We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent boutique hotel in Portsmouth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent boutique hotel in Portsmouth”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

A lovely hotel in Southsea, within walking distance to Portsmouth's attractions such as the Historic Dockyard. The hotel offers free parking for travellers and it is not necessary to use your car in Portsmouth whilst your visiting as you can walk everywhere and parking is not cheap in this city (parking is payable on bank holidays as well). The room was large with a 28" tv and also offered an additional bed for a child. Beautifully decorated with a large bathroom with a separate bath and shower so you could both use the bath and shower at the same time! Lots of choice for breakfast (cereals, fruit or cooked breakfast) with friendly service. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would recommend it to all. Portsmouth also turned out to be a perfect place to stay for a long weekend as the historic dockyard offers many attractions and it is worth buying the "all attractions tickets" which gives you entry for a year. It is not possible to visit all of the attractions in the dockyard in one day.

Room Tip: As the hotel is on a quiet residential street, there was no issue with noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitehalltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words! We are thrilled to hear you found your stay enjoyable and liked having both a bath and shower in your room. Thank you for recommending us- this is a huge compliment! We would be more than happy to accommodate you again so you can explore more of the dockyard and the many attractions Portsmouth has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    51
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
43
222
16
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2014

the staff in "hotel" and restaurant were very nice and helpful ,the room was really nice,but we did have to report that the glass shelf in the bathroom was very loose ,under the bed needed hovering and the sink plughole was dirty. on a good point the food and service in the restaurant was excellent,we would stay again.perhaps a few final checks to the rooms should be made before guests arrive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennis r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Thank you to all at sea la vie for making our trip so great. I have virtually lived in 5 star hotels all over the world for the last 30 years with my job and this is right up there. Food, staff, room, all were faultless. Would recommend to anybody

Room Tip: Go for the Florence suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are thrilled to hear that the hotel lived up to your expectations. We are also pleased to hear you describe the food, our team and the room as “faultless”. Knowing a guest would recommend us is a great compliment and we really do appreciate this! Thank you again for your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We were disappointed with the bedroom. Overall the "hotel" or B&B is of a high quality and the staff are friendly, but it seems the management is letting it down to not check rooms and maintain the high quality. It did not feel clean, with dirty marks on skirting and walls, stains on bed blanket, hairs on the linen, a thin worn duvet cover and no extra blankets if cold, which we were. We requested that they change the linen for us, which we waited for over 20 minutes in reception for them to do, and then it was still the same. In the night we were waken two times by other guests banging the entrance door on their way in and out. It was awful. It was difficult to get the shower hose to work. The breakfast was okay, small servings, half a mushroom(!), the muffin was under toasted and poached egg was under cooked. Not a good enough service for a four star standard.

Room Tip: If you want a good nights sleep, request a room that is far from the entrance door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankieDudecote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Beautiful room, clean, good size bathroom, quiet location yet convienient, quality food, huge comfy bed. I would definatley recommend staying here, I am definatley going back. Staff were amazing so helpful and polite. Very impressed and so was my partner. Thankyou very much.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mjcadle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review. It makes us really happy to read such nice things! We are indeed quietly tucked away yet close to Portsmouth’s main attractions and only a stone’s throw from the seafront. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us- this is what we love to hear. We were delighted to have you stay with us and would be more than happy to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I have stayed in many hotels over the years.... To many to list... But without a doubt this is the best bed I have ever slept in... It was excellent.... All the staff were very friendly, had a good sense of humour... They all helped to make my experience there outstanding... The food in the restaurant was outstanding...I could not recommend this hotel enough... BTW this is my first review. All other stays were not worth mentioning....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
We are delighted to hear you have taken the time to review our hotel and pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. It’s always a pleasure to read our guests describing the hotel as “excellent” and lovely to know that your experience here was “outstanding”! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we are pleased you found the hotel suited your needs. Please give us a call when you are in Portsmouth again and we will be more than happy to accommodate you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We originally booked a standard room in another 'mercer collection' hotel but upon check-in were upgraded to a room at Sea la Vie. My partner and I were a bit dubious at first however as soon as we were in the room our worries soon disappeared. We were in one of the top floor rooms which was very large (although size of the TV in comparison was tiny!) & absolutely loved the decor, the only drawback was the bathroom was a little on the small side. We both had a good night sleep & the bed was very comfortable however one morning we were woken up by people in the hallway however I think that was mostly down to how loud they were and not the fault of the hotel.

Breakfast was good, but I have had better & from the time of booking I fully understood this would be served in another property so had no issues with his. Although not having designated parking did mean we had to park a short walk from the hotel, this was no issue for us & the use of a parking permit is free so definitely no complaints. The hotel is also in a good location, minutes walk from the seafront & easy to get to Gunwharf Quays and Portsmouth Town centre on foot

Over all we had a very good trip & would have no hesitations in recommending this place!!

Room Tip: Top floor superior kings room was great for retro inspired decor & large amount of room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genty91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
709 reviews
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
650 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Somerset House Hotel
Somerset House Hotel
#9 of 38 in Portsmouth
339 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#7 of 38 in Portsmouth
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant

Property: The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 6 Malvern Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NA, England (Formerly Sea La Vie)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique hotel, part of The Mercer Collection . All rooms have been furnished with lavish fabrics and are all en suites. Tea and Coffee facilities are available in the room. Free parking and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing