We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good breakfast, weird rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, good breakfast, weird rooms”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and loved the location since it was close to the bus stop and there were TONS of shops and restaurants within walking distance. The breakfast was good, very busy, but had good options and space to sit. The rooms were somewhat comfortable although I echo the thoughts of some other reviewers in that the bathroom is weird and the shower curtain is not functional. We also had a door that led to another room and even thought it was closed and locked, the walls were paper thin and the door tried to be open by our neighbours.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. As you say we are in an excellent location being on Gunwharf Quays which has 90 different retail outlets and over 30 bars and restaurants.
It was good to hear that you enjoyed breakfast. It can be busier at certain times during breakfast which is advertised in the hotel and I am glad to hear it was still fully stocked and plenty of seating available.
It is disappointing to hear that you did not feel the walls were soundproofed enough to make your stay more enjoyable.
Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review and I will pass on all your comments to the team here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    497
    333
    121
    48
See reviews for
217
496
43
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The positives are location which is brilliant if you want to be near the Spinnaker Tower and shops. The other positive is the car park which is easy to access and free for 24 hours.
The room was small and disappointing, the shower/toilet layout is quite clever, but the plastic curtain is something I detest. The bed was lumpy and uncomfortable. We were in an adjoining room and could hear the people in the next room doing what adults do.
Breakfast resembled a cattle market, very noisy, tables so close to each other that we were forever apologising to our neighbours as we tried to get in and out. The ambience is not helped by people passing through the centre with bags on their way to reception. The scrambled egg was grey and tasteless, the orange juice was coloured water, the tea and coffee from vending machines was warm and cloudy. There was no service other than the girl who was keen to clear away the dirty plates. Couldn't wait to return to the relative calm of our room.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_ThomasKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. It is great to hear you found the location brilliant for your stay. As you say we are right near the spinnaker tower. It is disappointing to read that you found your room small. Breakfast in our hotel can be busier at certain times during the morning which is advised on check in and on the welcome letters in our rooms. I have had a meeting with the breakfast team so I can give them all the feedback you have provided. Our coffee machines were recently replaced and I have called out the engineer to check over the machines to ensure they are providing hot drinks as they should. It is disappointing to hear you did not get the normal great service we provide for our guests during breakfast. Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review and I will be passing all of your comments back to the team here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I booked a disabled room at above hotel and the room was not good. Toilet to low and no back support, shower seat slanted, and emergency pull cords were knotted so if someone fell they could not call on anyone for help. Hopefully feedback we gave to reception they will act. Hotel in prime position to everything staff and food very good. We normally use this chain of hotel might think twice now.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ganchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. Thank you for bringing to our attention the issues you had with regards to the toilet layout. Our Maintenance manager has been into the room to adjust the shower seat and adjust the pull cord. We will bring up the low toilet seat in our next health and safety meeting so we can look at providing a support as stated. As you say we are in a prime location being on Gunwharf Quays which has 90 different retails outlets and 30 different bars and restaurants. It is great to hear you found the staff and food at the hotel very good. Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review and I will pass on your comments to the team here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is fine if you aren't fussy about frills like a minibar and a selection of toiletries. If you are, then the HI up the road in Southsea has a pool & gym - but costs more of course. In the HI Express the bed was comfy though the pillows left something to be desired, even when we chose from the "pillow menu" (hmmm). But we had a sideways view across to the waterfront and the hotel is snack in the middle of Gunwharf. What's not to like?

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBarneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. At the Holiday Inn Express we do not offer mini bar, swimming pool or gym but as you say we are in an excellent location being on Gunwharf Quays which has 90 different retail outlets and over 30 bars and restaurants. I am sorry the pillows were not to your liking, I will get the housekeeping team to check our pillows in the hotel to ensure that they are all of our usual high standard for all the rooms.
Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review and I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sutton in ashfield
Level Contributor
208 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with friends.
Location is great as in the middle of the quays & close to all amenities.
Rooms clean but bathroom a little on the small side.
Pillows just too flat. Hardly worth bothering with.

The staff edge it to another level
All the people we encountered were extremely friendly, efficient & helpful. Top marks for them.

They serve breakfast but there's no restaurant which they compensate for with discounts at neighbouring eateries on the quays.

If in Portsmouth we would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. As you say we are in an excellent location being on Gunwharf Quays which has 90 different retail outlets and over 30 bars and restaurants. It was disappointing to hear that you didn’t feel our bathroom was big enough for your use. I am sorry you felt the pillows were not worth bothering with, I will get the housekeeping team to check our pillows in the hotel to ensure that they are all comfortable and of our usual high standard for all the rooms.
It is great to hear you found the staff at the hotel friendly, efficient and helpful. I will certainly pass on these great comments to the team here.
Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review and I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

From London by train for 2 night stay to visit Historic Dockyard. Excellent location for short walk from train and to Dockyard. Room fine: quiet, comfortable. Good choices at breakfast.. Friendly, helpful staff. All was well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biggeorge55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. As you say we are in an excellent location being on Gunwharf Quays which has 90 different retail outlets and over 30 bars and restaurants. I am pleased your room was comfortable and quiet. I am glad you enjoyed the choices we offer at breakfast. It is great to hear you found the staff were both friendly and helpful. I will certainly pass on all your comments to the team here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Templecombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here whilst on business for a night as the location in the heart of Gunwharf was idea for pubs and restaurants. The staff are polite and helpful.

The rooms are Holiday Inn but clean and modern. My only gripe is that the bed is not secured to the headboard or wall so my pillows kept falling down the back.

The breakfast was once again Holiday Inn standard but was well stocked and warm.

I recommend this hotel

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andyrovers351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Thank you for you positive comment on the staff here I will certainly pass this on to them. I am glad your room was ok for you and I am sorry your pillows kept falling down the back. It is good to hear our breakfast was consistent with the other Holiday Inn Express hotels and was well stocked and hot. Once again I thank you for taking the time to review your hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
3.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,179 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#23 of 38 in Portsmouth
971 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Royal Maritime Club
Royal Maritime Club
#16 of 38 in Portsmouth
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Property: Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Address: Gunwharf Quays | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth hotel is located within Gunwharf Quays which is a vibrant waterfront development offering a number of attractions, including over 95 designer clothing outlets,over 25 restaurants & bars, a cinema, ten pin bowling, casino and comedy club. The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth Hotel is ideally located for business or leisure breaks. It comprises 130 en-suite bedrooms and 2 modern meeting rooms, all with comfort cooling, natural daylight and free wifi throughout the hotel. The Great room and lounge area situated on the first floor offers drinks and relaxation in the evening, as well as a free continental breakfast with hot favourites which include scrambled egg, sausages & baked beans in the morning. Undercover secure parking is available in the award winning main Gunwharf Quays car park, all Hotel guests receive discounted rates for car parking in the main Gunwharf Quays car park, first twenty four hours or first exit is free of charge and then second 24 hours or exit and thereafter are charged at £2. Access to trains, buses and ferries are all within walking distance. Southampton International Airport is 22 miles away. Convenient access to all of Portsmouth's many attractions, including the Spinnaker Tower, The Historic Dockyard, Portsmouth Old Town with its cobbled streets and the waterfront, filled with traditional pubs and restaurants are all within walking distance. PLEASE NOTE: THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS - PORTSMOUTH GUNWHARF QUAYS HAS DEDICATED DISABLED CAR SPACES OUTSIDE THE HOTEL ENTRANCE, WITH A DROP OFF/PICK UP FACILITY BY THE FRONT DOOR. THERE IS APPROX A 3 MINUTE WALK FROM THE UNDERGROUND CAR PARK TO HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays Hotel Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing