We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst visit ever to Wagamama - SLOW” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wagamama

Wagamama
Ranked #61 of 634 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats, View
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Worst visit ever to Wagamama - SLOW”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I usually love this brand for the food and service and sadly on Good Friday this visit to Wagamama in Gunwharf was disappointing. they were not as busy as some restaurants of the same chain hence I feel let down by this outlet - which sadly is closest to home.

Great menu, I love this style of food.

One word to describe the visit was slow and the staff were indifferent when asked what the hold up was - told there were alot of orders on which is not really my problem as a customer and from previous visits i know not to be the usual service style.

We ordered drinks and a starter to share - then left quite a gap before ordering the main courses. I know that the service style food is served as it it ready so the meal is not the usual structured service.

We recevied after drinks after a wait of nearly 10 minutes, then after what seemed ages asked about the starter dish and were then told food is served when it is ready. One main arrived, then the starter and then after a while the second main. I noticed on the table near to us, he had finished his meal when his friends main arrived - not the ideal lunch experience.

Service recovery was not great and this made it worse. Not sure i would return as many other restaurant options available in the area. Shame.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GlamNik7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    116
    54
    31
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Rubbish”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Over priced food. You are better off going to a local takeaway. Seating s like a canteen. Best for students.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Javier1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of the few chains I rate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Wagamama in my opinion is about fresh Japanese food, cooked fresh using a limited range of food types but with various ingredient selections and it does this well.

The team in Portsmouth are pleasant, give good service and the food is of the usual high standard. There is also a nice outdoor section which being on the upper deck gives a great view of the harbour.

This isn't the type of place to go for a formal meal as the dishes will come out as they are ready and so in a party of four you might have a few minutes wait between each persons food arriving but that is no inconvenience and is worth it for the fresh food.

In general the food has a clean, vibrant flavour and look to it. However, I have a major dislike of the curries which I found heavy, cloying and way to sweet so wouldn't recommend them although that's a personal view as plenty eat them!

If you do wish to eat here its best to avoid the peak times although if a queue does build up it generally clears quite quickly.

So in summary, if you wan't something different to the usual fare in a relaxed and casual environment then this is a good place to come.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It was great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Not a great lover of chains but we decided to give it a try, service was spot on, food was very nice, a real nice surprise is all I can say, will be going there again. Give it a try is all I can say.

Helpful?
Thank Sammybear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointingly Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Cold Squid, Ok Duck Gyoza and ok main course.. The chicken Katsu curry.. Tasty but not worth the £11 price tag. Having heard rave reviews about wagamams I had high hopes which were smashed down.
Can't fault the service hence the £4 tip from £33 bill :-)

Helpful?
Thank UnofficialFoodCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wagamama also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Wagamama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing