We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it”

Dockyard Apprentice
Ranked #31 of 118 things to do in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Falaise, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

A lovely visit. I really enjoyed it. I was born in the area and it brought back memories of my youth. It showed ordinary people's lives and work.

Helpful?
Thank rebecalvanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    35
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“apprentice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Not much happening really, went through in about 5 mins. Needs more about the real life of becoming an apprentice and serving your time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Good exhibition telling the stories of the various apprentices who have worked in the dockyards and the tools they would have used; gives you a real insight into the history of the people who worked there.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JEL219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It's about 'Craftsmanship'!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

This visit was a revisit for me and for anyone who hasn't seen it may I thoroughly recommend it! For anyone these days that like me has served a proper formal trade apprenticeship it will no doubt jog the memory. There are a good many examples of apprentices work pieces on display that show the high exacting standards required of the Admiralty.
The displays are informative with plenty of illustration and commentary. It's not just about Craftsmanship, it's about skill, pride and ingenuity, above all else it's about what HM Dockyard Portsmouth used to do!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mablethorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

goes from the first days of porsmouth ship building to the present day,very interesting the history of portsmouth dockyard and the changes over the centuries and the amount of people that were once employed there,allthe tools they used are on display along with the historyand all for free.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Roythefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dockyard Apprentice also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Dockyard Apprentice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing