We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

My second visit to Sea La Vie and every but as good as the first. Very welcoming and efficient check in, comfortable, well-furnished room and an excellent breakfast. What more can you ask?
I will certainly com back when I am next in Portsmouth.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CockneyRebelEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your review. It is lovely for us to hear you describe the hotel as "very welcoming”, “comfortable” and that your breakfast was “excellent” as this is exactly what we aim for. Do not hesitate to contact us next time you are in the area and we will be thrilled to welcome you again for your third visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    51
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
43
222
16
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The accommodation was very clean, very quiet and very comfortable. Walking distance fron South Sea and a very quick bus ride to Portsmouth City and Gunwharf. A different experience for us as the facilities were spread across several houses. Accommodation in one, dining/breakfast in another but this was not an issue as the properties were very close to each other. Staff were more than helpful and very pleasant. Would stay again, however attention to detail..Sea la vie room 5 sort the curtains and replace the lightbulb in the over bed lighting! Having said that these are minor details and we will be back. A lovely experience overall so much to see and do in the area, we will be back and will book the same facilities again. Well done

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We weren't very impressed that the charge for our stay was taken out of our account weeks before we even got there unlike the usual practice where card details are taken, but not debited, until the bill has been paid. Like a previous guest we didn't like the arrangement that breakfast was next door to where we were staying. In our case we were lucky - the weather was fine but it wouldn't be pleasant in the rain/cold. In fact the information on booking.com where we booked is wrong as the impression is given that you eat in the hotel and that there is a bar there which there isn't. It's actually in the hotel next door. Breakfast was fine and the staff very pleasant and helpful. When we first arrived Mary, the Manager, was extremely efficient and helpful about sorting out a problem in our room and quickly re-located us to an upgraded one.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Sea La Vie is a clean, friendly and very cosy place! Thank you for all the staff who made our weekend special. We will definitely return to The Mercer Collection soon to enjoy amazing services you provide.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blueloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review and kind words. We are glad our staff made your stay here special and it’s always a pleasure to hear that guests will be returning to The Mercer Collection. Thanks again, we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We couldn't really fault this 'boutique' hotel. Staff were very friendly, our room was huge and the bed extremely comfortable. We will definitely stay here, or at one of the sister hotels, again. Compared with the chain hotels Sea La Vie proves you can have elegance and service at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your delightful review! We are pleased that you found the hotel to be elegant and a reasonable price compared with chain hotels. We are committed to providing our guests with an excellent boutique experience and we are glad to hear that you “couldn’t really fault” the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with The Mercer Collection. Many thanks and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this 'hotel' for a night, whilst we were in town to watch a concert. The place was not what was expected when we arrived; three converted houses next to each other, one with the Reception ( which required ringing the door bell to enter), one housing our breakfast room and the other housing our room.

On arrival, the Receptionist had no recollection of my having booked with them. Turns out they were missing a 'tab' out of their booking schedule, which can be described best as a handwritten piece of paper in a box file. Granted a hotel does not need a sophisticated booking system, but one that works would be a bonus.

The house we were staying in was immaculate; not a speck of dirt anywhere in a modern and stylish abode. Our room was number 5; at the top of Sea La Vie which was decorated superbly. The toilet and shower were fantastic and modern. he bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in!

The staff were largely inattentive at breakfast. We seated ourselves and were not asked for tea, coffee or toast, which were unavailable as part the average buffet on offer.

All in all, not a bad stay, but would expect a bit more organisation and service from a boutique as expensive as this.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed here for one night faultless service, accommodating and attentive staff could not fault room was lovely and bed very comfortable.
Breakfast was a delight as although not residents we were joined by my daughter mother a 2 friends staff considered our every need in the delightful dining room. Will definitely be sampling the evening menu.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review! It makes us really happy to read that you found the service “faultless” as well as the staff accommodating and attentive. We hope you will return and try our restaurant, thanks again for your feedback it is greatly appreciated, we are looking forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
709 reviews
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
650 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Somerset House Hotel
Somerset House Hotel
#9 of 38 in Portsmouth
339 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 38 in Portsmouth
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant

Property: The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 6 Malvern Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NA, England (Formerly Sea La Vie)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique hotel, part of The Mercer Collection . All rooms have been furnished with lavish fabrics and are all en suites. Tea and Coffee facilities are available in the room. Free parking and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing