We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Stay - great B&B in great location”
Review of The Pier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pier
Ranked #4 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay - great B&B in great location”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My Wife and I returned to Portsmouth this last bank holiday weekend - those that know us know we are regular visitors and have stayed in many hotels and guest houses over the last few years. This was our first time in this premises and hopefully wont be our last, Gillian the proprietor is extremely efficient and professional as well as friendly and accommodating.
We arrived early in the morning, knowing our room would not be ready but that didn't stop Gill issuing the key and providing a much welcomed hot drink to start our day. Parking is on street outside the premises and a parking permit is supplied to you to enable this to be free of charge.

The room was extremely clean and well decorated, plenty of light, and the double room we had was of a good size with a massive bed..Thought I would need to order a taxi to get to the side my wife was on :-)

The bathroom - this could be an issue for some people if you were expecting a full size bathroom - the rooms are like a small Pod they contain a simple shower and a toilet - the handbasin forms part of the furniture of the room, for us it was not an issue - as long as there was a shower and a toilet that was fine - I dont tend to want to spend my weekends in a bathroom :-)

The room has a small TV on the wall with a few freeview channels again not a priority for us.

Breakfast was very good, no complaints at all, the homemade yogurt mentioned in previous reviews was sampled and was very nice, never did get the recipe though :-( The full English was cooked to order and the quality was a previously mentioned very high..Buckwells the butcher is renowned in this area for quality so anyone using their ingredients can't go far wrong.

Location - great - very central - 10 minute walk to Old Portsmouth further 5 to gunwharf - 5 minutes to sea front - 10 minutes to city centre and 10 minutes to Southsea shops and nightlife..couldn't be better.

All in all great stay - good nights sleep, great breakfast...We will be back - Thanks

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gazNbernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    38
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
124
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Romney marsh
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely weekend break the pier is a great place to stay room very comfortable and clean breakfast very nice and the homemade yogurt was yummy! Location is fantastic and Gill is a very friendly host :-) thank you Steve and Michaela

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1965dean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Pier. Gill was very helpful, the breakfast was terrific, topped of by her home made yogurt - the best I have ever had. The room was perfect, very clean. It is an easy walk to Southsea and the Old Harbor. There are plenty of restaurants close by, Gill will be happy to recommend some.

Room Tip: There are some stairs, so ask for a 1st floor if stairs are a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annecyborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed at The Pier for 3 nights recently, and was very happy with my choice! Gill is a lovely hostess, charming and friendly, and her breakfasts are delicious! Loved the cooked-to-order breakfast, and with the delicious home-made yogurt, cereal, toast etc etc, I was set up for the day's sightseeing. My room was quiet, spacious, bed ultra-comfortable, pretty vanity unit, and spotlessly clean. The Pier is just a 10-minute walk from Gunwharf Quays and that amazing Spinnaker Tower, and the Historic Dockyard is a must-visit. I would recommend The Pier to anyone wanting a change from chain hotels, for personal service at its best.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanetteB49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed at The Pier for 3 nights in April. Pretty and comfortable house with a lovely host. My room was quiet and comfortable and the full English breakfast (with locally sourced ingredients) and homemade yogurt was delicious. The inn is well located- I found it easy to walk to the town centre as well as the shore. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnstaple
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed here because of favorable reviews and were very pleased we did. What a pleasant, clean and comfy place. Gill was very nice.
The Pier is well placed to visit Gunwharf Quay and is in a quite location.
Should we return to Portsmouth we would stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffery h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We arrived after a long motorbike ride to a lovely coffee and a fantastic room. Bed was fit for a king and queen. Cleanliness was second to none.
Gill has thought of every detail to make your stay the best. Local knowledge and a list of menus from local restaurants.
Breakfast was superb.
Sad to leave.

Room Tip: We had the biggest room at the front and it was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedleetours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#21 of 39 in Portsmouth
997 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,142 reviews
1.2 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
657 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#24 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pier

Property: The Pier
Address: 2 Bellevue Terrace | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 3AT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 1810 Georgian town house situated 10 minutes' walk from Gunwharf Quays. Five elegant guestrooms, four have king-sized beds with a small pod-style (similar to a cross channel ferry) type en suite bathroom and one has twin beds with shower, wash basin and toilet - all with quality beds and fine Egyptian cotton linen, digital Freeview television, toiletries, hospitality tray and Free WiFi. For breakfast, fresh coffee, Portsmouth tea, dry cure bacon, local award winning 'proper' sausages and free range eggs, fresh mushrooms and tomatoes all cooked to order, along with homemade yogurt, croissants, cereal and fresh fruit buffet, special diets catered for on request. Customers lounge, relax and enjoy........ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Pier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing