We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure what John Lewis is really saying here.”
Review of Knight & Lee

Knight & Lee
Ranked #211 of 651 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
669 reviews
385 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Not sure what John Lewis is really saying here.”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Decided to stop off for coffee as personal getting a bit board of to high street coffee houses and the shappy Chic Southsea coffee shops. Place is clean and tidy but sooooooo dated. Menu looked like it was off the ark and the latte I got was about the worst ever. Drunk up and left quickly due to the amount of stuck up parents with their out of control children. Think this place needs a make over and very soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    11
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Everything you need in one shop”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

And not as expensive as Argos!

Love everything about this place, you can literally get everything you need here for the home.

Great staff too

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ellsbellscresdeebum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Huntspill, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Your poor staff!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I went shopping in knight and lee last week (top floor, children's wear)

It was SUFFOCATING!!!!!!!!!
I thought a company of your magnitude would have some consideration for your staff and customer's and have some type of air conditioning, I guess I have completely misjudged John Lewis altogether.
I hope to god your staff can make it through the summer without any serious illnesses!!!
As for me, I might be back when the weather cools down a bit, you know, in the winter!!!!

From a VERY disappointed customer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
196 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Staff helpful, just slightly annoyed with decor”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Beauty counters are set up in the weirdest day, staff often not available, products out of stock. Not easy to find your way around the store. Needs a complete renovation, it is way behind modern shopping.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank janab007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Setting the standard”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I am a regular customer to Knight and Lee, I cannot fault the friendliness of the staff, the excellent choice and the impeccable service they provide. However, the hidden gem of the store has to be the restaurant.

Whether your peckish and fancy a cooked meal or just want an indulgent treat to accompany your tea/coffee, the restaurant offers a delightful choice to satisfy every need.

I recently visited and as always, was greeted by the friendly waitresses, whom are extremely clued up on the menu and what is recommended to try. However on this occasion, could not resist the traditional welsh rarebit. Must try if you like a posh cheese and toast!

There is a wonderful selection of homemade cakes on view, as a fan of home baking myself, I wondered why there is no option to offer recipe cards for those who wish to reciprocate such creations.

A suggestion could be to promote Waitrose recipe cards along with Waitrose baking products with the incentive of discount off said products when purchasing baked goods in the restaurant. This would ultimately promote the home baked cakes in the restaurant and the baking ingredients sold in Waitrose. It is a win win situation for the paying customer and John Lewis.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonnyN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Knight & Lee also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Knight & Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing