We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable - breakfast better than expected. Good location”
Review of Victoria Court

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portsmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Victoria Court
Ranked #23 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable - breakfast better than expected. Good location”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Had 2 nights in Victoria Court in mid April 2012. Room was warm and cosy, had a good nights sleep followed by a better than expected breakfast down in the basement area. Not as pricey as some other B&B's, but good value. Friendly service and advice. Parking could perhaps become a problem as you simply park out on the street, but we had no difficulty finding a spot when we were there. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkq828487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rookuk, Owner at Victoria Court, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear bkq828487
Thank you for writing your review, and I am glad you enjoyed our breakfasts. The award winning sausages are from a local butcher while the pig farm is also local and the bacon comes from the same butcher. The on street parking is now permit parking, which we give you a permit to display in the window. We also have a limited number of garage spaces which guarantees a parking space and can be pre booked online if available. I hope you enjoyed your stay in Portsmouth and then Cornwall.

Best wishes and hope to see you again.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    14
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
19
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Would not recommend this B&B.
The bedding was not clean, towels smell, the wire of the socket underneath the table is hanging out and the shower itself was a nightmare!
However, I'd give some credit to the good location, breakfast and the rather friendly owner.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YTHoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rookuk, Owner at Victoria Court, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
I'm sorry to say that the comments are totally untrue and libellous. Our sheets are scrupulously cleaned using Ariel Actilift and the towels are softened with Lenor Spring Awakening. Any stains noticed when the bed is stripped are spot washed and if a mark is noticed during the making of the bed it is rejected. We are fastidious about this as it is important. The sheets are Egyptian cotton and are replaced like the towels regularly, to local builders and pet homes. I have fitted new shower heads last month and everyone is pleased with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

A very pleasant B & B situated on outskirts of Southsea.
Large double room with freeview tv, 2 easy chairs in nice to relax in.
2 Minormoans 1in our room - Shower head can not be turned round so water shoots out at shower door & niether tap marked Hot or Cold .
Basement is used for breakfast -freshly decorated but slightly chilly.

Breakfast was a selecition of 3 cereals , orange juice & a cooked .
All very tasty and well presented.

Bus stop outside the B& B handy as parking is expensive in Portsmouth & Southsea.
Car spaces very hard to find at night ,so walk to the nearby shops and resturants as only a few mins away and only 20 mins to sea front at Soutthsea.
Permit holders parking only from April so I hope B& B get some for their guests.

Overall all a warm & pleasant stay - Would return when next down .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank henlowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rookuk, Owner at Victoria Court, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear henlowboy
Thank you for the review and glad you enjoyed your stay. Just to respond to your comments, we have now replaced the shower heads with ones on a flexible hose, and unfortunately the tap colours come off with continuous cleaning. Normally the dining room is warm but sometimes a guest turns the radiator off, and I don't notice until it is too late. Add to the 3 cereals, individually wrapped Weetabix and porridge. Permit parking is now underway and there has been an improvement, and I have permits which the guests have at no extra charge.

Best wishes and thank you,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The only disappointment with this B&B is that we could only stay one night! The friendliest and most helpful hosts, exceptionally respectful of all their guests, and quite possibly the nicest full english breakfast i've ever had!

Very well organized, warm, comfortable and welcoming. Very clear safety directions, and such nice attention to small details... simple things such as the sign on the back of the gate as you leave the b&b indicating local areas of tourist interest signposted with an estimation of their walking time.

Parking is relatively easy during the daytime - a little more difficult after 6pm.
We chose to leave our car parked in the street in the evening and walk out for dinner- plenty of pubs/restaurants within close walking distance and save the hassle of having to find another parking space!
Area seems very safe.
The entire b&b is non-smoking which I am all in favour of despite being a smoker myself! Yet another lovely attention to detail.... The front garden provides a shelter from the rain, and 2 chairs for smokers to sit out. Just lovely.

Overall, a lovely place to stay, highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NatVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rookuk, Owner at Victoria Court, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear NatVV

Thank you for your lovely review. I'm glad you loved the directions sign, Two things prompted me to put it there, 1. I have a dreadful memory and when I stay at a hotel and given directions the moment I step outside I can’t remember left or right. 2. Another guest said the next morning over breakfast there was nowhere to eat or see, they had turned left to an area of residential homes instead of right to roads full of restaurants and bars. It is a safe area I often go out late at night and feel safe. Finally the shelter is now covered in wisteria but devastated it hasn't flowered again. They say I have to wait another four years.

Best wish and once again thank you


David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
llanelli
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We found the oweners very accommodating couid not do enough for you.It appears that it was very important to them we had everything we needed and that we enjoyed our stay.We thought the breakfast was lovely and the service was great.The B&B itself was a brilliant location, all within walking distance for anything you could ever need.The price we paid was good value for money,if we returned to portsmouth we would probably stay here again.On leaving we were also given a small box of chocolate that we thought was a nice touch.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rookuk, Owner at Victoria Court, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear sarah w
Thank you for taking time out to write a nice review. Glad you had a nice stay with us and we try to keep our prices competitive without compromising on quality. I agree with you that everything is so handy and within walking distance. There is a downside though, on our way back from shopping in Waitrose with a healthy salad for dinner, we have to pass a road full of restaurants and the smells are irresistible. It’s difficult to diet.

Best wishes and hope to see you again,


David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston Upon Hull
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed at Victoria Court for 3 nights the room was clean and tidy although I thought the bathroom dated and could do with a refurb. The owner was an excellent host and remembered our breakfast tates which was very thoughtful and made our stay enjoyable. We would definately use this B&B again it was easy to find and well placed to explore wonderful Portsmouth!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rookuk, Owner at Victoria Court, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Dear Wendy S

Thank you for taking time to write a review. I was surprised to see you thought the bath room was dated and need refurbishment especially as it was totally updated last year by a professional company. This was to incorporate a new sound deadening wall and ceiling lining to comply with the latest regulations. The flooring and WC were put in May this year.

Incidentally the walls in rooms are repainted every year, the room you had is scheduled for December. They are painted in Antique White to be sympathetic to the properties age. The carpets, leather chairs and leather headboards are only 2 years old, the beds are last year while the curtains featuring a sewn in blackout lining and are flame retardant are this year and match the bedspreads. On the last visit by the hotel inspector from Visit Britain (formally English Tourist Board) she said the rooms were of a 4 star quality.

Best regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Stayed for 1 night in this hotel and was pleasantly surprised. Place was spotlessthroughout, owner friendly and helpful, breakfast was lovely and was only a £3.50 taxi ride from Gun Wharf Quays. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SARAHOWITT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rookuk, Owner at Victoria Court, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Dear Sarahowitt,

Thank you for the lovely review and hope you had a nice time in Portsmouth. Gun Wharf Quays is well worth a visit and hope you went up the Spinnaker Tower and not spent too much money in the tempting shops there. Hope you visit us again in the near future.

Best wishes and thank you again.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Portsmouth
Travelodge Portsmouth
#23 of 39 in Portsmouth
797 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#21 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,526 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#22 of 39 in Portsmouth
996 reviews
2.3 mi away
Farmhouse & Innlodge
Farmhouse & Innlodge
#34 of 39 in Portsmouth
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Court

Property: Victoria Court
Address: 29 Victoria Road North, Portsmouth PO5 1PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely family run B&B (hotel) set in the center of in Portsmouth, Southsea, and Gunwharf real time reservations and free Wi-Fi and computer. Proprietors in residence David & Vicky Johnson. Situated here for over 25 years, while the family has lived in Portsmouth for about 200 years.•En-suite shower and toilet •26 inch LCD Freeview Colour Television •Hospitality tray •Toiletries including shampoo •Wi-Fi throughout - FREE •Clock alarm •Radio •Digital Safe •Free use of computer to the Internet •No Smoking (covered smoking area outside) •Hairdryer •Iron and ironing board •Central heating controls •Cotton sheets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Victoria Court Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing