We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is closed”

Southsea Model Village
Ranked #42 of 127 things to do in Portsmouth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Southsea Model Village is a 1/12th scale village built in 1956. We are located on Southsea seafront next to the canoe lake and rose gardens. Just 30 seconds walk from the beach. There is also ample parking only 100 yards walk away. The model village is a delightful place to spend time for both young and old. We have a Toy Museum with toys from the past and present. An interactive miniature model fairground. The Rifleman's Tunnel which is 125ft long and holds our scale handmade model of Portsmouth Guildhall and Spinnaker Tower. Also our large g scale railway with Thomas And Friends,chugging around the Village which is especially enjoyed by our younger visitors. Not forgetting our own Castle over looking the Solent with wonderful views for miles, a perfect spot for a picnic. We have a great Snack Bar on site serving ice cream,hot & cold food, including Chips, hot dogs ,homemade gourmet burgers and baguettes with fillings of your choice all freshly made.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It is closed”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Tried to go one Sunday in December but it was closed. Websites we visited said it was open (their own site was down). They could have put some opening time info at the entrance.

Helpful?
3 Thank mipra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    21
    19
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maldon
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Shame it was closed”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

A classic seaside attraction that we visit once a year in September when we visit Southsea. It will charm adults and children alike, and no, it doesn't need modernising because it is meant to depict English rural life as it used to be.

I would have awarded 5 stars but for the fact that it was closed on a busy, sunny Saturday atfernoon when the website says it should be open to 6 o'clock!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaldonGastronomie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellant”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Really cheap place to waste a morning or afternoon children love it! Adults can also get a bit of a chuckle if they keep their eyes peeled for some of the tiny signs where children will not understand the joke

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great for very young children”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My 3 and 5 year old LOVE this place and we've been visiting regularly since they could walk. There is a train track running around the village with Thomas and Henry doing circuits of the track, and they find it hilarious to chse the little trains. The models are all very old, and the place looks tired, but for the very cheap entrance ticket it's a good way to spend an hour or 2 amusing toddlers. If you have any interest in military History then this place is fascinating just for the tunnels and pill boxes dotted around it which are all intact. There is a nice picnic spot with a lovely view and a little model castle at the top of a small hill. Please be aware there are NO toliet facilities, and the nearest public loos are on the other side of Canoe lake, which is a fair walk for a toddler who is desperate!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JessicaRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good place to visit on a hot sunny day”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My dad took me here when I was a kid and to be honest I thought it shut down years ago!
Took my girlfriend here and she loved it. Be good if they brought it into the 21st century. Some of models need a bit of attention.

I would recommend people to take their kids here.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TerenceCarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southsea Model Village also viewed

 

Been to Southsea Model Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing