We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing was too much trouble”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2013

When we arrived at this B&B we were delighted to find that we had been upgraded to a far superior room. Apparently this is normal practice if a room of a higher standard is free during your stay, you automatically get upgraded. Couldn't fault the cleanliness and we had lovely white fluffy towels. Although we only stayed for one breakfast during our 3 night break - it was lovely. On our last night as we were leaving at 6 am on the Sunday morning we were given Juice and some cereal bars and fruit to take with us (which was really thoughtful) and much appreciated. Would definitely return and recommend to everyone. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming - nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

From the minute we arrived at this B&B the service was incredible. The staff were extremely friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. The rooms were fantastic!! I was staying with my mom who is a stickler for cleanliness and she was overwhelmed with the room. The standards were extremely high with the room and furnishings being incredible. Even the toiletries provided were lovely. My little sister currently lives in Portsmouth and I will make sure that every time I visit I stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room and it was beautiful and still a bargain!! Definitely worth the upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thanks so much for leaving us such a nice review about our Superior Room, we really appreciate you taking the time to do this and look forward to welcoming you back when you are next visiting your sister.

Best regards

All at Sea La Vie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed here a few days ago and although I was a bit apprehensive with it being a B&B, I needn't have worried.
I had booked a while ago as I was looking for accommodation in the area but some of the bigger hotels were full , but I was trying to find a place suitable for my husband who has mobility problems. The staff were really helpful as they made sure that they booked us into the right room on the ground floor ( he can walk but not lots of stairs etc)
The room was really big and bright, and was very newly decorated, it was fresh and classic and made a nice impression on us both.
Breakfast was very good, it was 2 doors down which was about 6 steps, so was fine (prob shorter then going from room to restaurant in most places!) managed to fill my face with the buffet, and hubby (who is fitness fanatic) managed to also do very well for someone super picky!

All in all, a great stay with super helpful staff, have stayed in the sister hotels on my other visits however would stay here again in a heartbeat, thanks again!

Room Tip: The ground floor room was bright and spacious and a good room for anyone with difficulty getting abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jody3432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are really pleased the room worked well for you and your husband. Indeed breakfast is very close to Sea La Vie and we glad you enjoyed the selection!

We look forward to welcoming you to another Mercer hotel soon,

Best regards

All at Sea La Vie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Was very impressed with the Sea La Vie B&B. Very large room and a nice powerful shower. The room was spotlessly clean. The breakfast was great as it was a buffet so i managed to fill up on sausages! All the staff we saw were very friendly and i would definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peggy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. We really appreciate it and look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards

All at Sea La Vie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Room was fine, although difficultly in closing the curtains without standing on the bed, due to bedside tables in the way. It was warm and we had the benefit of on-street parking, as main car park was full. The disappointment was having to leave our room to walk to their sister hotel for breakfast, which is highly unpleasant on a cold and rainy day. On balance it was ok, but would we return? Probably not

Room Tip: I would prefer to have the benefit of checking in and out as well as having breakfast in the hotel w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janhealyrichard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you found the curtains difficult to close but hope you enjoyed the room overall. I believe you were in one of our brand new rooms in the building.

We generally find guests do not mind leaving the hotel for breakfast as it is literally a few short steps away (likely shorter than the distance from most hotel bedrooms to a breakfast room in a larger property). I am sorry this was a concern during your stay and would put you off staying again. We do also offer a breakfast in bed service for guests should they not wish to walk to the breakfast room.

I hope perhaps you would consider one of our properties with a breakfast room in the same location in the future.

Best regards

All at Sea La Vie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We were disappointed to learn that Eileen and her daughter have gone and Sea-La-Vie is now one of three adjacent properties which involved a walk from No 6 to Number 2 Malvern Rd for breakfast. Fortunately, we only experienced one wet, windy morning!

Pros:
- excellent location/proximity to seafront
- very pleasant refurbished rooms
- requests/complaints were addressed promptly

Cons:
- breakfast room too small for number of guests; tables too close together
- polite, friendly staff but operated in a very inefficient manner. Disappeared for long periods of time, tables were not cleared quickly enough, had to clear our own table one morning.
- excellent muesli but generally a poor selection of 'starters'. Cooked buffet breakfast was not kept topped up, consequently at least one element was often missing. A number of guests complained one morning that the buffet breakfast was cold. One morning they ran out of food and we were kept waiting 20 minutes for our cooked breakfast which kept us late for an appointment.
- Room 4 in No 6 is really only suitable for a single person. Very small bed, no bedside table/light on one side so had to get out of bed to switch light off. Shower head fitment kept falling down. Mirror light in bathroom operated from an isolator switch high up on the wall outside the bathroom. Got upgraded to Room 6 that had no mirror in it and the heater wasn't working. No cupboard was high enough to hang a full-length coat or long dress. Neither of the rooms had curtains with keepers on the ends; reminded me of my lodgings in my student days!

Comparing Sea-La-Vie with other comparable places, regarding both location and price, we were disappointed and consequently will never return. Unfortunately, we thought we were going to a guest house run by Eileen and realised too late that it had very recently changed ownership.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emc302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

Naturally considering all the efforts we went to during your stay it was with great disappointment we read the review. We did our utmost to provide an excellent experience for you upgrading you from a "small double" to a "superior" at no cost. We allocated you one of our best rooms to make up for any disappointment on the bed size (a standard double bed) in the previous room. We also, at length, discussed that naturally hotels in Portsmouth - a coastal town an hour from London with fabulous waterfront amenities does reflect higher prices than the north of England and that £30-40 for a King size room was not a normal price to expect in the area for Boutique accommodation and cooked breakfast.

We offered our sincere apologies about the breakfast issue on one of the days and did offer to serve you a fresh breakfast al la carte to ensure you could make your appointment.

Regarding the fact you believed the old owner was still here we did make sure to inform each individual guest personally that she had left offering a free cancellation if the purpose of the visit was to meet Eileen. You did not wish to cancel the stay.

We are most certainly not "trading on the previous owner's reputation" as you will see by the other lovely reviews further up and the fact we have other hotels we have built up in the area over the past 8 years.

We are sorry we were unable to meet your needs on this occasion and I believe you did tell my colleague that you were "never happy" wherever you stayed so perhaps it was an impossible task for us. We do hope one day a property will fully meet your requirements to ensure you of an enjoyable holiday for you both.

Very best regards

All at Sea La Vie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed in room 2. A very clean and spacious room; good size bathroom; tea facilities; good breakfast in the sister hotel a few doors up; very pleasant and accommodating staff. On site parking limited so they give you the use of a parking permit for the street. Within easy walking distance of Southsea shopping and restaurants. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for your lovely review! We appreciate you taking the time to lave this for us.

Best wishes

All at Sea La Vie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,218 reviews
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
698 reviews
0 mi away
Florence House
Florence House
#3 of 39 in Portsmouth
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
988 reviews
0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 39 in Portsmouth
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 6 Malvern Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NA, England (Formerly Sea La Vie)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: £59 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique hotel, part of The Mercer Collection . All rooms have been furnished with lavish fabrics and are all en suites. Tea and Coffee facilities are available in the room. Free parking. The Hotel is next door to the group's Fine Dining restaurant The Kitchen and The Florence Arms Gastro Pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing