We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Central location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Had a lovely weekend away. Rooms were spacious and fresh. Shower was lovely and bathroom was clean. Lovely central location in the middle of Gunwharf. Only downside being the noise from the nightlife at the weekends but that can't be helped. Food was a bit naff though. Got down nice and early and everything was still cold and stale. Would give that a miss!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback and for your excellent comments on our rooms.

Our food is regularly checked for freshness and temperature to maintain standards and food safety, I am really sorry to hear that this has detracted from your stay.

We hope to welcome you to our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    478
    319
    118
    42
See reviews for
207
473
41
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phagwara
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

So its slap bang in the middle of Gunwharf Quays.....and that is brilliant.
Car park was easy to find (no dedicated car park for the hotel but you get discounted rate as you stay at the hotel - cost me £2 for just over 48 hours)
reception were polite - even asked us if we wanted the side facing into the quays (noisy) or the quiet side - bless - chose the quiet side...

such a good location - you come out and all the bars and restaurant are right next to you....the shopping is barely 2 minutes away - even a tesco local on the corner...

had a good stay over a friday to a sunday

only marginally disappointing thing - the breakfast area was a wee bit small - saturday morning fine but sunday morning it was wait for a table - the food area too was a tad small and tight (I am vegetarian so i wont moan about the actual breakfast)

oh dont have the juice its vile!

coffee aint much better out the machine...


oh oh the room - was fine good size double bed, a tv and a desk.....wardrobe was fine for two of us for two nights....bathroom was good to - oh my the shower was pretty good - used to nasty naff ones but it was great....

so all in all 4/5......

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rindyrana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff are doing their upmost to ensure that all tables are used as efficiently as possible. We apologise that you have had to wait and we will be reassessing our breakfast service plan to further try to improve recent changes and optimise our guests experience at breakfast.

Thank you very much for kind comments about our rooms.

We would like to welcome you again should you find yourself in Portsmouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed here for one night recently. The reception and other staff exceeded all expectations - a friendly welcome, quick check-in etc from reception plus cleaning staff who say hello & good morning! The room was clean and well maintained. The bed was good too and free wireless is a bonus. The hotel is in a great location for visiting the local historic dockyards and also the Gunwharf Quays shopping centre, which has great outlet bargains.

My only complaint would be re the other guests. There were quite a few 'young people' there for a Saturday night out, who were noisy getting ready and then noisy and disruptive coming back at circa 2am. As we had a 7am start planned for the next day, this was annoying. The hotel's signs asking guests to be considerate to other guests seemed to have no effect whatsoever and I would suggest the hotel might need to think about how to deal with this problem going forward.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the car park on the 3rd floor are quiet (apart from fellow guests)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UkLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback.

It is good to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful and generally enjoyed your stay.

With regards to your complaint, we appreciate that the behaviour of other hotel guests may have been detrimental to your stay. We can only whole heartedly apologise for this and assure you that we will be increasing the efforts that we are already making to ensure that all of our guests enjoy the best possible experience with us.

We would like to welcome you back to Portsmouth, should you ever find yourself in the area again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

The staff where all very pleasant..The room #119 was clean and nicely presented, however we could hear the people in the next room breathing and my hearing is not good.

The supposedly "Free" breakfast, merely included in the price of the room booking was plentyfull and the fresh fruits and cereals were nice. The cooked "stuff" was something to be left alone. The incipid, tasteless, rubberised mounds of something purporting to be scrambled egg, was at best disgusting!!!!. The sausages were something akin to cardboard with lumps of gristle or worse. The baked beans (definately not Heinz or Cross & Blackwell) were some cheap catering tinned rubbish, but were the best thing out of the three cooked items. Yuck

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NomadDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you found your room clean and our staff to be helpful. All our rooms are sound proofed to the required standard and we apologise that you have had an issue, this is something I will investigate.
With regards to your feedback on breakfast at our property our offerings are in line
with Holiday Inn Express standards, we do provide continental breakfast, offering only a selection of 'hot favourites' to include scrambled egg, beans & sausages as it is provided across the country within our brand.

We are sorry that you will not be returning to us and should you change your mind we will be delighted to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltash, Cornwall
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

we stayed for a long weekend. The hotel is fairly new. The facilities good and the staff wonderfully supportive. If you want to be in the middle of a very new retail development then it's even better for you.

Room Tip: As you might expect, they are all of a muchness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you very much for your recent comments. I am glad that you enjoyed our facilities and found our staff to be helpful. Should you find yourself in Portsmouth again we hope to welcome you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Just returned from another overnight stay. My room was spotlessly clean and bed comfortable. Great to have free wifi throughout the hotel! Breakfasts are fine with plenty of tea and coffee. The best thing though was the welcome from the staff. Completely professional and courteous. I cannot speak highly enough of everyone I met. A real credit to an organisation, in particular Shaun on the front desk. Well worth a stay as the location is perfect with many restaurants nearby and good quality retail outlets. Parking is also an added bonus.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark_sarahBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that our team were welcoming and courteous. We agree that our position is excellent and hope to welcome you again to Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights while in Portsmouth for work. The location is amazing, close to all kinds of restaurants, the Royal Navy Museum, the train station, and the ferries to France and the Isle of Wight.

It's easy to get anywhere in town or on Portsdown Hill via taxi. The room was more like what I would expect in North America than Europe size-wise (which is a good thing). The breakfast was actually pretty good, and anyone should be able to scrounge something from it.

The only criticisms I have are: there are no where near enough power outlets for even a single business traveller with a computer and electronics to charge, and the carpet in my room had a couple stains on it.

If you're travelling to Portsmouth from Heathrow I'd suggest the train. It was comfortable, inexpensive, and the station is in walking distance to the hotel.

Otherwise it was great and I'd be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: There is a casino with fairly loud dance music on one side of the building. Don't get a room fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Almaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed our location.
We have an ongoing maintenance programme within our property and will be replacing the carpets. We value our guests feedback and your views with regards to fittings within the rooms will be considered when scheduling fututre maintenance projects.
We hope to welcome you to Portsmouth again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
3.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#22 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Property: Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Address: Gunwharf Quays | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth hotel is located within Gunwharf Quays which is a vibrant waterfront development offering a number of attractions, including over 95 designer clothing outlets,over 25 restaurants & bars, a cinema, ten pin bowling, casino and comedy club. The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth Hotel is ideally located for business or leisure breaks. It comprises 130 en-suite bedrooms and 2 modern meeting rooms, all with comfort cooling, natural daylight and free wifi throughout the hotel. The Great room and lounge area situated on the first floor offers drinks and relaxation in the evening, as well as a free continental breakfast with hot favourites which include scrambled egg, sausages & baked beans in the morning. Undercover secure parking is available in the award winning main Gunwharf Quays car park, all Hotel guests receive discounted rates for car parking in the main Gunwharf Quays car park, first twenty four hours or first exit is free of charge and then second 24 hours or exit and thereafter are charged at £2. Access to trains, buses and ferries are all within walking distance. Southampton International Airport is 22 miles away. Convenient access to all of Portsmouth's many attractions, including the Spinnaker Tower, The Historic Dockyard, Portsmouth Old Town with its cobbled streets and the waterfront, filled with traditional pubs and restaurants are all within walking distance. PLEASE NOTE: THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS - PORTSMOUTH GUNWHARF QUAYS HAS DEDICATED DISABLED CAR SPACES OUTSIDE THE HOTEL ENTRANCE, WITH A DROP OFF/PICK UP FACILITY BY THE FRONT DOOR. THERE IS APPROX A 3 MINUTE WALK FROM THE UNDERGROUND CAR PARK TO HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays Hotel Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing