We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Axminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quick weekend away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

I have nothing bad to say about this hotel. We didnt book our stay in advance so we had no idea of what the hotel was like. The reception staff were welcoming and helpful. We got a very tidy and clean room, our first impressions were of how large we thought the room was.
The location was excellent with sort walks to all of the surrounding restaurants, bars and the shopping complex.
I would stay in this hotel again but would book in advance to save a bit more money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamandKinsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for posting a review following your weekend away with us, it was great to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and will book with us again the next time you are visiting the area. We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Once again many thanks.

Regards

Richard Todd
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    487
    326
    120
    45
See reviews for
210
484
41
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Hotel good. Staff helpful and friendly. Location excellent. Breakfast good.
Only 'downside' was the entrance on ground floor before reaching the hotel reception on first floor. I didn't feel safe coming in at night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londoner183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, I was delighted to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us and found the team to be friendly and helpful. With regard to the ground floor lobby, during the night the front doors are locked and only guests staying who have keys can access the hotel. Once again thank you for posting a review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Richard Todd
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Standard hotel in an area which isn't too good either, gun wharf quays in a place which acts like a classy London shopping centre but actually is full of shops which supply goods at a lower price because of mistakes made on the garments.

The hotel itself is nothing special and can be beat my numerous hotels in the area at a considerably lower price!!

The windows are not sound proof and are very noisy they also have mould on, the room was outdated and the bed uncomfortable. The carpet also had numerous stains.
The free breakfast is purely there to pad up the fact that the room is over valued, and not worth the money paid.

Do not stay here unless you are lazy and can't be bothered to walk from guildhall town centre to gunwharf quays where there are plenty of better hotels.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stickywhicketcricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for posting a review, I apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us or the location of the hotel. All rooms in the hotel have triple glazed windows to keep external noise to a minimum, with regard to the cleanliness this will certainly be rectified. The free breakfast that we offer to all our guests is consistent throughout all Holiday Inn Express hotels in the United Kingdom and makes a great start to the day, there are a number of other discounts to be enjoyed whilst staying here such as discount in the hotel bar, discounts in certain bats & restaurants on Gunwharf Quays and car parking. Once again thank you for posting your feedback which will only help us to continue to improve the hotel and services that we offer.

Regards

Richard Todd
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Usual Holiday Inn Express, just with a fabulous location. So expect a so so breakfast, a bed that moves when you lean against the headboard - funny the first time it happens, then a bit annoying. But a great, almost surreal, shopping centre is right outside, with ferries, yachts, Navy vessels all cruising past about 80 feet out from the shore.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterAndMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, it was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location of the hotel to be second to none. I apologise that you experienced a problem with your bed and will ensure my maintenance team and housekeeping team rectify this. Once again many thanks for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visiting Portsmouth.

Regards

Richard Todd
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

A very regular business user of Holiday Inn Hotels worldwide.
Stayed here for a weekend to visit friends in area.
Good, comfortable, good location.
Can't really go wrong if you choose this hotel when in area and looking for somewhere to stay

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, it was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and frequently stay in Holiday Inn Hotels around the world, thank you for your loyalty. I trust that we will see you again the next time you are visiting Portsmouth, we all look forward to your next visit.

Regards

Richard Todd
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

A basic hotel that ticks all the boxes for a few nights stay, really clean lovely beds & comfortable rooms.
Would stay again as on top of great shopping & restaurants in a lovely location.
The only negative which was not hotels fault, we had a load of idiots keeping us up at 3am knocking on doors & shouting at each other, resulting in lack of sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, it was great to read that you enjoyed your stay, I apologise that there was noise from other guests that kept you awake, the night team do patrol the bedroom corridors periodically throughout the night, should you have contacted the night team they would have done their up most to resolve the situation for you . Once again many thanks and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are visiting the area.

Regards

Richard Todd
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

I stayed two nights with one of my grandsons. The purpose was to show him the naval surroundings. Rather small but clean and comfortable room; acceptable breakfast (scrambled eggs only, fresh fruits and yogurts, good bread and viennoiseries), friendly and smiling service. Not much to say about the immediate surroundings: railway station in the near surroundings, extended shopping centre with a few good shops and one excellent restaurant. But we were there to visit the Historical Dockyard (not the first time for me!) and the hotel was close enough. If another grandson wishes to see Portsmouth, I'll certainly return to the Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for posting a review, it was great to read that you enjoyed your stay and would not hesitate in returning should you be visiting the area again. As a Holiday Inn Express hotel we offer free breakfast to all our guests which is a continental style buffet with hot favourites which are scrambled eggs, sausages and baked beans, this is consistent throughout all Holiday Inn Express Hotels in the United Kingdom. Once again many thanks for your feedback and
we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Portsmouth.

Regards

Richard Todd
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
3.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#22 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Property: Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Address: Gunwharf Quays | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth hotel is located within Gunwharf Quays which is a vibrant waterfront development offering a number of attractions, including over 95 designer clothing outlets,over 25 restaurants & bars, a cinema, ten pin bowling, casino and comedy club. The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth Hotel is ideally located for business or leisure breaks. It comprises 130 en-suite bedrooms and 2 modern meeting rooms, all with comfort cooling, natural daylight and free wifi throughout the hotel. The Great room and lounge area situated on the first floor offers drinks and relaxation in the evening, as well as a free continental breakfast with hot favourites which include scrambled egg, sausages & baked beans in the morning. Undercover secure parking is available in the award winning main Gunwharf Quays car park, all Hotel guests receive discounted rates for car parking in the main Gunwharf Quays car park, first twenty four hours or first exit is free of charge and then second 24 hours or exit and thereafter are charged at £2. Access to trains, buses and ferries are all within walking distance. Southampton International Airport is 22 miles away. Convenient access to all of Portsmouth's many attractions, including the Spinnaker Tower, The Historic Dockyard, Portsmouth Old Town with its cobbled streets and the waterfront, filled with traditional pubs and restaurants are all within walking distance. PLEASE NOTE: THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS - PORTSMOUTH GUNWHARF QUAYS HAS DEDICATED DISABLED CAR SPACES OUTSIDE THE HOTEL ENTRANCE, WITH A DROP OFF/PICK UP FACILITY BY THE FRONT DOOR. THERE IS APPROX A 3 MINUTE WALK FROM THE UNDERGROUND CAR PARK TO HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays Hotel Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing