We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveller rating
217
45
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
45
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade yogurt parking permit full english top quality ingredients historic dockyard gunwharf quays helpful owner b and b electric shower comfortable bed excellent breakfast three night stay excellent stay a lovely place to stay visiting portsmouth fantastic weekend home from home
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 263 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at The Pier for four days while visiting Portsmouth. The B&B was very comfortable, warm and clean. The shower/toilet cubicle was slightly small, but workable. There was plenty of tea/coffee available in the room. The breakfast was really good - a wide choice, and well cooked - must be some of the best cooked breakfasts we have had! Parking on the streets outside was easy, and free with the pass provided by the B&B. Gunwharf Quays and the dockyard are easily reached on foot or by bus. There are plenty of good places to eat within walking distance

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MNPreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2019

We had a two day midweek break in Portsmouth staying at the Pier. The host (Gill) and staff (Margo) were really welcoming and friendly. Breakfasts were brilliant - quality food, superbly cooked. Sausages and bacon were to die for!
Although an older style of property, the guest house is extremely clean throughout - probably the best we've seen for years. The bed in Room 3 was large and comfortable. There was a good selection and quantity of tea and coffee in the bedroom - so many places nowadays give you only the basic minimum - but not here.
The shower toiletries could have been improved but otherwise we find it impossible to find any other fault.
The property is ideally placed for visiting all the main attractions of Portsmouth. Just a short walk (10 - 20 mins) to Old Portsmouth, Gunwharf Quays, Station and the Dockyard areas (HMS Victory, Mary Rose etc) and 5 - 15 minutes in the other direction for the Southsea attractions (Southsea Common, the Castle, the D Day Exhibition, the Pier and beaches etc etc.). Public transport is also good and reasonably priced in this area.
Altogether a good stay, made better by excellent and very reasonably priced accomodation.

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank Richard_and_Di
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2018

The Welcome:
Upon arrival in the rain it was with great relief to find, within a few yards, available street parking outside the front of the building and opposite on the other side of the road.

We were welcomed by a very friendly Gill who gave us a parking permit to place in our windscreen and also offered to help carry our hand luggage sized bag to the room.

THE ROOM
We were on the top floor after two flights of stairs and we were very happy with the room. It was very very clean, with a TV, which we didn't use and a welcome booklet which includes Wifi details.
Coffee and Tea of various kinds was also available with UHT milks, creams and a twin pack or Walkers type Luxury Gourmet biscuits /cookies.
Gill gave us a quick guide to using the facilities, handed us the room key and offered to make us a hot drink before leaving us to unpack. We've never been offered that before anywhere! She made us feel very welcome and special.
Within the room was a hair dryer, a fold-out table, a folding luggage cradle which was pulled out for us and ample space in drawers and wardrobes for clothing.

The Bed.
Large and comfy but a little too soft for me. It's not a negative, just a personal preference but it was large and I slept very very well! Perhaps it's time to get a soft bed at home!! We were both very warm and it was definitely cosy but not a hot, hot room thank goodness.
I can't remember hearing any traffic and the windows have blinds as well as heavy black out curtains so if you like a good nights sleep in pitch black you're in luck.

Breakfast
No faults here either. The breakfast was amazing and Gill had checked with us the day before what time we were likely to come down and what we'd be eating with regards to the fry-up.
I tend to be a kid in a sweet shop when it comes to breakfast and if i cant decide, I tend to eat everything I can lay may hands on. First a croissant with fresh orange juice, then a bowl of cereal, toast and then the main event; the Fry-up.
The bacon and sausage were excellent quality and not fatty in the way a traditional fried breakfast might be found in many establishments. It was amazing. This was as close to a no grease fry-up you can find.
We were offered more toast, tea and coffee and really made the most of it.
The dining area is not small and you feel like you have your own space when eating and not feeling so close to other guests as to make one feel uncomfortable. Additionally, you're also able to see the the kitchen and the cooking going on, yet, WITHOUT the saturating smells of a greasy spoon (cafe) making you feel like you might need to have another shower or change of clothes.

We had a nice conversation with Gill after breakfast, paid our tariff and vacated our room...but we'll be back.

Being so close to the best amenities like the hoverport, the Pyramid, town centre, and most importantly, the Pie and Vinyl shop AND the Belgian Waffle shop within a couple of hundred yards means The Pier will now be our primary go to place when we head to Portsmouth in future.

Thanks for a great stay Gill

Room tip: Top floor very quiet
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Clinton_S_Squared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2018

Stayed one night with my daughter. Good location and price. The room was comfortable, with everything you could need provided. Very clean, fresh and bright. Lovely welcome, great breakfast. We didn't hear anyone or anything all night long even though the house was fully booked. Great place to stay.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brightontact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2018

Room was pleasantly decorated and clean, breakfast was plentiful, hot and of good quality. Location is just off the Southsea beach area but only a short walk to most places in the historic and retail parts of Portsmouth.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews