We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, friendly staff, clean spacy room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location, friendly staff, clean spacy room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

Excellent location . Seems a new built from the very new interior. right next to gun wharf , very helpful friendly staff, very clean large rooms, Great for going out in gun wharf. Would definitely recommend. Given free ice lolly upon checkin.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilburlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel, I was delighted to read that you found the hotel team to be very friendly and helpful, I will ensure your comments are read by all, it was also great to read that your room was clean and spacious enough for you.
As you say we are ideally located for visiting Gunwharf Quays, which has over 95 retail outlets, over 25 bars and restaurants and a number of other attractions all on the complex, we are also very close to other attractions in and around the Portsmouth and Southsea area.
As the weather was good over the weekend we thought that guests may be a little hot at check in so we thought we would try and help them to cool down, great to read that the lollies/ice creams were appreciated.
We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are visiting the area and once again many thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    478
    318
    118
    41
See reviews for
207
472
41
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

If you are planning a trip to Gunwarf make sure you stay in this hotel. You couldnt ask for more to be on your door step, A-Z of cut price labels on offer, loads of restaurants, a cinema and the portsmouth sea! The rooms are clean and well equiped but the breakfast is a little basic. But you do get it included in your stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAJC00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review the hotel, your comments are greatly appreciated. I was delighted to read that you had a great stay with us, as we are located on Gunwharf Quays there are plenty of retail outlets, bars and restaurants all on the hotels doorstep, there are also a number of other attractions such as Spinnaker tower, a cinema, bowling and comedy club all on the complex which makes the hotel a great place to stay.
As a Holiday Inn Express we offer breakfast free to all our guests, which is a buffet style continental breakfast with three hot favourites which are sausages, scrambled eggs and baked beans, once again many thanks for the review and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are visiting the Portsmouth area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Hotel in very good location for Portsmouth and Gunwharf. Rooms are clean but not comfy beds and noisey with deliveries and bins being collected at night and early morning.
Then there is breakfast! Very poor quality and terrible organisation. Like school dinners only food was worse. Felt sorry and embarassed for poor german couple on holiday. They were so upset and had paid good money for very poor service. And these are the official olympic hotel providers? I dont think so!
Dont waste your money, book in to a better hotel along the sea front and get a taxi in to town for £3. Much better value.

Room Tip: If you must stay there, have breakfast elsewhere. It is not a good start to the day if you have it a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mybestfriendsparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel, it was disappointing to read that the hotel did not exceed your expectations on this occasion, as you say our location is great situated on Gunwharf Quays with all the restaurants, bars, retail outlets and attractions all within a short walk of the hotel, as Gunwharf Quays is a very busy complex and we are surrounded by restaurants and bars there will always be an element of external noise, we do have triple glazed windows fitted in all bedrooms to reduce this and we also work closely with Gunwharf Quays management to keep the noise to a minimum.
As we are a Holiday Inn Express we are the official Olympic Hotel providers and are very proud to be so, our free breakfast can be very busy and our guests are advised of peak times on the welcome letter which is given to them on check in, there are also various notices informing our guests throughout the hotel, once again thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Stayed for 2 nights with my wife and 4 year old daughter.
The Hotel is in a fantastic location for seeing all the major sites in Portsmouth. On checking in we had a very good vibe, which carried on for the rest of our stay.
The room's are clean and comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful. A special mention to Samantha in reception, with her knockout smile and helpful manner she will do well in her trade.
The breakfast was good.
The Hotel is on the doorstep to Spinnaker Tower and the Historic dockyard. Southsea is a 25 minute walk away.
We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank startech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you for the review, as you say the location of the hotel is fantastic, central to all attractions around Gunwharf Quays and Portsmouth itself, it was great to read that the rooms were clean and comfortable and that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful, especially Samantha, I will ensure that the team read your comments as they will mean a lot to them all.
I was delighted to read that you found our free breakfast to be of a good standard as have been and continue to work hard to improve this. great to hear that you will be back, we look forward to seeing you again and once again many thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Excellent rooms, great value for money, fab location.  Warm welcome from receptionist on arrival, friendly & polite staff and excellent service for breakfast. Excellent discounts for local restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Many thanks for your review of the hotel after your recent stay, it was fantastic to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found all aspects of the hotel to be of an excellent standard, I will ensure your comments are read by the rest of the team as they will all be thrilled to read them.
Once again many thanks for the review and I trust we will see you again the next time you are visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Writtle, Essex
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Wonderful staff very helpful and just so friendly. This hotel is in a great postion. We had one of the best rooms in the hotel, for views and size, because we don't mind the noise from the night life. Although having said that we slept like logs and didn't hear a thing. Ask for a quiet room if you should want to sleep with the windows open. We will most definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marnoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you for your review, it was great to read that you had a fantastic stay with us and you found my colleagues to be very helpful and friendly, I will ensure, as with all reviews that the team read your comments as they mean such a lot to us. I was delighted to read that the room was comfortable and met with your requirements and that you had a great nights sleep as that is what we aim for. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and once again many thanks for taking the time out of your day to review the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Situated within the Gun Wharf outlet shopping complex, this hotel is ideally situated to park the car up and forget about. You park in the main car park, after driving through a special barrier for the hotel - which means you can park free for 24 hours (considering it cost us £10 to park for the day when we went before, it's a good bonus).

The complex is car free and large, with a great selection of big name discount shopping, and brilliant selection of restaurants and bars.

We paid £80 for a double room with breakfast, which seems high for what it is - but you can't knock the location. The room was comfortable, although we thought the bed was extremely soft - we slept well.

Breakfast was a bit dissappointing. A small buffet, with the usual selection of cereal etc - it was let down by the cooked breakfast. There was only scrambled egg, sausage, and beans. It was ok, but not what we're used to. We could hear a lot of people grumbling. However, I'd be amazed if anyone went away hungry - and we were quite happy.

We'll definitely stay there again - as it's lovely to be able to wander around the shops during the day, and then walk out in the evening to enjoy a meal and a drink overlooking the water.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanMay67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, as you say the location of the hotel is second to none, surrounded by over 95 retail outlets, over 25 well known restaurants and bars and attractions such as Spinnaker Tower all on the hotels doorstep, hotel guests receive a great discount in the Gunwharf Quays car park, its free for the first 24 hours or exit and is only £2 per exit or per 24 hours thereafter, so as you say a great place to stay if you want to park the car and just do some shopping in the day and then out for a relaxing evening meal and drink.
It was great to read that you found the room to be comfortable and that you had a great nights sleep, our free breakfast is a continental style buffet breakfast with three hot favourites which are scrambled egg, sausage and baked beans, as we are a Holiday Inn Express we do not offer a Full English Breakfast, we have been and continue to work hard to improve our breakfast and your valued comments will help us to do that.
Great to read that you would stay with us again which I trust will be soon, once again many thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
3.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#22 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Property: Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Address: Gunwharf Quays | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth hotel is located within Gunwharf Quays which is a vibrant waterfront development offering a number of attractions, including over 95 designer clothing outlets,over 25 restaurants & bars, a cinema, ten pin bowling, casino and comedy club. The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth Hotel is ideally located for business or leisure breaks. It comprises 130 en-suite bedrooms and 2 modern meeting rooms, all with comfort cooling, natural daylight and free wifi throughout the hotel. The Great room and lounge area situated on the first floor offers drinks and relaxation in the evening, as well as a free continental breakfast with hot favourites which include scrambled egg, sausages & baked beans in the morning. Undercover secure parking is available in the award winning main Gunwharf Quays car park, all Hotel guests receive discounted rates for car parking in the main Gunwharf Quays car park, first twenty four hours or first exit is free of charge and then second 24 hours or exit and thereafter are charged at £2. Access to trains, buses and ferries are all within walking distance. Southampton International Airport is 22 miles away. Convenient access to all of Portsmouth's many attractions, including the Spinnaker Tower, The Historic Dockyard, Portsmouth Old Town with its cobbled streets and the waterfront, filled with traditional pubs and restaurants are all within walking distance. PLEASE NOTE: THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS - PORTSMOUTH GUNWHARF QUAYS HAS DEDICATED DISABLED CAR SPACES OUTSIDE THE HOTEL ENTRANCE, WITH A DROP OFF/PICK UP FACILITY BY THE FRONT DOOR. THERE IS APPROX A 3 MINUTE WALK FROM THE UNDERGROUND CAR PARK TO HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays Hotel Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing