We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A good hotel”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is a good place to stay for shopping and restaurants. We stayed for one night in room 140. The room was large and was on the side of the hotel that over looked some of the shops. We stayed on bank holiday Monday just for the one night and we didn't hear any noise from the night club, some people say that it's noisy but perhaps it is at the weekends?
Free WiFi which was good and free breakfast. Breakfast at 9am on Tuesday was very good. Shower was powerful with plenty of hot water. Parking is in the general carpark (free parking for hotel users whilst booked in) and we took ages finding somewhere to park - but then it was at 12.15pm on bank holiday Monday!!
Staff were very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Room 104 was on the ground floor - the last one at the end of a corridor, on the corner. Facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJJ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We provide complimentary Wifi and breakfast across Holiday Inn Express UK. We hope to see you again in Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    511
    342
    124
    48
See reviews for
225
512
43
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Am in Portsmouth attending a course, paid for by my company.
Let's start this review by stating that the one thing this place has got going for it is its location.
If you're coming down for the shopping or to visit the many tourist attractions and are going to be out of the room all day then it is worth considering staying here.
I must admit I hadn't researched the Express brand so was quite shocked at how basic the rooms are. As a business traveller I stay in a lot of hotels, mainly 4/5 star.
In line with the other reviews posted there is only 1 lift working, very slowly, which seems to have a mind of its own. There are no safes in the room. In reception there are safety deposit boxes but these do not cater for larger items such as laptops although you can leave items at reception.
It can be quiet noisy at night even though I am staying towards the rear of the hotel. You may also be woken up by the noise of trains from the station nearby.
Towels in the room are off-white in colour and very thin. They become very wet very qucikly. Hand soap and shower gel are in dispensers fixed to the wall - no shampoo, conditoner or other nice toiletries are supplied.
Disgusting shower curtain which didn't look like it's been cleaned/changed in some time, although today it has been!
Sofa bed in room which I wouldn't dream of sitting on - photo attached.
Very limited storage drawer space which is all open so underwear on display to the housekeeping staff should you decide to unpack your case!
Carpet fraying in public areas.
Didn't have breakfast although included in room rate - I went to Costas everyday.
The main issue I have is that the room is not somewhere I want to spend several hours working in after my course has finished - room feels depressing.
Minor detail - but a list of tv channels could be noted in the room. Have previously stayed at the Hilton when in Portsmouth and although it is a drive in every day and I have to pay for parking I'm undecided as to which is the worst of the two evils - staying here or driving in everyday.

Room Tip: If you don't want to be disturbed by the casino ask for a room at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micheleuxbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Micheleuxbridge,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room layout prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Had a lovely weekend away. Rooms were spacious and fresh. Shower was lovely and bathroom was clean. Lovely central location in the middle of Gunwharf. Only downside being the noise from the nightlife at the weekends but that can't be helped. Food was a bit naff though. Got down nice and early and everything was still cold and stale. Would give that a miss!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback and for your excellent comments on our rooms.

Our food is regularly checked for freshness and temperature to maintain standards and food safety, I am really sorry to hear that this has detracted from your stay.

We hope to welcome you to our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phagwara
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

So its slap bang in the middle of Gunwharf Quays.....and that is brilliant.
Car park was easy to find (no dedicated car park for the hotel but you get discounted rate as you stay at the hotel - cost me £2 for just over 48 hours)
reception were polite - even asked us if we wanted the side facing into the quays (noisy) or the quiet side - bless - chose the quiet side...

such a good location - you come out and all the bars and restaurant are right next to you....the shopping is barely 2 minutes away - even a tesco local on the corner...

had a good stay over a friday to a sunday

only marginally disappointing thing - the breakfast area was a wee bit small - saturday morning fine but sunday morning it was wait for a table - the food area too was a tad small and tight (I am vegetarian so i wont moan about the actual breakfast)

oh dont have the juice its vile!

coffee aint much better out the machine...


oh oh the room - was fine good size double bed, a tv and a desk.....wardrobe was fine for two of us for two nights....bathroom was good to - oh my the shower was pretty good - used to nasty naff ones but it was great....

so all in all 4/5......

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rindyrana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff are doing their upmost to ensure that all tables are used as efficiently as possible. We apologise that you have had to wait and we will be reassessing our breakfast service plan to further try to improve recent changes and optimise our guests experience at breakfast.

Thank you very much for kind comments about our rooms.

We would like to welcome you again should you find yourself in Portsmouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed here for one night recently. The reception and other staff exceeded all expectations - a friendly welcome, quick check-in etc from reception plus cleaning staff who say hello & good morning! The room was clean and well maintained. The bed was good too and free wireless is a bonus. The hotel is in a great location for visiting the local historic dockyards and also the Gunwharf Quays shopping centre, which has great outlet bargains.

My only complaint would be re the other guests. There were quite a few 'young people' there for a Saturday night out, who were noisy getting ready and then noisy and disruptive coming back at circa 2am. As we had a 7am start planned for the next day, this was annoying. The hotel's signs asking guests to be considerate to other guests seemed to have no effect whatsoever and I would suggest the hotel might need to think about how to deal with this problem going forward.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the car park on the 3rd floor are quiet (apart from fellow guests)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback.

It is good to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful and generally enjoyed your stay.

With regards to your complaint, we appreciate that the behaviour of other hotel guests may have been detrimental to your stay. We can only whole heartedly apologise for this and assure you that we will be increasing the efforts that we are already making to ensure that all of our guests enjoy the best possible experience with us.

We would like to welcome you back to Portsmouth, should you ever find yourself in the area again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The staff where all very pleasant..The room #119 was clean and nicely presented, however we could hear the people in the next room breathing and my hearing is not good.

The supposedly "Free" breakfast, merely included in the price of the room booking was plentyfull and the fresh fruits and cereals were nice. The cooked "stuff" was something to be left alone. The incipid, tasteless, rubberised mounds of something purporting to be scrambled egg, was at best disgusting!!!!. The sausages were something akin to cardboard with lumps of gristle or worse. The baked beans (definately not Heinz or Cross & Blackwell) were some cheap catering tinned rubbish, but were the best thing out of the three cooked items. Yuck

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NomadDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you found your room clean and our staff to be helpful. All our rooms are sound proofed to the required standard and we apologise that you have had an issue, this is something I will investigate.
With regards to your feedback on breakfast at our property our offerings are in line
with Holiday Inn Express standards, we do provide continental breakfast, offering only a selection of 'hot favourites' to include scrambled egg, beans & sausages as it is provided across the country within our brand.

We are sorry that you will not be returning to us and should you change your mind we will be delighted to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltash, Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

we stayed for a long weekend. The hotel is fairly new. The facilities good and the staff wonderfully supportive. If you want to be in the middle of a very new retail development then it's even better for you.

Room Tip: As you might expect, they are all of a muchness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you very much for your recent comments. I am glad that you enjoyed our facilities and found our staff to be helpful. Should you find yourself in Portsmouth again we hope to welcome you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#21 of 39 in Portsmouth
997 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#22 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,526 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Maritime Club
Royal Maritime Club
#15 of 39 in Portsmouth
742 reviews
0.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#10 of 39 in Portsmouth
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Property: Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Address: Gunwharf Quays | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth hotel is located within Gunwharf Quays which is a vibrant waterfront development offering a number of attractions, including over 95 designer clothing outlets,over 25 restaurants & bars, a cinema, ten pin bowling, casino and comedy club. The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth Hotel is ideally located for business or leisure breaks. It comprises 130 en-suite bedrooms and 2 modern meeting rooms, all with comfort cooling, natural daylight and free wifi throughout the hotel. The Great room and lounge area situated on the first floor offers drinks and relaxation in the evening, as well as a free continental breakfast with hot favourites which include scrambled egg, sausages & baked beans in the morning. Undercover secure parking is available in the award winning main Gunwharf Quays car park, all Hotel guests receive discounted rates for car parking in the main Gunwharf Quays car park, first twenty four hours or first exit is free of charge and then second 24 hours or exit and thereafter are charged at £2. Access to trains, buses and ferries are all within walking distance. Southampton International Airport is 22 miles away. Convenient access to all of Portsmouth's many attractions, including the Spinnaker Tower, The Historic Dockyard, Portsmouth Old Town with its cobbled streets and the waterfront, filled with traditional pubs and restaurants are all within walking distance. PLEASE NOTE: THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS - PORTSMOUTH GUNWHARF QUAYS HAS DEDICATED DISABLED CAR SPACES OUTSIDE THE HOTEL ENTRANCE, WITH A DROP OFF/PICK UP FACILITY BY THE FRONT DOOR. THERE IS APPROX A 3 MINUTE WALK FROM THE UNDERGROUND CAR PARK TO HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays Hotel Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing