We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bearable for Budget Hotel, but Could Improve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Horsham, West Sussex
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Bearable for Budget Hotel, but Could Improve”
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Our quest for a decent budget hotel continued in Portsmouth, where we were attending a wedding. The ceremony & reception was held on the HMS Warrior (so good marks for most original venue) & this hotel was closest. The Express public areas are stylish in a modern nautical theme, but with rather bland bedrooms. Virtually no wardrobe space, tiny shower room and a very small double bed. The site advertises King beds, but we were told by reception that only double beds are in all the rooms. Plus marks for having ice machines on each floor and location. Also, the bed albeit small was comfortable with a choice of pillow types, but not enough bed covers. We were freezing & had to turn in the heat full blast.

The reality is that the best budget hotel we've stayed in on this trip is the Commodore suite on the Brittany Ferry Aven. At 70€, it was the largest room with adequate shower room, plus mini-fridge with free drinks/water, excellent decor, lighting, balcony (nice for letting in fresh air), in-room cabin service & truly comfy real beds along with Sat TV & DVDs.

So the winner is none of the 3 budget hotels on land, but Brittany Ferries!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic_Vivant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    491
    331
    121
    45
See reviews for
211
492
42
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

On the plus side it is conveniently located for Gun Wharf Quay, the Spinnaker Tower and the Historic Dockyards and we had a decent view and on a bitterly cold night it was brilliant to be a few steps away from Raymond Blanc's Bistro. However this is a no frills establishment and the breakfast - if it can be called that - was appalling. Buffet style and no personal service - no bacon, a bit of cold scrambled egg and in spite of lots of guests, no one bothered to replenish it so there wasn't much to go round. I have a wheat allergy so couldn't substitute pastries, cereal and toast, so had to go hungry apart from a yogurt and a bit of fruit salad.
If it weren't for the good location it would have very little going for it.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigixxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VaidP, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 21 February 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

Many Thanks for your review with regards to your stay with us.

I am truly sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your time with us.

With regards to the breakfast, as a Holiday Inn Express hotel brand, we serve only sausages and eggs along with a continental breakfast. We have taken various measures since Nov 2010 to accommodate our guests during the busy times. We now have a second buffet counter with additional hot food. We also use our conference room to provide additional seating area during busy times. You will always find the duty manager in the breakfast area to ensure all he buffet items are topped up.

We can, on request, cater for various dietary requirements. We can procure these items from our local supplier upon a guest request.

I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you better.

Best Regards

Prashant Vaid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Soldeu, Andorra
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Great location for all the amenities of Gunwharf. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean and a good size.
There was no shampoo in the room, only shower gel, so you need to take your own.
Room service knocked on our door very early - our fault, I suppose for not putting out the "do not disturb" sign after rolling back after a work Christmas party! Also, check-out is 11am, rather than the usual 12.
A plus is that you get 24 hours of free parking in the main Gunwharf car park, by having your ticket validated at reception. The hotel is also well sound-proofed and we didn't hear noise from other guests during the night.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VaidP, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 21 February 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

Many Thanks for your positive review with regards to your stay at our hotel. It is always good to hear such positive comments from our guests. I will pass on your comments to my team.

I look forward to welcome you in our hotel again in the near future.

Best Regards

Prashant Vaid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2010

My wife and I stayed here after my work Christmas do in the Spinnaker Tower.
I've stayed in quite a few Premier Inn / Holiday Inn Express type hotels and I have to say this was probably the best hotel of this type I've stayed in.
Nice atmosphere, lovely room (for this type of hotel), quiet,comfy bed, great location for Gun Wharf etc and free 24hr parking. Staff were also very good.
The self service style breakfast won't suit everyone, but I found it more than acceptable.

Overall very happy.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank axcmorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VaidP, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 21 February 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

Many Thanks for your positive review with regards to your stay at our hotel. It is always good to hear such positive comments from our guests. I will pass on your comments to my team.

I look forward to welcome you in our hotel again in the near future.

Best Regards

Prashant Vaid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Molesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2010

Not too much to say about this hotel as it is a modern standard hotel. It was clean, modern and the staff were really friendly and helpful. The location is second to none, right in the middle of the shopping centre, near to the bars and night-life. Once back in our room there was no noise heard from outside at all. The only let down was the breakfast (hence a Very good and not an Excellent) but it did do the job of fill me up whilst suffering slightly with a hangover. Really would like to come back here for longer as it is a gem.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Timmy_051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VaidP, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 21 February 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

Many Thanks for your positive review with regards to your stay at our hotel. It is always good to hear such positive comments from our guests. I will pass on your comments to my team.

I look forward to welcome you in our hotel again in the near future.

Best Regards

Prashant Vaid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2010

The hotle is difficult to find, poor signage. You have to park in the underground Gun Wharf Quays carpark and then go up a ramp, with no signs for the hotel, to find a small entrance to the hotel. Then you find the reception is on the first floor!

The location of the hotel is its main asset, as its very close to shops, bars, food places, etc.

The room, was okay, a bit on the small side, but the room was cold. Turned the air con to give heat, but could only have heat with the drone of the air con!. Requested a double bed and got a single. The quilt was only the size of the top of the bed, so if you moved from the middle you got cold!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_R_Hol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warsaw,
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

The hotel is very close to center what is the biggest advantage of it. You can have room with nice view. There are rooms for smokers what can be advantage or disadvantage... There is strong heater in every room so there is not cold during winter time and you can adjust your temperature and set even on 30 deg. C (not very often in UK in middle level hotels). There is enough space in room so you do not feel like in a cage.
Everything is great but breakfast - no choice and tasteless food. Hopefully there are a lot restaurants around so you can have whatever you want. In general it was good choice!!!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madzik8b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VaidP, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, 22 February 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

Many Thanks for your review regarding our hotel.

I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay overall but were let down by our breakfast offer.

Since Nov 2010 we have done a lot of changes in our breakfast service which has helped us improve the whole service. We now have additional counter and extra seating area during busy time periods. Our aim is to provide tasty and hot breakfast as per our brand promise.

I do hope that you will not let this one factor deter you using us again and will give us an opportunity to serve you better.

Best Regards

Prashant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
3.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#21 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#23 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Property: Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Address: Gunwharf Quays | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth hotel is located within Gunwharf Quays which is a vibrant waterfront development offering a number of attractions, including over 95 designer clothing outlets,over 25 restaurants & bars, a cinema, ten pin bowling, casino and comedy club. The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth Hotel is ideally located for business or leisure breaks. It comprises 130 en-suite bedrooms and 2 modern meeting rooms, all with comfort cooling, natural daylight and free wifi throughout the hotel. The Great room and lounge area situated on the first floor offers drinks and relaxation in the evening, as well as a free continental breakfast with hot favourites which include scrambled egg, sausages & baked beans in the morning. Undercover secure parking is available in the award winning main Gunwharf Quays car park, all Hotel guests receive discounted rates for car parking in the main Gunwharf Quays car park, first twenty four hours or first exit is free of charge and then second 24 hours or exit and thereafter are charged at £2. Access to trains, buses and ferries are all within walking distance. Southampton International Airport is 22 miles away. Convenient access to all of Portsmouth's many attractions, including the Spinnaker Tower, The Historic Dockyard, Portsmouth Old Town with its cobbled streets and the waterfront, filled with traditional pubs and restaurants are all within walking distance. PLEASE NOTE: THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS - PORTSMOUTH GUNWHARF QUAYS HAS DEDICATED DISABLED CAR SPACES OUTSIDE THE HOTEL ENTRANCE, WITH A DROP OFF/PICK UP FACILITY BY THE FRONT DOOR. THERE IS APPROX A 3 MINUTE WALK FROM THE UNDERGROUND CAR PARK TO HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays Hotel Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing