We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money with friendly staff and relaxed atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fat Fox

The Fat Fox
Ranked #176 of 634 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$11
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value for money with friendly staff and relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Music is great and creates a nice relaxed vibe. We came to watch the World Cup so it's great to sit on comfy sofas and watch the football on the big screen. Then food was excellent nachos has so much sour cream I was so impressed... And sausage and mash great value and loads of it! Also the man behind the bar has been really helpful and friendly - great service ! Thanks fat fox

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    13
    6
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not bad but in no rush to return.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

There was not a lot to choose from on the menu. My husband had sausage and mash and I had a sandwich. The food was okay but nothing special. We both felt that we could have had exactly the same at home. I did not feel very comfortable in there. It was very dark and had mismatched furniture which was not very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and the price of the food was reasonable.

If I was back in the area and just needed a quick bite to eat I would not object to eating here again but I would not go out of my way to go back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Relaxed and intimate bar overlooking Albert Road”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

The Fat Fox is a traditional looking pub located just off Albert Road in Southsea. This place offers a wide selection of real ales and quality bottled ciders, alongside your favorite draught lager, cider and spirits.
They also have a traditional 'pub grub' menu, all of which is homemade from fresh ingredients. Their Bangers & Mash are the best I have ever tasted in the area. In addition to this they also have live bands.
Relaxed and intimate bar overlooking Albert Road.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alex65651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This Lady's and Gentlemen is a real pub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Having the displeasure, entertainment, and experience of working for / being subcontracted to many "chain" pubs all across Britain, over the past 6 to 7 years, it's great to find a pub like the Fat Fox in Portsmouth....!

The food is great, the service, staff and management are fantastic, there are huge amounts of great staff that work for "chain" pubs, but the fun of going out to a great pub, with good staff, is often sucked out of the venue, by overly corporate management, and the beige politically correct mob's do's and don'ts....!

This is not the case at the Fox, if you enjoy a good laugh, great food, and a laid back atmosphere then the Fox is the pub for you, by far the best run venue in Portsmouth, unleash your "chains" and go to the Fox......:)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank T0m84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food and atmosphere. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Went here for lunch, ordered the beef burger. Food came within 10mins and was fantastic. Friends left and spent 30 mins talking to the staff. Very friendly. Would highly recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fat Fox also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to The Fat Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing