We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Level Contributor
125 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stayed here Saturday night whilst out with colleagues in Gunwharf Quays.
Couldn't fault the hotel. Was clean throughout, no problems with noise like some reviews mention and the free breakfast was fine.
Parked in the main Gunwharf car park, Reception validated the ticket and it was free for my overnight stay.
The town centre is a 15 minute stroll away and the hotel is in the middle of Gunwharf itself.
I will certainly use it again next time I'm down that way.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbey2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Many thanks for reviewing the hotel after your recent stay, it was great to read that you could not fault the hotel and that you enjoyed your stay which is what we always aim for, I will ensure, as with all reviews that your comments are fed back to the team and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are visiting the area. Once again thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    491
    331
    121
    45
See reviews for
211
492
42
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london,uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed at the hotel for my sons graduation . Excellent position , in the heart of Gunwharf with restaurants/bars/shops literally outside the door , easy walking distance to the University and all the navy related exhibits .
However its expensive for what you get , parking is included for 1 day then its £2 per day after , BUT its in the adjacent underground car park so make sure you unload the luggage before parking .
Reception is not on the ground floor but its pleasant enough . Rooms were bright and furnished with a large TV , bathroom with shower only , no shampoo and only 1 large towel .
The bed was a disaster , the mattress was like a trampoline and sagged in the middle , probably the most disturbed nights sleep I have had in a long time , my wife considered using the sofa bed to sleep but merely sat on it some of the night because her back hurt .
Staff were pleasant and hotel clean and tidy , breakfast was included , hot food was beans , sausages and soggy scrambled eggs but cereals , toast etc available .
We had a room overlooking the entrance to Gunwharf and whilst not a brilliant view it was quiet.Considering the cost of £130.00 per room the hotel was probably poor value for money but it was in the best location and because of the university gradution other hotels were fully booked .

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetoothdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review the hotel, as you say the location of the hotel is second to none, situated on the Gunwharf Quays complex with over 95 retail outlets, over 25 restaurants & bars and a number of attractions all on the hotels doorstep. Portsmouth University is also only a short walk away making us an ideal choice when visiting the University.
Prices for the hotel do vary depending on when you are planning to stay, the price does include 24 hours free parking in the award winning Gunwharf Quays underground car park and breakfast the following morning, the car park is a very short walk away from the hotel, there is a pick up/drop off point outside the hotel if you need to unload luggage before parking.
The hotels Reception is located on the first floor which is signposted as you walk into the ground floor lobby, as you say the bedrooms are modern and bright with 26" flat screen TV's with freeview, as we are a Holiday Inn Express all our bathrooms have only showers, there are two dispensers in the bathroom, one filled with hand soap and the other with hair and body wash, I apologise that there was only one towel in your room on arrival and I trust this was rectified.
With regard to the bed I apologise this was uncomfortable for you as our aim is for all guests to have a great nights sleep when staying with us, I will ensure this is thoroughly checked and the problems resolved to avoid the same issues in the future.
Breakfast is free for all our guests, as a Holiday Inn Express we serve a continental style buffet breakfast with three hot favourites, we have been working hard to improve our breakfast and I appreciate your comments which will only help us to improve further.
It was fantastic to read that you found the hotel clean and the team to be pleasant, I will, as with all reviews ensure the team read your comments as they mean such a lot to us all.
Once again many thanks for taking the time out of your day to review the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Great location right on gunwharf. Bed so bad that sleep is almost impossible. Car park in gunwhaft car park not easy to access hotel from car park. Breakfast busy and self service - food not great.
Room okay interesting layout so you can close door to toilet but leave acess to shower. Tv good but could hear next door. I had two hours sleep and when I complained about the bed I was given a card suggesting that I write a review on trip advisor so I did!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ibme1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, as you say we have a great location situated on the busy Gunwharf Quays complex with over 95 retail outlets, over 25 bars and restaurants and a number of other attractions such as Spinnaker tower & the historic dockyard all on the hotels doorstep.
I was sorry to read that you did not have a great nights sleep when staying with us as this is what we aim for, we have a preventative maintenance program in place in the hotel which includes thorough checks of all the beds and mattresses, I will ensure my maintenance team check and rectify any problems with regard to the beds in the hotel.
Guests in the hotel use the main Gunwharf Quays award winning underground car park, this is a very large car park which has a number of exits, as you are exiting the car park there are signs to direct you to the hotel from all exits, as a guest at the hotel there is a significant discount in the car park, the first 24 hours or exit is free of charge and then it is only £2 per exit or per 24 hours thereafter.
As you can imagine the hotel is very busy and therefore breakfast service is also busy, there are peak times for breakfast which are advised on notices around the hotel and are also included in the welcome letter that all guests receive when they check in.
Once again many thanks for the review, your comments are appreciated as they will only help us to continue to improve the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeville, Hawaii
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

The only good thing is the location, which in Portsmouth can actually be better if you choose to stay somewhere at west Southsea (5 mins walk from Gunwharf Quays) Next to Palmerston Road is not a bad place. At Gunwharf you can see drunk students, so nothing special. The price surely does not match the quality of services that the hotel provides and also the rooms. Any B&B in the area would be better experience for holiday visitors. Parking in the area can be real pain. Avoid entering as it is PRIVATE property with 200 quid fine. Would not recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peshovuchev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you for reviewing the hotel after your recent stay with us, it was disappointing to read that the only good thing you found about the hotel was the location as we have been working hard to improve the hotel and services that we offer and we have been receiving a number of positive reviews due to this.
Parking for the guests of the hotel is in the award winning Gunwharf Quays underground car park, charges for this are significantly discounted for hotel guests, the first 24 hours or exit is free of charge and further exits or 24 hours thereafter are charged at only £2 each, there are a number of private car parks around Gunwharf Quays for private residencies which are patrolled by enforcement companies, which are clearly signposted as private which would incur a fine should you park there.
Once again many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Derbyshire, UK
Level Contributor
108 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice. The first time we got a good rate and a room at the back of the hotel with a view of the road/drop off area at the back of the hotel. We had a great night sleep on a comfortable bed clean, the room was very clean and we liked the location - we could not fault the hotel or the staff.

The second time we stayed we had rooms at the front of the hotel over looking Gunwharf Quay. The rooms and hotel facilites were as expected and we were very happy. The only but major down side was the noise from the night club opposite he hotel which kept us awake with the insesent boom of the base from each track. I dressed and went to reception at 01:30 and again later at 03:00 to make the staff know that I was wide awake and unhappy. The staff were very apologetic but said 'the hotel is in the city centre and we should expect alot of noise at night.' My faith in the Holiday Inn chain was restored by the night staff reporting my complaint to the hotel manager the following morning who thoughtfully refunded one of the two rooms we had booked.

So, if you are planning to stayhere and are not going out clubbing, ask for an inside room and you should have a good night sleep and a usual hotel breakfast. The rates change depending on when you stay but there are some baragins to be had if you can time it right.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back of the hotel if you want a good night sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, your comments and feedback are really appreciated, I was really pleased to read your comments regarding your first stay with us and am pleased that during your second stay the team managed to restore your faith in the brand after the problem with external noise, it was great to read that the hotel and team exceeded your expectations.
Gunwharf Quays is a very busy complex both day and night and therefore the guest rooms on the front of the hotel may be a little noisier, all the bedrooms are fitted with triple glazed windows to reduce the amount of external noise and they are also fitted with air conditioning in order for guests to be able to close the windows whilst sleeping and the room will remain at a comfortable temperature.
Prices at the hotel do change frequently, but as you say depending on when you are planning to stay will determine the rates, we do run special promotions from time to time and there are also a number of options with regard to rates when you are booking.
Once again many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel and for leaving a handy room tip which I am sure future visitors will find useful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

In a fantastic location on the plaza at Gunwharf Quay, this hotel offers much in terms of location. Right on top of everything but still quiet at night. Clean and tidy, friendly staff and a reasonable price.....but what do we all want....a really good nights sleep! The bed in this case was horrible! really uncomfortable, noisy every time you moved and had one of those "romantic" mattresses that meant you both ended up in the middle breathing on each others face!! Such a shame.

On a positive note, they have negotiated some very good discounts at the local restaurants...up to a real 50% off food.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turbinetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Many thanks for taking the time out of your day to review the hotel, as you say the location of the hotel is great, situated on the Gunwharf Quays complex with all the attractions, bars, restaurants & shops all within a stones throw of the hotel, the complex is very busy both day and night and therefore there can be an element of noise, the rooms are fitted with triple glazed windows to reduce this, so it was great to hear that you were not disturbed during your stay. I was delighted to read that you found the hotel to be clean & tidy, was good value for money and the team were all friendly during your stay, I will ensure that your comments are read by the team as they mean such a lot to us, with regard to the bed I will ensure that my maintenance manager thoroughly checks the bed and mattress and rectifies the problem, I apologise that you did not have a great nights sleep on this occasion.
As you say there are a number of significant discounts available in a number of restaurants & bars when staying with us which is fantastic.
Once again thank you for the review and I trust we will see you again the next time you are visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Excellent location about 10 min from the Portsmouth Harbour station. Central of all excitment. Hotel serves drinks for the guest until 2am., Nice resturatant around the hotel. Rooms are clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Great location to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rioram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review the hotel, as you say the location of the hotel is excellent and is central to all Gunwharf Quays and Portsmouth has to offer, there are over 25 bars & restaurants, over 95 retail outlets and a number of attractions all situated on Gunwharf Quays, ferry ports and the train station are both within walking distance of the hotel aswell which makes the hotel a great place to stay.
I was delighted to read that you found the hotel both clean and comfortable during your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Once again many thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
3.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#21 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#23 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Property: Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Address: Gunwharf Quays | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth hotel is located within Gunwharf Quays which is a vibrant waterfront development offering a number of attractions, including over 95 designer clothing outlets,over 25 restaurants & bars, a cinema, ten pin bowling, casino and comedy club. The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth Hotel is ideally located for business or leisure breaks. It comprises 130 en-suite bedrooms and 2 modern meeting rooms, all with comfort cooling, natural daylight and free wifi throughout the hotel. The Great room and lounge area situated on the first floor offers drinks and relaxation in the evening, as well as a free continental breakfast with hot favourites which include scrambled egg, sausages & baked beans in the morning. Undercover secure parking is available in the award winning main Gunwharf Quays car park, all Hotel guests receive discounted rates for car parking in the main Gunwharf Quays car park, first twenty four hours or first exit is free of charge and then second 24 hours or exit and thereafter are charged at £2. Access to trains, buses and ferries are all within walking distance. Southampton International Airport is 22 miles away. Convenient access to all of Portsmouth's many attractions, including the Spinnaker Tower, The Historic Dockyard, Portsmouth Old Town with its cobbled streets and the waterfront, filled with traditional pubs and restaurants are all within walking distance. PLEASE NOTE: THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS - PORTSMOUTH GUNWHARF QUAYS HAS DEDICATED DISABLED CAR SPACES OUTSIDE THE HOTEL ENTRANCE, WITH A DROP OFF/PICK UP FACILITY BY THE FRONT DOOR. THERE IS APPROX A 3 MINUTE WALK FROM THE UNDERGROUND CAR PARK TO HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays Hotel Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing