We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disabled room ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I booked a disabled room at above hotel and the room was not good. Toilet to low and no back support, shower seat slanted, and emergency pull cords were knotted so if someone fell they could not call on anyone for help. Hopefully feedback we gave to reception they will act. Hotel in prime position to everything staff and food very good. We normally use this chain of hotel might think twice now.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank ganchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. Thank you for bringing to our attention the issues you had with regards to the toilet layout. Our Maintenance manager has been into the room to adjust the shower seat and adjust the pull cord. We will bring up the low toilet seat in our next health and safety meeting so we can look at providing a support as stated. As you say we are in a prime location being on Gunwharf Quays which has 90 different retails outlets and 30 different bars and restaurants. It is great to hear you found the staff and food at the hotel very good. Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review and I will pass on your comments to the team here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

692 - 698 of 1,287 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is fine if you aren't fussy about frills like a minibar and a selection of toiletries. If you are, then the HI up the road in Southsea has a pool & gym - but costs more of course. In the HI Express the bed was comfy though the pillows left something to be desired, even when we chose from the "pillow menu" (hmmm). But we had a sideways view across to the waterfront and the hotel is snack in the middle of Gunwharf. What's not to like?

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonBarneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. At the Holiday Inn Express we do not offer mini bar, swimming pool or gym but as you say we are in an excellent location being on Gunwharf Quays which has 90 different retail outlets and over 30 bars and restaurants. I am sorry the pillows were not to your liking, I will get the housekeeping team to check our pillows in the hotel to ensure that they are all of our usual high standard for all the rooms.
Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review and I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with friends.
Location is great as in the middle of the quays & close to all amenities.
Rooms clean but bathroom a little on the small side.
Pillows just too flat. Hardly worth bothering with.

The staff edge it to another level
All the people we encountered were extremely friendly, efficient & helpful. Top marks for them.

They serve breakfast but there's no restaurant which they compensate for with discounts at neighbouring eateries on the quays.

If in Portsmouth we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. As you say we are in an excellent location being on Gunwharf Quays which has 90 different retail outlets and over 30 bars and restaurants. It was disappointing to hear that you didn’t feel our bathroom was big enough for your use. I am sorry you felt the pillows were not worth bothering with, I will get the housekeeping team to check our pillows in the hotel to ensure that they are all comfortable and of our usual high standard for all the rooms.
It is great to hear you found the staff at the hotel friendly, efficient and helpful. I will certainly pass on these great comments to the team here.
Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review and I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed here whilst on business for a night as the location in the heart of Gunwharf was idea for pubs and restaurants. The staff are polite and helpful.

The rooms are Holiday Inn but clean and modern. My only gripe is that the bed is not secured to the headboard or wall so my pillows kept falling down the back.

The breakfast was once again Holiday Inn standard but was well stocked and warm.

I recommend this hotel

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Andyrovers351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Thank you for you positive comment on the staff here I will certainly pass this on to them. I am glad your room was ok for you and I am sorry your pillows kept falling down the back. It is good to hear our breakfast was consistent with the other Holiday Inn Express hotels and was well stocked and hot. Once again I thank you for taking the time to review your hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. It is located right in the Gunwharf Quays just a couple of minutes walk from Portsmouth Harbour station so the location was perfect.
The hotel itself was everything I have come to expect from an Express, it was clean, comfortable and quiet.
The staff were pleasant and the price reasonable. The only thing I would say is that the entrance to the hotel is somewhat tucked away.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is great to hear that you found our hotel clean, comfortable and in the perfect location for your visit. I am glad you found our staff here pleasant and I will pass on all your comments to the team at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Once you find the car park and your way to the entrance of the hotel it is a lovely hotel. For a budget (£99 per night) within the Gunswharf Shopping Plaza it is great value for money. The room was a good size with big comfortable bed, enough space for hanging and storing (although no actual drawers). The bathroom was clean and modern with good, powerful shower. Didn't particularly like the soap dispenser for the showergel provided (no shampoo), but as this is basic and you know what you're getting, what we did get was very nice.
Breakfast in the morning - lots to choose from, cooked (sausage, scrambled egg and beans), or toast/rolls and danishes, plus cereals and fruit. A delightful one night stay over.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CClarke74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear CClarke74,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is a delight to hear your compliments of our guest rooms with comfortable beds and our clean and modern bathrooms. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast as well. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Thank you again for your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

In order to fulfill an ambition to visit the Mary Rose, we decided to take a one-night break in Portsmouth and chose the Holiday Inn Express as we've used the chain before and so know what to expect, and also due to its location in the heart of Gunwharf Quays.

From the easy (and thanks to staying at the hotel) cheap parking, to the wide range of restaurants on the doorstep, this makes for a great short-stay. The outlet shops are great and the Mary Rose was everything we had hoped for.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitby1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As you say we are in a great location being here on Gunwharf Quays which has 90 different retail outlets and 30 different bars and restaurants. The Historic Dockyard is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. All residents of the hotel do get discounted parking. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future and I will pass on your comments to the team here at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
3.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,261 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#20 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#24 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,564 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Maritime Club
Royal Maritime Club
#16 of 39 in Portsmouth
767 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Address: Gunwharf Quays | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: £87 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth hotel is located within Gunwharf Quays which is a vibrant waterfront development offering a number of attractions, including over 95 designer clothing outlets,over 25 restaurants & bars, a cinema, ten pin bowling, casino and comedy club. The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth Hotel is ideally located for business or leisure breaks. It comprises 130 en-suite bedrooms and 2 modern meeting rooms, all with comfort cooling, natural daylight and free wifi throughout the hotel. The Great room and lounge area situated on the first floor offers drinks and relaxation in the evening, as well as a free continental breakfast with hot favourites which include scrambled egg, sausages & baked beans in the morning. Undercover secure parking is available in the award winning main Gunwharf Quays car park, all Hotel guests receive discounted rates for car parking in the main Gunwharf Quays car park, first twenty four hours or first exit is free of charge and then second 24 hours or exit and thereafter are charged at £2. Access to trains, buses and ferries are all within walking distance. Southampton International Airport is 22 miles away. Convenient access to all of Portsmouth's many attractions, including the Spinnaker Tower, The Historic Dockyard, Portsmouth Old Town with its cobbled streets and the waterfront, filled with traditional pubs and restaurants are all within walking distance. PLEASE NOTE: THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS - PORTSMOUTH GUNWHARF QUAYS HAS DEDICATED DISABLED CAR SPACES OUTSIDE THE HOTEL ENTRANCE, WITH A DROP OFF/PICK UP FACILITY BY THE FRONT DOOR. THERE IS APPROX A 3 MINUTE WALK FROM THE UNDERGROUND CAR PARK TO HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays Hotel Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing