We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”
Review of Spice Village

Spice Village
Ranked #529 of 762 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 15 October 2018

Booked early to hopefully miss the delays. When we arrived there was a lot of people waiting - this turned out to be take away, which appeared to take priority. Food excellent, waitresses do not have a clue, ours could not even understand rose wine, 2 waitresses later I finally managed to get a glass, but had to have a glass of water in between because that took 35 mins. Had to ask 4 times for the bill. Will not be returning. I honestly thought they would have sorted this out.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank bigshaz2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2018

Having been to this restaurant several times,i would have thought they would have sorted out their (teething problems).Had booked a table for 7.30 we arrived just before,they had taken our drink order,and then we waited and waited and waited.40 minutes later we were served our drinks.Then the food was ordered,again we waited and waited and waited. 9.40 we were served our food. The service is diabolical!!! Will not be returning!!!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sally w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Shocking wait for food!!
Table booked for 7 and food wasn’t with us at 20:45!
Drinks took way too long to get to us.
Never going back there.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 893bobbya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018

Came here for an early dinner just after opening time. I am glad we came early as it did get very busy, especially with people coming in for take-aways and they seemed to be waiting a while. I have also since read the reviews that say how long people have waited for food.
Luckily we did not have to wait that long and what we had was delicious.
The poppadoms are lovely and fresh but I think they are too expensive.
The staff members are nice but you can see they are very busy so they definitely need to get some more staff, It did take a while for someone to take our main order and then we waited a while for the bill!
Go early to avoid the crowds!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RachaelKnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

Ordered online, turned up at our designated time slot to pick up. Had to wait over an hour for my order, which was wrong and had to be redone. Just happened to meet friends who were eating in the restaurant, they had just waited nearly two hours for their food. I would not recommend this restaurant for eating in or takeaway!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice Village also viewed

Emsworth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Wickham, Hampshire
Waterlooville, Hampshire
 

Been to Spice Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing