We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Matt”
Review of Spice Village

Spice Village
Ranked #533 of 765 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Shocking wait for food!!
Table booked for 7 and food wasn’t with us at 20:45!
Drinks took way too long to get to us.
Never going back there.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 893bobbya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2018

Came here for an early dinner just after opening time. I am glad we came early as it did get very busy, especially with people coming in for take-aways and they seemed to be waiting a while. I have also since read the reviews that say how long people have waited for food.
Luckily we did not have to wait that long and what we had was delicious.
The poppadoms are lovely and fresh but I think they are too expensive.
The staff members are nice but you can see they are very busy so they definitely need to get some more staff, It did take a while for someone to take our main order and then we waited a while for the bill!
Go early to avoid the crowds!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RachaelKnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

Ordered online, turned up at our designated time slot to pick up. Had to wait over an hour for my order, which was wrong and had to be redone. Just happened to meet friends who were eating in the restaurant, they had just waited nearly two hours for their food. I would not recommend this restaurant for eating in or takeaway!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

Ok, the food isn't bad but the arrogance and lack of customer emphathy is shocking! Two basic ingredients make up all curries. Curry sauce and garam masala. If enough is prepared in advanced, a curry takes minutes to make. Either the chefs are not managed properly or they are lazy. Either way it should not take that long to serve a curry. The front of house service lacks management and direction and that is very apparent if you observe. Simply put, it is chaotic. All the staff are bothered about is making money, they don't care about the customers night out. If you want a curry that is just as good, try the Balti House Take Away near by in the estate and save yourself an evening of waiting around.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Dustrul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018

Great food. Subtle authentic spices. Ordered take-away and it was ready to go a minute after I arrived. Place was packed out - so busy! Timings given are much better and I was actually welcomed at reception and advised about how long for the food - this is much better than in the past when their kids were on reception! The food is cooked to order so you will have to wait for it (30 - 40 mins), otherwise go elsewhere for food already cooked on a conveyer belt. 10/10

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mepart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice Village also viewed

Emsworth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Waterlooville, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Wickham, Hampshire
 

Been to Spice Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing