We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only average, avoid breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Plymouth, England
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Only average, avoid breakfast”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

HI need to come clean and recognise that they are really a motel chain. Horrid plastic waterglasses in the rooms, strange lumpy mattress, dissapointing cooked food etc. The sausages are definitely best avoided and the scrambled egg a rubbery lump. some redemption from the croissants but that is about it. I'd sooner have a cheaper no breakfast offer and find myself a decnet place to eat. At least when you go to Little Chef it is freshly cooked!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingAcademic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are sorry to hear that you have not entirely enjoyed your stay. I will investigate the quality of our beds in all the rooms.
With regards to your feedback on breakfast at our property, our offerings are in line
with Holiday Inn Express standards, we do provide continental breakfast offering only and a selection of 'hot favourites' to include scrambled egg, beans & sausage, we are really sorry to hear that the quality wasn't to your liking.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    511
    342
    124
    48
See reviews for
225
512
43
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel has a fantastic location ,close to the marina, shops, naval dockyard, and station. Its clear, fresh, free wifi, good views for the rooms, and decent bar. Good discounts with Hotel key at local restaurants .


Expensive at £137 per night

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed the choices we offer for breakfast in the hotel. We have negotiated discounts with more thant 15 restaurants based at Gunwharf Quays, available to all hotel guests. Thank you for your great feedback and I will definitely be passing on all of your comments to the team here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

In Southampton for a short business trip & company placed me here for a night. Location is ideal. A 10 minute walk from the railway station and within 100 yards a load of restaurants, bars & a cinema. Rooms are pretty spacious, reception really friendly & my room quiet. No complaints at all.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank CaptainWillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your kind comment. We have a great location for shoppers, travellers and all visitors to the Portsmouth area. We would like to welcome you back in the area. Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review and I will pass on all your comments to the team here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Just spent one night at the Holiday Inn. We came to spend the day in Gunwharf and then take our daughter home from Uni. It was just what I expected. A basic room but clean. Free Wi-Fi is a nice touch, but in my opinion breakfast should be scrapped and the price per night reduced accordingly. We paid £136 and for that you could get a lovely hotel on the outskirts, however it is all about the location which is fab.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ValS14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. As you kindly mentioned we are in an excellent location being on Gunwharf Quays which has 90 different retail outlets and over 30 bars and restaurants. Our breakfast offering is in line with the brand gudelines but i will difinitely pass on your comments. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoedspruit, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a fairly long period, two weeks to be precise so that I could arrange my fathers funeral and his estate. The fluctuating rate is not great especially at our exchange rate and for the basic offerings..
The staff are friendly, open and helpful. It is well placed for restaurants and shops.
I have read some of the reviews some which may be over the top in complaints.
Owning an establishment myself overseas; I see problems immediately and know they won't go away unless fixed and people will continue to complain which is not good for the image of the hotel. TripAdvisor is very popular and ppotential guest take note of the reviews.
1. The carpets are in a terrible state and even though they are old they could be shampooed or spot cleaned..I have been told that they are waiting for a quiet time to replace carpeting on all floors, I think they can't wait, parts are threadbare. I wonder if the CEO is even aware how bad it is.
2. The general cleanliness is good, I checked the obscure places!
.Rooms need to be made up a lot quicker. I was out all morning and came back to an unmade room. NOT GOOD!
3. Although the beds have good linen and it is pristine clean; it is strange that the pillows do not have pillow protectors and the mattress does. The pillows are a bit old and lumpy and need replacing with re-puffable ones both soft and firm. The mattresses are not great and need to be a lot firmer. I had two different rooms as my sister was with me for the first week so I know it is probably the same for all rooms. The last room mattress had dips where people sleep!
I like others also do not like having my undies or other personal items for that matter on display a simple hanging cupboard would be better. I never travel with too much valuables but I am sure most guests would like the option to have a safe in the room for convenience.
4. There are many complaints about the breakfast which is all true but the management still continue to put their heads in the sand and do nothing. Bacon is a stalwart of an English breakfast and empty hot boxes gives a feeling that guest are missing out and have arrived too late. This was heard in the serving area a few days ago. Either scrap the breakfast entirely or offer a proper one for a low price that can be included in the room rate with choice of eggs plus bacon, tomato and baked beans toast. Fruit needs to be fresh and NOT tinned. This smacks of laziness and in this time of obesity one doesn't need to offer fruit in sugary syrups! A simple fruit salad without banana or apple would be great or just a bowl of fruit so guest can take what they fancy. There must be wonderful local producers in the area, use them they are usually more reasonable and have better produce.
5. A small fridge in each room would be great for cold water and ice.
I hope that this review is constructive and take in the light is was given.
I wish you every success in your endeavors to offer budget accommodation in these expensive times. Hopefully the change you need to make will do just that.

Room Tip: Make sure you mention which type of room you want when booking otherwise they just put you in any ty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shikwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. All IHG branded hotels work on dynamic pricing strategy, we are sorry to hear that the fluctuating rate was a bit misleading. For long stay guests we are able to set the price based on the information provided (length of stay, peak season etc.)

Thank you very much for your kind comments with regards to our staff, I will make sure your feedback is received.

Our head housekeeper has also been made aware of the wait you had had for the room to be made up. The pillow replacement programme is already in place and we hope to rectify this problem shortly.

As per our brand guidelines we do provide safety deposit boxes at reception only, likewise our Holiday Inn Express breakfast is a continental breakfast, offering only a selection of 'hot favourites' to include scrambled egg, beans & sausages.

Your feedback will be invaluable to us in improving our guest experience. We would welcome the opportunity to have you stay wirh us again, should you find yourself in Portsmouth again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I had a business meeting in Portsmouth on the 27th so took the opportunity to travel down on the bank holiday with the wife and stay overnight in the Holiday Inn.
The location of the hotel is first class allowing access to a superb array of shopping and restaurants. The hotel at £94 per night is not the best value but the location makes it acceptable. I would expect the rooms to be clean rather than top show clean. The breakfast which is labelled as complimentary is very poor to say the least and is hardly complimentary at £94 per night. if you are stying here it is functional but nothing special so do not expect whistles and bells because they are lacking. I do have to compliment the reception staff on their courtesy and general demeanor. I would be disapointed with the hotel if i had paid for it myself for a short break.

Room Tip: Choose the premier Innand get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carstont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you very much for your comments on your recent.
Our rooms are priced competitively within the Portsmouth area. As per Holiday Inn Express standards we do provide continental breakfast, offering only a selection of 'hot favourites' to include scrambled egg, beans & sausages. This is a complimentary feature as we do not offer a room only package. We are glad to hear that our staff have managed to provide you with a great service. Please do consider staying with us in the future, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is a good place to stay for shopping and restaurants. We stayed for one night in room 140. The room was large and was on the side of the hotel that over looked some of the shops. We stayed on bank holiday Monday just for the one night and we didn't hear any noise from the night club, some people say that it's noisy but perhaps it is at the weekends?
Free WiFi which was good and free breakfast. Breakfast at 9am on Tuesday was very good. Shower was powerful with plenty of hot water. Parking is in the general carpark (free parking for hotel users whilst booked in) and we took ages finding somewhere to park - but then it was at 12.15pm on bank holiday Monday!!
Staff were very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Room 104 was on the ground floor - the last one at the end of a corridor, on the corner. Facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJJ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We provide complimentary Wifi and breakfast across Holiday Inn Express UK. We hope to see you again in Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#22 of 39 in Portsmouth
996 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#21 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,526 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Maritime Club
Royal Maritime Club
#15 of 39 in Portsmouth
742 reviews
0.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#11 of 39 in Portsmouth
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Property: Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Address: Gunwharf Quays | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth hotel is located within Gunwharf Quays which is a vibrant waterfront development offering a number of attractions, including over 95 designer clothing outlets,over 25 restaurants & bars, a cinema, ten pin bowling, casino and comedy club. The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth Hotel is ideally located for business or leisure breaks. It comprises 130 en-suite bedrooms and 2 modern meeting rooms, all with comfort cooling, natural daylight and free wifi throughout the hotel. The Great room and lounge area situated on the first floor offers drinks and relaxation in the evening, as well as a free continental breakfast with hot favourites which include scrambled egg, sausages & baked beans in the morning. Undercover secure parking is available in the award winning main Gunwharf Quays car park, all Hotel guests receive discounted rates for car parking in the main Gunwharf Quays car park, first twenty four hours or first exit is free of charge and then second 24 hours or exit and thereafter are charged at £2. Access to trains, buses and ferries are all within walking distance. Southampton International Airport is 22 miles away. Convenient access to all of Portsmouth's many attractions, including the Spinnaker Tower, The Historic Dockyard, Portsmouth Old Town with its cobbled streets and the waterfront, filled with traditional pubs and restaurants are all within walking distance. PLEASE NOTE: THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS - PORTSMOUTH GUNWHARF QUAYS HAS DEDICATED DISABLED CAR SPACES OUTSIDE THE HOTEL ENTRANCE, WITH A DROP OFF/PICK UP FACILITY BY THE FRONT DOOR. THERE IS APPROX A 3 MINUTE WALK FROM THE UNDERGROUND CAR PARK TO HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays Hotel Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing