We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable with good food and service”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Ranked #303 of 686 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: US$5 - US$24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located in the village of Horndean, the Red Lion serves a diverse seasonal menu of freshly cooked, classic British pub dishes. We're proud of our homely and welcoming atmosphere and broad selection of drinks, including tempting wines, well kept beers and refreshing soft drinks. Plus, we're situated close to Charles Dickens' birthplace and St John's Cathedral - perfect for days out. We hope to see you soon!
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stopped off here after a visit to the local nursery, to get some lunch. We were greeted cordially and shown to our seats. The service was friendly and unhurried. The food was good, we had a variety of dishes. The staff were attentive without being overbearing. A nice place to have lunch. Ample parking and a beer garden too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PortsmouthNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael O, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Hi Norman,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate it.

I hope you had the opportunity to make use of our Value lunch time offers?

We've just had a new furniture put into the beer garden you mentioned.

If you would be so kind as to let me know a few more details about your visit - redlion.portsmouth@whitbread.com I can send the praise in the right direction and perhaps offer a good will gesture to thank you for your time

thanks again

MIchael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 231 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

Been in here twice since the place has had a recent refit. The food is excellent great choice and very tasty.

Thank Geoff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Popped in to the Red Lion in Cosham with a friend mid-week lunchtime. Loads of seating. Good, new, varied menu. Good food. Good price. Good service. If you give them your email details you get 20% off future food orders. Would go back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lozziebish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Visited on spec weekday evening, table for 2 . Warm welcome, and very good service from our waiter. Food is budget priced and is mass produced but actually was pretty good and good value. So midweek it makes a change from cooking at home and loading the dishwasher! Serves Costa coffee- good if you like it not so if you don't.
There is a Premier Inn very nearby and a few local shops. Queen Elizabeth country park is a short drive up the road and many pretty villages of Hampshire are all around.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tezpil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael O, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback, I'm glad you had a pleasant visit.
The team and I would love to get some more details about your visit so we can pass on the credit to your waiter and chefs. If you would like to then just drop us an email at Redlion.portsmouth@whitbread.com.

Hopefully see you soon!

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

It's fair to say that the food was adequate, rather than good. The portions were smaller than average for a pub meal, accompanied by just a tablespoon of peas and a few chips. The chips were of poor quality. The puddings were somewhat better and the service was quite good. It could only be classed as good value for money if the portions were a bit more generous. On the upside, this did allow you room to enjoy the puddings. The interior has, I understand, been fairly recently revamped and I liked it. The design means that you hardly see the other diners, though you hear them. We were there for a weekday lunchtime and it was not too busy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael O, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Hi Michael,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit. It's sounds like overall you had a good experience. Feedback helps us improve what we do .

Perhaps you could email me and tell me a little more about your experience such as what food you had and who served you.

Redlion.portsmouth@Whitbread.com

Thanks again

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Horndean, Waterlooville
Horndean, Waterlooville
 
Waterlooville, Hampshire
Horndean, Waterlooville
 
Waterlooville, Hampshire
Waterlooville, Hampshire
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing