friendly, and the suite was perfect for our needs. The paintwork is a little tired, but the warmth of the staff, the position of the hotel and the fabulous views made up for that. The meals provided by May were very good, all home made, even down to hand cut chips !! We shall definitely return.

Room Tip: Choose suite or apartment with large sea facing windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2011

My husband and I spent a week here .We had booked a one bedroom appt . only to find they had upgraded us to a 2bed front Appt . What a fantastic view it just made our holiday .The staff were so friendly nothing was too much trouble for them no matter what you asked . The bus into town was just outside the hotel and you got dropped off in front of hotel on return . I dont think we could have got any better value if we had went to a 5star hotel . If anything I would go as far as to say 5star service .5star Accomodation 5star staff and 5star weather red hot all week .We are just deciding what month to go next year . I think if anybody had any complaints about this place they would be hard to please and better staying away . to leave the reat of us to enjoy it . I highly recomend this hotel J&E Lane Morecambe

Room Tip: If you can afford to pay a little extra go for a sea front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lane68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
852 reviews
0.9 mi away
Queen's Hotel
Queen's Hotel
#25 of 38 in Portsmouth
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#7 of 38 in Portsmouth
654 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,111 reviews
4.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Hotel & Apartments

Property: Ocean Hotel & Apartments
Address: 8-10 St. Helens Parade | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 0RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our specialty is offering quality accommodation to suit most circumstances and budgets by providing hotel rooms, suites and apartments for holidaymaker's and business personnel on short or long term stays. We have earned an excellent reputation for providing welcoming and comfortable quality accommodation offering a choice between hotel bedrooms, suites and self-contained apartments of various sizes most of which enjoy magnificent sea views. We take pride in providing excellence at affordable rates with friendly and professional service backed with a wealth of years experience in providing a wide range of quality accommodation. Whether you are taking a family holiday, enjoying a romantic weekend or visiting us on business, we are sure you will be impressed by our high standards of accommodation. On business or pleasure... Enjoy our hospitality at the Ocean Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel And Apartments
Ocean Hotel Portsmouth
Ocean Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing