We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An EXCELLENT! choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“An EXCELLENT! choice”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Location - perfect. Car parking - perfect. Welcome - warm and friendly. I can't fault this hotel and have stayed here five times, this being the most positive. The reception staff were lovely, helpful and efficient. Our room bright, cheerful and clean. The complimentary breakfast was adequate. Not luxury, but comfortable. Can definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Disabled drivers/passengers can park/leave their car right outside the hotel. Tesco Express, open fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth.
We are glad to learn that you have found our location to be just perfect and our car park to be conveniently located. It is also good to see that we have been able to improve our service standards over your recent visits to the hotel. We would like to welcome you back for the 6th time in Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    511
    342
    124
    48
See reviews for
225
512
43
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We stays for the second year for a long weekend. My husband and I love the Quays and the Dockyard and the fabulous restaurants. We pay for the location, and our room this year was a corner suite it was fantastic and the views were quite wonderful we could see the Ferrys coming and going. I can't fault the staff, the food was adequate.
My criticism would be that the rooms look tired, although immaculate. We are coming back at the end of April next year, and looking forward to it.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you very much for your recent comments. It is lovely to hear that you are our regular guest and you have enjoyed your recent stay with us. We would like to welcome you back on your next trip to Portsmouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north of england
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We chose this hotel because of it's location. It is very well situated for the historic dockyard,restaurants and shops. The carpeting in the corridors and public areas is worn and the chairs are dirty. Our room was adequate and appeared clean, as was the bathroom. The breakfast was okay but we found it hard to comprehend the omission of bacon among the hot choices. Other guests have complained about this but managers of this and other Holiday Inn Express hotels dismiss it by saying they include a selection of hot favourites. When was bacon not an English favourite? I suspect there is something they are not telling us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hellothereitsmehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. It is great to learn that you have enjoyed our location in Portsmouth. I do apologize about the state of our carpets in the corridors and public areas. We are currently progressing on the subject and we shall get it replaced soon. With regards to your breakfast comments, as per our guidelines we do provide continental breakfast with only a few 'hot favourites' . We do take our guest feedback on board and hopefully we will be able to introduce some changes in the future. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we would like to welcome you back in Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel is based in the centre of Portsmouth shopping area and has bars and restaurants all around. The historic docks are a short walk away which makes it an excellent choice for a short break, whether to shop in the huge array of designer shops or visit the historic tourist attractions.

The rooms are well appointed and the staff were extremely helpful and gave excellent customer service. Breakfast, whilst 'free' was not a fantastic choice for a cooked breakfast, but there was also fruit cereal and croissants.

Well priced and geographically perfectly placed. If you love shopping this is the ideal hotel to stay in

Room Tip: It did not have a swimming pool or fitness centre which is expected in an Express hotel. Rooms eith...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Slimjim05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are very pleased to hear that our staff provided you with an excellent customer service. Thank you for your feedback with regards to our breakfast, as per our brand guidelines we do provide continental breakfast with only a few 'favourites'. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Let's face it, you're staying at the Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays because it’s in Gunwharf Quays not because you're expecting a stellar hotel experience.

If you're unfamiliar with Gunwharf Quays, it’s the redeveloped section of the docks in Portsmouth and is a super convenient location. The railway station is next door, the ferries just beyond that, then the coach station and then the Dockyard Museum (HMS Victory etc.). The Quays itself includes a shopping centre, a multi-screen cinema and literally dozens of places to eat.

The hotel is bang in the middle of this and thus represents a really convenient base if you're just down for one to two nights to see the main attractions. As for the hotel the rooms are basic but clean, the Wi-Fi works and the staff were helpful enough (looking after my luggage when I arrived in the morning before going off sightseeing).

My only niggle is that the breakfast is underwhelming both in terms of the range on offer and the fact that the hotel clearly struggles at weekends to seat everyone at the peaks times. That said some of the prices I've seen quoted by people who've stayed here seem high for what's on offer and if you're being quoted well over £100/night then I'd start looking at some of the boutique hotels in Southsea which offer a much better experience for that kind of money.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel overlooks several restuarants with on-street seating areas so if you are a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you very much for your recent comment. As you kindly pointed out we are in an excellent location being on Gunwharf Quays which has 90 different retail outlets and over 30 bars and restaurants. Thank you for your feedback with regards to our breakfast, this is an area where we work towards an improvement both in terms of the seating area and the actual offering. We would like to welcome you back on your next visit to Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Samantha the Manager of this hotel helped my wife and her friend who have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions . Samantha was able to satisfy and exceed my wife's unusual request. Samantha demonstrated great flexibility and tailored with world class expertise to attend to my wife's request. I would certainly recommend this hotel and all staff encountered. On every visit everyone has been very friendly, welcoming and kind.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your staff and our staff consistently make you feel welcome. I will also pass on your feedback to Sam. We would like to welcome you in Portsmouth again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

HI need to come clean and recognise that they are really a motel chain. Horrid plastic waterglasses in the rooms, strange lumpy mattress, dissapointing cooked food etc. The sausages are definitely best avoided and the scrambled egg a rubbery lump. some redemption from the croissants but that is about it. I'd sooner have a cheaper no breakfast offer and find myself a decnet place to eat. At least when you go to Little Chef it is freshly cooked!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingAcademic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are sorry to hear that you have not entirely enjoyed your stay. I will investigate the quality of our beds in all the rooms.
With regards to your feedback on breakfast at our property, our offerings are in line
with Holiday Inn Express standards, we do provide continental breakfast offering only and a selection of 'hot favourites' to include scrambled egg, beans & sausage, we are really sorry to hear that the quality wasn't to your liking.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#22 of 39 in Portsmouth
996 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#21 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,526 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Maritime Club
Royal Maritime Club
#15 of 39 in Portsmouth
742 reviews
0.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#11 of 39 in Portsmouth
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Property: Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Address: Gunwharf Quays | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth hotel is located within Gunwharf Quays which is a vibrant waterfront development offering a number of attractions, including over 95 designer clothing outlets,over 25 restaurants & bars, a cinema, ten pin bowling, casino and comedy club. The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth Hotel is ideally located for business or leisure breaks. It comprises 130 en-suite bedrooms and 2 modern meeting rooms, all with comfort cooling, natural daylight and free wifi throughout the hotel. The Great room and lounge area situated on the first floor offers drinks and relaxation in the evening, as well as a free continental breakfast with hot favourites which include scrambled egg, sausages & baked beans in the morning. Undercover secure parking is available in the award winning main Gunwharf Quays car park, all Hotel guests receive discounted rates for car parking in the main Gunwharf Quays car park, first twenty four hours or first exit is free of charge and then second 24 hours or exit and thereafter are charged at £2. Access to trains, buses and ferries are all within walking distance. Southampton International Airport is 22 miles away. Convenient access to all of Portsmouth's many attractions, including the Spinnaker Tower, The Historic Dockyard, Portsmouth Old Town with its cobbled streets and the waterfront, filled with traditional pubs and restaurants are all within walking distance. PLEASE NOTE: THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS - PORTSMOUTH GUNWHARF QUAYS HAS DEDICATED DISABLED CAR SPACES OUTSIDE THE HOTEL ENTRANCE, WITH A DROP OFF/PICK UP FACILITY BY THE FRONT DOOR. THERE IS APPROX A 3 MINUTE WALK FROM THE UNDERGROUND CAR PARK TO HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays Hotel Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing