We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is within a great location of Gunwharf Quays - outlet designer shops all around and many restaurants to choose from. We ate at Blanc across from this Holiday Inn which was very reasonably priced and nice food.
We parked in the main Gunwharf parking walked to the hotel which is 5 mins away and handed our parking ticket to the receptionist on arrival who 'swiped' it, so we had 24hr free parking.
Hotel is value for money with everything you need, a few areas need improving (mould spots in shower area,hallway carpet lifting,iron burn by bed,hard pillows with no guts,lumpy mattress- however these things are minor and didn't affect our stay) We stayed in room 316 overlooking the shops - temp. of room was easily adjustable thankfully as it was set to 26C!! It took a while to cool down with the help of an open window, free wifi was fast, breakfast was Ok, friendly staff, slept very well even if the pillows were gut free and the mattress like pebbles! would come back here.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wilby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased you found our hotel value for money. I have passed on your comments to our housekeeping regarding the mould etc and I will have them look into this. It is good to hear you found the staff friendly. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and I will pass on your comments to the team here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    479
    318
    117
    41
See reviews for
208
471
41
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed with friends 16 Jan. Fantastic location for the shoppers. Sean the manager could not be more hospitable, as was the same with his staff. Great to see a manager with such a hands on approach and a wonderful sense of humour. Thank you for a great stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Djh170169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. As you say our location is great for anyone wanting to go shopping with Gunwharf Quays having 90 retail outlets. I am glad you had a great stay and I will pass your comments onto the team at the hotel. Thank you again for posting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Hotel location is ok, but the rooms are not good ventilated and not very spacious. The staff is not helpful or service minded at all. The worst in my experience for years. Breakfast was good though.
Find a nicer hotel in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Photofredrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry the size of the room was not to your liking. All our rooms have windows which guests can open to help ventilate. It was disappointing to hear that you found the staff not helpful or service minded and if you have the time I would like you to contact me at the hotel direct so i know exactly what the issues you had with the staff were and I can address them. My telephone number is 02392-894-240 and email dm.hixportsmouth@kewgreen.co.uk.
I am pleased the breakfast was good for you. I look forward to hearing from you.
Thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

WARWICKSHIRE
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Had a 3 night stay here in one word excellent. The person at The top must be excellent so this person ensures every one else is excellent. I cannot fault this hotel the staff training programme must be second to none. The location is good for everything too Thank you

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vhocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. As with all reviews I will pass on all your great comments to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed here overnight on the weekend before Christmas and had a thoroughly good time.
The hotel is set right amongst all the shops and bars in Gunwharf Quays so a perfect location.
Very friendly staff greeted us at reception and gave us a lovely duel aspect room on the corner of the hotel which was more like a suite than a room. We had great views and would be even better in Summer. Bed was comfortable and we enjoyed a good nights sleep prior to shopping the next day. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice including hot food all included in the room price.
Car parking is free in the massive Gunwharf car park next door for 24hrs so another bonus.
We also got the room very cheap on a deal so extremely happy and hope to return in the Summer

Room Tip: ASk for a corner room as they're much bigger with dual aspect
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joke13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. As you say we are on Gunwharf Quays which has over 90 different retail outlets and 30 different bars and restaurants. I am glad the friendly staff was able to accommodate you in one of our corner rooms, there are only a few of these but they are slightly larger than our other rooms. Our breakfast is free for all guests and is a continental breakfast with hot favourites. Once again thank you for posting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Very happy with the general housekeeping, everything was immaculate, breakfast was good as you would expect from a chain like this. Went with my 7month old nephew and they catered for his needs efficiently, cot was spotless and he slept right through the night. Only thing was lack of ventilation, I like to sleep with the windows open and this was not possible in our room. Woke up with a headache and stuffy nose! But the poor Holiday Inn can't keep everyone happy!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahsha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am glad you found the housekeeping and breakfast to your satisfaction. Thank you for bringing the maintenance issue with your window to my attention and I will pass this on to the maintenance manager. Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay and I will pass on all your comments to all the staff here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Really good location with very inexpensive parking however if you are looking for box fresh quality you won't find it at this hotel.
The stained carpet with iron marks, a loose shelf in the bathroom and missing tile grout dogs not ruin our stay however the worn out bed left a good night's sleep missing!
If you want to be in the middle of Gunwharf with the shops and bars then it is a perfect location, if you want quality accommodation them perhaps this shouldn't be your first choice.
Ps HIExpress would it kill you to do a bit of bacon in the mornings?

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear that on this occasion we did not meet our usual high standards in your stay. The maintenance manager has been working hard to check all rooms for the issues mentioned in your review to get these rectified. As you have mentioned our location is great for visitors to Gunwharf Quays which has over 90 retail outlets and over 30 different bars and restaurants. As with all Holiday Inn Express hotels our free breakfast is a continental breakfast with hot favourites and the hot favourites served are sausage, scrambled egg and beans. Once again thank you for taking the time to review and I will pass all your comments on to the team at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
3.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#22 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Property: Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Address: Gunwharf Quays | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth hotel is located within Gunwharf Quays which is a vibrant waterfront development offering a number of attractions, including over 95 designer clothing outlets,over 25 restaurants & bars, a cinema, ten pin bowling, casino and comedy club. The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth Hotel is ideally located for business or leisure breaks. It comprises 130 en-suite bedrooms and 2 modern meeting rooms, all with comfort cooling, natural daylight and free wifi throughout the hotel. The Great room and lounge area situated on the first floor offers drinks and relaxation in the evening, as well as a free continental breakfast with hot favourites which include scrambled egg, sausages & baked beans in the morning. Undercover secure parking is available in the award winning main Gunwharf Quays car park, all Hotel guests receive discounted rates for car parking in the main Gunwharf Quays car park, first twenty four hours or first exit is free of charge and then second 24 hours or exit and thereafter are charged at £2. Access to trains, buses and ferries are all within walking distance. Southampton International Airport is 22 miles away. Convenient access to all of Portsmouth's many attractions, including the Spinnaker Tower, The Historic Dockyard, Portsmouth Old Town with its cobbled streets and the waterfront, filled with traditional pubs and restaurants are all within walking distance. PLEASE NOTE: THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS - PORTSMOUTH GUNWHARF QUAYS HAS DEDICATED DISABLED CAR SPACES OUTSIDE THE HOTEL ENTRANCE, WITH A DROP OFF/PICK UP FACILITY BY THE FRONT DOOR. THERE IS APPROX A 3 MINUTE WALK FROM THE UNDERGROUND CAR PARK TO HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays Hotel Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing