We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Extremely welcoming, very friendly and obliging. Mary was superb, she upgraded our room and showed us all the facilities. Mike the barman was equally welcoming and helpful. Room and facilities very clean and tidy. Breakfast was cooked to order, was quickly prepared and very hot. I have not got one complaint about this group of hotels.

Room Tip: Speak to Mary she will offer you something to suit your needs - excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    50
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
42
218
14
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a short two night break and had a fantastic stay at sea la vie. Beautiful rooms, cheerful staff and a great breakfast with alternative options. Not a million miles from all local attractions. Free parking permit which allowed us to park right outside the door. Definitely visit again!! THANK YOU.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ozzie683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We were extremely pleased with our stay at the Sea La Vie hotel in Southsea, Portsmouth and would not only recommend it to others; but would also return when we are next in the area. The staff, food and overall accommodation were particularly good!

Room Tip: Room 7 is the best in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveC99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Well, what can I say, what a lovely experience we had at Sea-la-vie! We were warmly greeted on arrival and straight away told that we had been upgraded to the double superior room. What a great start! We had our luggage taken to our rooms and a parking permit given which was hassle free. Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The bathroom had both a shower and bath that provided us with plenty of hot water. The breakfast the next morning was delicious and the restaurant very cosy. Our host, Mary, was extremely helpful and accommodating,providing my partner with a packed lunch as he was up very early and couldn't make breakfast. We were also given an extended check- out time for free which made life so much easier. Our luggage was held safely in reception whilst my partner completed the marathon and again, Mary carried our luggage to the car as we left. I have to say, I have stayed at many hotels and bnbs but not had nearly as good service as we had here. We will definitely return and recommend Sea- la- vie to our family and friends.
Once again, thank you Mary for making our stay so enjoyable

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 111Ceri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarragona, Spain
Level Contributor
134 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

When we arrived at this B&B we were delighted to find that we had been upgraded to a far superior room. Apparently this is normal practice if a room of a higher standard is free during your stay, you automatically get upgraded. Couldn't fault the cleanliness and we had lovely white fluffy towels. Although we only stayed for one breakfast during our 3 night break - it was lovely. On our last night as we were leaving at 6 am on the Sunday morning we were given Juice and some cereal bars and fruit to take with us (which was really thoughtful) and much appreciated. Would definitely return and recommend to everyone. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming - nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013

From the minute we arrived at this B&B the service was incredible. The staff were extremely friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. The rooms were fantastic!! I was staying with my mom who is a stickler for cleanliness and she was overwhelmed with the room. The standards were extremely high with the room and furnishings being incredible. Even the toiletries provided were lovely. My little sister currently lives in Portsmouth and I will make sure that every time I visit I stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room and it was beautiful and still a bargain!! Definitely worth the upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thanks so much for leaving us such a nice review about our Superior Room, we really appreciate you taking the time to do this and look forward to welcoming you back when you are next visiting your sister.

Best regards

All at Sea La Vie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed here a few days ago and although I was a bit apprehensive with it being a B&B, I needn't have worried.
I had booked a while ago as I was looking for accommodation in the area but some of the bigger hotels were full , but I was trying to find a place suitable for my husband who has mobility problems. The staff were really helpful as they made sure that they booked us into the right room on the ground floor ( he can walk but not lots of stairs etc)
The room was really big and bright, and was very newly decorated, it was fresh and classic and made a nice impression on us both.
Breakfast was very good, it was 2 doors down which was about 6 steps, so was fine (prob shorter then going from room to restaurant in most places!) managed to fill my face with the buffet, and hubby (who is fitness fanatic) managed to also do very well for someone super picky!

All in all, a great stay with super helpful staff, have stayed in the sister hotels on my other visits however would stay here again in a heartbeat, thanks again!

Room Tip: The ground floor room was bright and spacious and a good room for anyone with difficulty getting abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jody3432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are really pleased the room worked well for you and your husband. Indeed breakfast is very close to Sea La Vie and we glad you enjoyed the selection!

We look forward to welcoming you to another Mercer hotel soon,

Best regards

All at Sea La Vie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
701 reviews
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
645 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 38 in Portsmouth
654 reviews
0.0 mi away
Somerset House Hotel
Somerset House Hotel
#9 of 38 in Portsmouth
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant

Property: The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 6 Malvern Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NA, England (Formerly Sea La Vie)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique hotel, part of The Mercer Collection . All rooms have been furnished with lavish fabrics and are all en suites. Tea and Coffee facilities are available in the room. Free parking and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing