We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its all about location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Cornwall, GB
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Its all about location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

A really good stay in a nice hotel. Clean, tidy and comfortable with good service. As it is a Holiday Inn, the breakfast is fairly basic but the location on Gunwharf Quays is brilliant for shopping and eating out

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizPCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.
It is a pleasure to read that you have had a great time with us and that you have enjoyed all that Gunwharf has to offer. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    487
    326
    120
    45
See reviews for
210
483
41
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Great location - historic ships, restaurants, shops, old town all close by. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Room fine. Breakfast fine (if one forgets the "scrambled eggs"). But ...... Pricey for what it is. Take away the location and it I would struggle - dated decor. Sleep? Our mattress was awful unless one wants to disappear and roll to the middle. Not good at all.

Room Tip: Check the mattress!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.
As you mentioned there is loads to do in the surrounding area and just a short walk away as well. With regards to the issue with the mattress, I am truly sorry that you have experienced an issue during your stay with us, and I will ensure that both our Maintenance Manager and Housekeeping Manager are aware so that we can resolve these issues immediately in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights & other than a rather slow lift (one was out of order) not a bad word.
Comfortable beds, good size rooms, clean. The best thing is the location. You are right in the thick of the bars, restaurants & shops but you would never know. We didn't hear any night life when in our room. Staff were very friendly too.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sparkie555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.
As you say we are right in the thick of Gunwharf Quays and I am pleased to read that this didn’t stop you from having a wonderful nights sleep. I will ensure that all the staff are aware of your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

I can't fault this hotel. Its location is great and even though our room was right next to Bar 38 there was no noise disturbance at all.

The room we had was great. Spacious, clean and a bed to die for. So so comfy.

Parking is not on site but easily accessible. Get your ticket validated by the hotel on check in and the parking was free.

The hotel also gives you a list of a range of bars and restaurants on the Gunwharf that will discount meals and drinks. Giraffe gave us 30% off our bill! Nice meal there too.

It is pricey but you pay for the location. I would stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JulesB6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.
It is fantastic to hear that you found your stay with us a great one and that you had a very comfortable sleep. Gunwharf Quays is a lovely location and I am glad to hear that you were able to make use of the discounts for the restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed here one night, had a nice stay, staff were excellent, helpful and friendly. Rooms clean and well looked after, all in all a nice enough place for a night or two and in a great location. Very close to pubs and bars (but avoid the Fullers one as that was awful) and its been done up as a very nice area.
Did not have breakfast but looked ok if a bit canteen style but thats the set-up of this chain and it works well enough.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaunsizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.
It is a pleasure to read your kind comments regarding the staff and the quality of the bedroom you stayed in. These positive comments will certainly be passed on to all the staff here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed for one night on a business trip.

The location is excellent right next to the Portsmouth Harbour Station and Gosport Ferry it is in the Gunwharf complex with a large number of shop and restaurants.

The hotel is a regular HI Express so the rooms are functional but perfectly adequate. The breakfast is a reasonable buffet and again perfectly adequate. Staff were friendly and helpful.

I was there during Cowes week so the hotel was very busy.

The rate was staggering, for this standard of hotel I paid handsomely.

So long as you are happy with the rate you are quoted and the location works for you this hotel is fine.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollybush_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. As you have rightly mentioned we are in an excellent location being on Gunwharf Quays which has 90 different retail outlets and over 30 bars and restaurants. I am glad that you have found our hotel and its facilities to be adequate as per our Holiday Inn Express offerings. Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vigo, Spain
Level Contributor
105 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

A clean and pleasant hotel with very friendly staff located in a very desirable area of Portsmouth - close to shops, restaurants and the Historic Dockyard.

Whilst the hotel is not exceptional, it provides very good value for money.

Car parking is in the huge shopping centre garage but the rate is very reasonable thanks to the discount the hotel offers.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to see that you have enjoyed your time with us and our location was just right for your stay. Thank you for your kind comments with regards to the team here, i will pass on your feedback. We would like to invite you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
3.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#22 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Property: Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Address: Gunwharf Quays | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth hotel is located within Gunwharf Quays which is a vibrant waterfront development offering a number of attractions, including over 95 designer clothing outlets,over 25 restaurants & bars, a cinema, ten pin bowling, casino and comedy club. The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth Hotel is ideally located for business or leisure breaks. It comprises 130 en-suite bedrooms and 2 modern meeting rooms, all with comfort cooling, natural daylight and free wifi throughout the hotel. The Great room and lounge area situated on the first floor offers drinks and relaxation in the evening, as well as a free continental breakfast with hot favourites which include scrambled egg, sausages & baked beans in the morning. Undercover secure parking is available in the award winning main Gunwharf Quays car park, all Hotel guests receive discounted rates for car parking in the main Gunwharf Quays car park, first twenty four hours or first exit is free of charge and then second 24 hours or exit and thereafter are charged at £2. Access to trains, buses and ferries are all within walking distance. Southampton International Airport is 22 miles away. Convenient access to all of Portsmouth's many attractions, including the Spinnaker Tower, The Historic Dockyard, Portsmouth Old Town with its cobbled streets and the waterfront, filled with traditional pubs and restaurants are all within walking distance. PLEASE NOTE: THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS - PORTSMOUTH GUNWHARF QUAYS HAS DEDICATED DISABLED CAR SPACES OUTSIDE THE HOTEL ENTRANCE, WITH A DROP OFF/PICK UP FACILITY BY THE FRONT DOOR. THERE IS APPROX A 3 MINUTE WALK FROM THE UNDERGROUND CAR PARK TO HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays Hotel Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing