We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for families, but rooms are too small for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Essex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location for families, but rooms are too small for families”
Reviewed 27 August 2009

My husband and I and our two children, 13 and 11 stayed here for two nights to do the attractions of Portsmouth and nearby Beaulieu. The hotel is in a fabulous position with lots of restaurants to choose from, would recommend La Tasca, but plenty of choice for either families, couples or singles, it is walking distance to the historic dockyard, spinnaker tower and gunwharf quay shops and restaurants. The hotel itself is fairly impersonal, but extremely clean, new and bright. The continental breakfast was very good also. The only real issue we had was the room was very small for a family of four, we took our own blow up bed because the sofa bed was not suitable for two older children, especially a boy and a girl, but we knew this would be the case, but wanted the location, so prepared ourselves for this. However the room was still small for four and hot, there was air conditioning, but this was loud so not ideal at night, so we didn't sleep particuarly well. However, I would recommend this to others, especially a couple wanting to be within walking distance to bars and restaurants and families with smaller children.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMB40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    490
    331
    121
    45
See reviews for
211
492
42
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2009

Excellent location for a weekends shopping in Gunwharf. Car park is a little difficult to find at 1st but just aim for the Gunwharf own car park and turn off left where it says hotel on the road markings. Continental breakfast which was included in the price could have been a bit more exciting but rooms were clean and air conditioned and security seemed good.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bazahotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

This hotel doesn't pretend to be flashy. However, it does what it sets out to do perfectly. We booked in for one night as we were taking an early ferry to France the next morning. It could hardly be closer to the ferry terminal - took 7 minutes to get there in the morning. Perfect for what we wanted. The room was spotlessly clean and the requested child bed was ready and made-up. It is clearly run on a budget -down to the disposable face clothes - so no frills - but it was clean and had everything that we could have needed, wanted or expected. The breakfast was self-service and excellent. The staff could not have been more helpful and charming (even kept some of our food in the fridge overnight). I would recommend asking for a quiet room, as some of them overlook the quays directly and could be noisy I guess at a weekend - but if you want a modern, clean, functional hotel in Portsmouth,this is it.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLaners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2009

Lovely location, nice hotel, good breakfast. Seemed to be a bit noisy, not sure if walls are to thin or something but could forgive that. The main thing that was wrong was the staff weren't very friendly and seemed to have a bit of an attitude. Not very welcoming for my stay and weren't approachable. Next time I am in that area I think I will stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spikeyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Episkopi, Cyprus
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Excellent location for shopping, restaurants, cinema, historic dockyard and transport links.
Room was well decorated and very clean. Excellent shower. TV with some cable channels.
Considering the hotel is right in the middle of Gunwharf, there was no late night noise within or outside the hotel.
Self-serve breakfast buffet provided good choice of cereal, fruit and pastries.
Excellent value for £75 per night. would definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank virtual_traveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee on the Solent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Spent one night at this hotel as we were going to a special event at the Spinnaker Tower. Fantastic location, plenty of bars, restaurants and shops on the doorstep.
The hotel itself was modern and clean. Reception was on the first floor. Had prepaid for the room, just had to sign in and the room key was handed over.
The room itself was a decent size, good size bathroom with a large shower and it was all very clean.
Requested a room at the front of the hotel away from the railway although this room faced alot of the bars and restaurants we was not disturbed by any noise.
Continental breakfast was included in the price but was a bit canteen style including the bit where you have to clear away your own trays.
Parking included in the price but be warned if staying there on a Saturay night allow plenty of time to get in the car park, the queue was extremely long as you park in the car park at Gunwharf Quays and when we stayed it seem that everyone in Portsmouth had decided to have a night out there!
On the whole a good hotel in a fantastic location, would recommend it if visiting the Portsmouth area.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bondiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2009

We stayed here for a weekend break and had a disabled room.

The room was overlooking the car park, so it is disappointing that they think Disabled people dont want a room with a view.

The shower was odd, the floor in the bathrrom was flat and the water did not drain away as it should have done, leaving a great puddle evertime we used the shower. I think we both got althleics foot from standing in puddles of water, so no marks for that.

The breakfast was OK but the rate way overpriced for no cooked breakfast.

We were caught out on Saturday night as all the restruants were full and it was pouring with rain so we had to order food brought in from another place, it was Ok but a bit cold.

The extra charges are very expenisve to £1.50 for a cup of tea, £8 to use the gym down the road.

The decor could do with some updating, purple squares everywhere, not very tasteful, I dont know how much they paid the interior destiners but I reckon the local junior school could have produced better paintings.

I would get rid on the purple/blue /cream and put more subltle colours in, Premioer lodge is another one for using the purple.

The hotel is great for the shops and their is a tesco express next door which was raking in the money from people who did not want to pay the bar prices around the quay.

All in all a nice weekend but we will look for somewhere better value to stay next time we are in Portsmouth.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fluffydogmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
3.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#21 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#23 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Property: Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Address: Gunwharf Quays | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth hotel is located within Gunwharf Quays which is a vibrant waterfront development offering a number of attractions, including over 95 designer clothing outlets,over 25 restaurants & bars, a cinema, ten pin bowling, casino and comedy club. The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth Hotel is ideally located for business or leisure breaks. It comprises 130 en-suite bedrooms and 2 modern meeting rooms, all with comfort cooling, natural daylight and free wifi throughout the hotel. The Great room and lounge area situated on the first floor offers drinks and relaxation in the evening, as well as a free continental breakfast with hot favourites which include scrambled egg, sausages & baked beans in the morning. Undercover secure parking is available in the award winning main Gunwharf Quays car park, all Hotel guests receive discounted rates for car parking in the main Gunwharf Quays car park, first twenty four hours or first exit is free of charge and then second 24 hours or exit and thereafter are charged at £2. Access to trains, buses and ferries are all within walking distance. Southampton International Airport is 22 miles away. Convenient access to all of Portsmouth's many attractions, including the Spinnaker Tower, The Historic Dockyard, Portsmouth Old Town with its cobbled streets and the waterfront, filled with traditional pubs and restaurants are all within walking distance. PLEASE NOTE: THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS - PORTSMOUTH GUNWHARF QUAYS HAS DEDICATED DISABLED CAR SPACES OUTSIDE THE HOTEL ENTRANCE, WITH A DROP OFF/PICK UP FACILITY BY THE FRONT DOOR. THERE IS APPROX A 3 MINUTE WALK FROM THE UNDERGROUND CAR PARK TO HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays Hotel Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing