We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Victoria Court

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portsmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Victoria Court
Ranked #23 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Very nice and friendly hotel. Ideal for a stop over in the area. Great breakfast and very friendly. Also very comfortable slept very well. Very easy to find once we got off the bus. And if you are unsure what to do in the evening only a small walk to the main pub section of Southsea. And a 20 minute walk to the beach.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdogg1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rookuk, Owner at Victoria Court, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear jdogg1982

Thank you for the lovely review. As I have probably mentioned before regarding the breakfast of which we are proud of our suppliers. The meat is from Buckwells a prize winning local butcher and the pork for his sausages ,are from a farm at Liss near Portsmouth. Depending on season and availability the tomatoes are home grown while when we are not using hash browns we use Maris Piper for the potatoes in the breakfast. We hope you come again.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    14
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
19
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This lwas my second visit to Victoria Court and once again we were greeted by a happy and smiling David!!! This is a great bed and breakfast and Vicky and David are most helpful and friendly. The rooms are warm and very clean and we will definitely stay again on our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loraine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rookuk, Owner at Victoria Court, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Loraine C
Thank you for giving such a lovely review. It was lovely to see you again; most of our guests are repeat visitors and probably reflects on the lack of reviews as people have been so many times. We are now getting 2nd generation visitors. We love seeing guests coming again as it makes running a B&B so enjoyable and satisfying.
Please come again.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dibden Purlieu, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed here in September for 1 night. Ou room was on the ground floor at the front of the house. Very good nights sleep with no noices from the road. The room was spacious and very clean, the en suite shower was small but acceptable. Our room keys were left in the outside key safe which is a good idea. On arrival the owner made us very welcome and gave us a permit for on road free parking. Breakfast was served in the basement, was cooked from locally sourced produce and was excellent. All in all I think this B&B is very good value for money and is centrally located for Southsea and Portsmouth attractions. Well recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rookuk, Owner at Victoria Court, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Tom M

What a lovely review and thank you for it. Although we are not in a side road the quality double glazing is very effective at keeping out external sounds. Together with the ample hotel quality curtains with the blackout lining and fire retardant add to the cosiness of our rooms. As an aside when we had the old sash windows years ago, during repainting them the original colour on the frame was dark green which our present windows now reflect that today. Hoping to see you again.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stopped here for two nights for a Naval reunion. It's central for both Portsmouth and Southsea. David will give you a map if required and provides a parking permit for on road parking. We were in room 2 at the rear of the property, so it was nice and quiet. The rooms were clean and spacious although the shower cubicle was quite small.

You pre book your breakfast and the latest time is 9 o'clock, needless to say the day after the reunion I missed it.

I would stop there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheffieldersS6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rookuk, Owner at Victoria Court, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear SheffieldersS6

Thank you for the lovely review. I’m glad you had a great reunion, that’s what the stay is for. Shame you missed breakfast on you last day but your wife managed to get down. I agree with you as to how central we are to the facilities in Portsmouth, with the famous Albert Road with the Kings theatre, the Wedgewood rooms and restaurants less than 5 minutes walk away. The list is endless. We hope you visit us again.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Best to start with the good things I think. The place was very clean, excellent breakfast and the free wifi worked perfectly. It's within easy driving distance of Portsmouth's attractions and there is a good bus service if you don't want to drive. Parking is on the street and was not a problem during our visit. The owner will give you a parking permit.
Visitors should be aware that this establishment spans 4 floors and if, like us you given a room on the top floor you should be aware of the 4 flights of stairs you need to climb. In addition Room 7 is small and intruded by a steeply sloping ceiling (see attached image). The bathroom is very small, the shower even more so. On the landing below our room there were three mirrors stacked agains the wall and a fold down dining table, making the place look cluttered. We were left with a feeling that our room need an update or two. We didn't see any of the other rooms so can only comment of Room 7. If stairs are a problem for you be sure to ask for a ground floor room. Your legs will thank you for it at the end of a long day sightseeing. A decent B&B but we've stayed in better. Trip Advisor should have a "Good" option between Average and Very Good, that's where this place falls for me.

Room Tip: Go for a ground floor, stairs are steep
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike056_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rookuk, Owner at Victoria Court, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear Mike056_11, thank you for your review but I would like to make some comments on your negative points. With respect to the mirrors on the landing, we have just had 3 bedrooms replastered and they were stored there for a few days before fixing back onto the wall. This was a safest place and these mirrors are expensive. There was not a drop leaf table on the middle floor but a luggage rack under a writing desk; this too was waiting to be returned to a bedroom. The size of the room complies with and is larger than the size stipulated by the AA and the Tourist board so cannot be regarded as small. As for the sloping ceiling and the stairs which are definitely not steep, it is a city centre Victorian villa and that is the charm of staying in such a place and why guests return on a regular basis. It is what you expect with Victorian property, the alternative would be a modern hotel or a suburban chalet bungalow. Your room like the 3 that had been replastered was plastered last year with new soft furnishings at the same time. I’m sorry our home did not come up to your expectations, and it’s always a good idea to raise issues with me at the time, so I can resolve them promptly unlike the reviewer below who also didn’t contact me at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I stayed here for one night. Room was nice enough. Clean, bed was comfortable. Breakfast was nice. Location is good as its close to everything in portsmouth. And a 15 min walk to the beach.

1 thing - the shower was broken. This is something they should have checked before the room was given to me.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rookuk, Owner at Victoria Court, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Hamidal,
Thank you for the review. The shower was not broken, small particals of hardness salts from the mains had blocked the jets, this can happen at any time and rectified in a matter of seconds by rubbing your fingers over the rubber nozzles on the surface of the shower head. If you were unaware of this you could have contacted me at the time as is normal practice. It is one of the hazards of living in a hard water area. That is why I was supprised when you mentioned it to me when you left as the shower is checked every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

From start to finish Victoria Court offers a good service and value for money. The owner, David Johnson, not only emailed all the information we needed to get there and check in beforehand, but texted me with details while we were en route. He provided lots of information and a detailed map with the B&B clearly marked, so getting around the area and finding what we wanted to see was a doddle. He was a mine of information on the area and couldn't have been more helpful. When we left, he arranged safe storage for our bags so we could spend a few more hours looking around, and gave us a farewell gift of chocolate - unexpected and very kind.

The B&B is spotlessly clean and well equipped, with hairdryer, iron and board, tea and coffee, TV, in fact all the amenities you would expect to find in a larger hotel. Our room was large and comfortable, with an ensuite shower. It was at the front of the house, but we were not disturbed by street noise. Breakfasts were very satisfying.

Although it's out of the centre, the Southsea area had enough attractions to keep us occupied for a couple of days, even in fairly poor weather. Buses to Portsmouth centre and the malls stopped a few yards from the door, so exploring further afield is easy. All in all, Victoria Court offers excellent value for money, a warm welcome and a wealth of local knowledge.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenMcCarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Portsmouth
Travelodge Portsmouth
#22 of 38 in Portsmouth
782 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#23 of 38 in Portsmouth
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,511 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
3.8 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Court

Property: Victoria Court
Address: 29 Victoria Road North, Portsmouth PO5 1PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely family run B&B (hotel) set in the center of in Portsmouth, Southsea, and Gunwharf real time reservations and free Wi-Fi and computer. Proprietors in residence David & Vicky Johnson. Situated here for over 25 years, while the family has lived in Portsmouth for about 200 years.•En-suite shower and toilet •26 inch LCD Freeview Colour Television •Hospitality tray •Toiletries including shampoo •Wi-Fi throughout - FREE •Clock alarm •Radio •Digital Safe •Free use of computer to the Internet •No Smoking (covered smoking area outside) •Hairdryer •Iron and ironing board •Central heating controls •Cotton sheets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Victoria Court Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing