We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food amazing, servers good but...”

Koh Thai Tapas Southsea
Ranked #25 of 655 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$33
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food amazing, servers good but...”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I went to koh Thai last week. I have walked past it a lot and this time decided to go in and see what it was like.

First off we weren't sure what was going on then we had a confident server come to us and take us to a table. This server saved the day in our minds. She explained the menu confidently and really listened to our likes and dislikes to help ensure we had a brilliant meal. The drinks were quick food came out as a good time. The food, without doubt, was incredible. Just so so good.

My only down side was that there were times that we had to wait longer than others for table clearing and food even though we had been sat there longer than others. One big negative was that we were able to over hear some servers talking about their night out (which is fine) what was a little off putting was the fact we could hear some details best left private.

All that said the food was brilliant and I would go there again and even more likely to order out.

Helpful?
Thank Food L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    195
    72
    23
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yet again another great visit!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We visited this restaraunt on our third visit again last Saturday night and yet again we had another excellent meal. The service and the food were excellent. Would definitely recommend this place.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
675 reviews
385 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Great food and helpful service”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Had a very nice meal and was impressed with the decor. Staff were very helpful in talking us through the menu and explaining the options. We choice the £25 a head and they selected dishes based on our likes and preferences. Looking forward to going back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great authentic thai”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The food at Koh Thai is delicious. We had the tasting menu for £25 a head and chose a few dishes that had been recommended to us. Everything tasted fantastic and there was more food then we could eat. The atmosphere is lovely with lots of dark wood and some spacious seating. I would say the service we received was average as it took a while to get waiters attention, even though it wasn't busy. However this did not affect our experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hcoe21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Visited Koh a few days ago, was greeted on the door very pleasantly by a young woman before being shown to our table. We went for the tasting option that they have. It was £25 per person and we were told that this would consist of some of the tapas dishes as a starter followed by some curries, stir-frys and noodle dishes to follow. Having been to a few thai restaurants we knew what sort of thing to expect but when the food came out we were astonished at the variety and size of the portions. The Dim Sum was amazing and really packed a punch! Once those were done the table was cleared within 2 mins and the mains got to us within 10 mins after, which was just enough time for us settle and get ready for the treat that was is store! The mains were just as good as the tapas if not better, my favourite being the duck tamarind, something I've never had before but will definitely have again. All the food was delicious and piping hot. The service was great, informative, enthusiastic but not intrusive and quite obviously well rehearsed/ trained. We were informed that the chefs are Thai which really shines through in the authenticity of the food. The drinks often get left out in these things but the mai thai I had was very good, just the right mix of sweet and sour with a chilli kick! The Staff and management seem to work together very well to orchestrate what looked to be a full restaurant with others waiting at the bar to be seated.

I like a lot of people use trip advisor but have never written on it and having read some of the reviews I am surprised that there are a few bad reviews for Koh on here. Although having read them and worked in the trade myself, it is apparent that a lot of people instead of saying something while actually in the restaurant, where the problem can usually be rectified, harbour their bad experience until they get home when they can vent it over a keyboard to make themselves feel better! I guess this is a product of the society we live in today and what I would say to anyone reading trip advisor is that more people who have a bad experience will write on it than those who have a good one. Its a shame because places like Koh thai really deserve to be higher in the standings.

Well done Koh Thai, you are fresh, funky and a breath of fresh air in an industry that can so often get bogged down in commercialisation! We will definitely be back soon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Koh Thai Tapas Southsea also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Koh Thai Tapas Southsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing