We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good: location fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

In Southampton for a short business trip & company placed me here for a night. Location is ideal. A 10 minute walk from the railway station and within 100 yards a load of restaurants, bars & a cinema. Rooms are pretty spacious, reception really friendly & my room quiet. No complaints at all.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank CaptainWillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for your kind comment. We have a great location for shoppers, travellers and all visitors to the Portsmouth area. We would like to welcome you back in the area. Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review and I will pass on all your comments to the team here

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,274)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

647 - 653 of 1,274 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just spent one night at the Holiday Inn. We came to spend the day in Gunwharf and then take our daughter home from Uni. It was just what I expected. A basic room but clean. Free Wi-Fi is a nice touch, but in my opinion breakfast should be scrapped and the price per night reduced accordingly. We paid £136 and for that you could get a lovely hotel on the outskirts, however it is all about the location which is fab.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ValS14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. As you kindly mentioned we are in an excellent location being on Gunwharf Quays which has 90 different retail outlets and over 30 bars and restaurants. Our breakfast offering is in line with the brand gudelines but i will difinitely pass on your comments. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a fairly long period, two weeks to be precise so that I could arrange my fathers funeral and his estate. The fluctuating rate is not great especially at our exchange rate and for the basic offerings..
The staff are friendly, open and helpful. It is well placed for restaurants and shops.
I have read some of the reviews some which may be over the top in complaints.
Owning an establishment myself overseas; I see problems immediately and know they won't go away unless fixed and people will continue to complain which is not good for the image of the hotel. TripAdvisor is very popular and ppotential guest take note of the reviews.
1. The carpets are in a terrible state and even though they are old they could be shampooed or spot cleaned..I have been told that they are waiting for a quiet time to replace carpeting on all floors, I think they can't wait, parts are threadbare. I wonder if the CEO is even aware how bad it is.
2. The general cleanliness is good, I checked the obscure places!
.Rooms need to be made up a lot quicker. I was out all morning and came back to an unmade room. NOT GOOD!
3. Although the beds have good linen and it is pristine clean; it is strange that the pillows do not have pillow protectors and the mattress does. The pillows are a bit old and lumpy and need replacing with re-puffable ones both soft and firm. The mattresses are not great and need to be a lot firmer. I had two different rooms as my sister was with me for the first week so I know it is probably the same for all rooms. The last room mattress had dips where people sleep!
I like others also do not like having my undies or other personal items for that matter on display a simple hanging cupboard would be better. I never travel with too much valuables but I am sure most guests would like the option to have a safe in the room for convenience.
4. There are many complaints about the breakfast which is all true but the management still continue to put their heads in the sand and do nothing. Bacon is a stalwart of an English breakfast and empty hot boxes gives a feeling that guest are missing out and have arrived too late. This was heard in the serving area a few days ago. Either scrap the breakfast entirely or offer a proper one for a low price that can be included in the room rate with choice of eggs plus bacon, tomato and baked beans toast. Fruit needs to be fresh and NOT tinned. This smacks of laziness and in this time of obesity one doesn't need to offer fruit in sugary syrups! A simple fruit salad without banana or apple would be great or just a bowl of fruit so guest can take what they fancy. There must be wonderful local producers in the area, use them they are usually more reasonable and have better produce.
5. A small fridge in each room would be great for cold water and ice.
I hope that this review is constructive and take in the light is was given.
I wish you every success in your endeavors to offer budget accommodation in these expensive times. Hopefully the change you need to make will do just that.

Room Tip: Make sure you mention which type of room you want when booking otherwise they just put you in any ty...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shikwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. All IHG branded hotels work on dynamic pricing strategy, we are sorry to hear that the fluctuating rate was a bit misleading. For long stay guests we are able to set the price based on the information provided (length of stay, peak season etc.)

Thank you very much for your kind comments with regards to our staff, I will make sure your feedback is received.

Our head housekeeper has also been made aware of the wait you had had for the room to be made up. The pillow replacement programme is already in place and we hope to rectify this problem shortly.

As per our brand guidelines we do provide safety deposit boxes at reception only, likewise our Holiday Inn Express breakfast is a continental breakfast, offering only a selection of 'hot favourites' to include scrambled egg, beans & sausages.

Your feedback will be invaluable to us in improving our guest experience. We would welcome the opportunity to have you stay wirh us again, should you find yourself in Portsmouth again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I had a business meeting in Portsmouth on the 27th so took the opportunity to travel down on the bank holiday with the wife and stay overnight in the Holiday Inn.
The location of the hotel is first class allowing access to a superb array of shopping and restaurants. The hotel at £94 per night is not the best value but the location makes it acceptable. I would expect the rooms to be clean rather than top show clean. The breakfast which is labelled as complimentary is very poor to say the least and is hardly complimentary at £94 per night. if you are stying here it is functional but nothing special so do not expect whistles and bells because they are lacking. I do have to compliment the reception staff on their courtesy and general demeanor. I would be disapointed with the hotel if i had paid for it myself for a short break.

Room Tip: Choose the premier Innand get what you pay for.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carstont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you very much for your comments on your recent.
Our rooms are priced competitively within the Portsmouth area. As per Holiday Inn Express standards we do provide continental breakfast, offering only a selection of 'hot favourites' to include scrambled egg, beans & sausages. This is a complimentary feature as we do not offer a room only package. We are glad to hear that our staff have managed to provide you with a great service. Please do consider staying with us in the future, we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is a good place to stay for shopping and restaurants. We stayed for one night in room 140. The room was large and was on the side of the hotel that over looked some of the shops. We stayed on bank holiday Monday just for the one night and we didn't hear any noise from the night club, some people say that it's noisy but perhaps it is at the weekends?
Free WiFi which was good and free breakfast. Breakfast at 9am on Tuesday was very good. Shower was powerful with plenty of hot water. Parking is in the general carpark (free parking for hotel users whilst booked in) and we took ages finding somewhere to park - but then it was at 12.15pm on bank holiday Monday!!
Staff were very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Room 104 was on the ground floor - the last one at the end of a corridor, on the corner. Facing the...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJJ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We provide complimentary Wifi and breakfast across Holiday Inn Express UK. We hope to see you again in Portsmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Am in Portsmouth attending a course, paid for by my company.
Let's start this review by stating that the one thing this place has got going for it is its location.
If you're coming down for the shopping or to visit the many tourist attractions and are going to be out of the room all day then it is worth considering staying here.
I must admit I hadn't researched the Express brand so was quite shocked at how basic the rooms are. As a business traveller I stay in a lot of hotels, mainly 4/5 star.
In line with the other reviews posted there is only 1 lift working, very slowly, which seems to have a mind of its own. There are no safes in the room. In reception there are safety deposit boxes but these do not cater for larger items such as laptops although you can leave items at reception.
It can be quiet noisy at night even though I am staying towards the rear of the hotel. You may also be woken up by the noise of trains from the station nearby.
Towels in the room are off-white in colour and very thin. They become very wet very qucikly. Hand soap and shower gel are in dispensers fixed to the wall - no shampoo, conditoner or other nice toiletries are supplied.
Disgusting shower curtain which didn't look like it's been cleaned/changed in some time, although today it has been!
Sofa bed in room which I wouldn't dream of sitting on - photo attached.
Very limited storage drawer space which is all open so underwear on display to the housekeeping staff should you decide to unpack your case!
Carpet fraying in public areas.
Didn't have breakfast although included in room rate - I went to Costas everyday.
The main issue I have is that the room is not somewhere I want to spend several hours working in after my course has finished - room feels depressing.
Minor detail - but a list of tv channels could be noted in the room. Have previously stayed at the Hilton when in Portsmouth and although it is a drive in every day and I have to pay for parking I'm undecided as to which is the worst of the two evils - staying here or driving in everyday.

Room Tip: If you don't want to be disturbed by the casino ask for a room at the rear.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micheleuxbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Micheleuxbridge,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room layout prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Had a lovely weekend away. Rooms were spacious and fresh. Shower was lovely and bathroom was clean. Lovely central location in the middle of Gunwharf. Only downside being the noise from the nightlife at the weekends but that can't be helped. Food was a bit naff though. Got down nice and early and everything was still cold and stale. Would give that a miss!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback and for your excellent comments on our rooms.

Our food is regularly checked for freshness and temperature to maintain standards and food safety, I am really sorry to hear that this has detracted from your stay.

We hope to welcome you to our hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
3.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,242 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#25 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,550 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#20 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,013 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Royal Maritime Club
Royal Maritime Club
#15 of 39 in Portsmouth
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Address: Gunwharf Quays | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: £84 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth hotel is located within Gunwharf Quays which is a vibrant waterfront development offering a number of attractions, including over 95 designer clothing outlets,over 25 restaurants & bars, a cinema, ten pin bowling, casino and comedy club. The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth Hotel is ideally located for business or leisure breaks. It comprises 130 en-suite bedrooms and 2 modern meeting rooms, all with comfort cooling, natural daylight and free wifi throughout the hotel. The Great room and lounge area situated on the first floor offers drinks and relaxation in the evening, as well as a free continental breakfast with hot favourites which include scrambled egg, sausages & baked beans in the morning. Undercover secure parking is available in the award winning main Gunwharf Quays car park, all Hotel guests receive discounted rates for car parking in the main Gunwharf Quays car park, first twenty four hours or first exit is free of charge and then second 24 hours or exit and thereafter are charged at £2. Access to trains, buses and ferries are all within walking distance. Southampton International Airport is 22 miles away. Convenient access to all of Portsmouth's many attractions, including the Spinnaker Tower, The Historic Dockyard, Portsmouth Old Town with its cobbled streets and the waterfront, filled with traditional pubs and restaurants are all within walking distance. PLEASE NOTE: THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS - PORTSMOUTH GUNWHARF QUAYS HAS DEDICATED DISABLED CAR SPACES OUTSIDE THE HOTEL ENTRANCE, WITH A DROP OFF/PICK UP FACILITY BY THE FRONT DOOR. THERE IS APPROX A 3 MINUTE WALK FROM THE UNDERGROUND CAR PARK TO HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays Hotel Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing