We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick bite” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wine Vaults

The Wine Vaults
Ranked #231 of 634 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quick bite”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Visited for a quick snack. Staff we're really friendly, but service was slow and starters came with the main course. We ordered prossecco and Pinot Grigio - unfortunately both were awful.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    37
    24
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“overpriced and kitchenroll as napkins!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Hi
I am a local but haven't been to the Wine Vaults for ages. Used to be good so thought I'd give it another go with my friend. Menu looked interesting (if confusing - prawn salad heading with a description that talks about calamari). Ordered pulled pork burrito and falafel and spinach burger with a side salad to share. Burrito (£11) was quite nice and came with a lot of nachos (carb loaded), burger looked good but was a little dry, salad had grated cheese on top!?
We sat in the pub area and tried few tables before found one that wasn't wobbly. Food arrived in reasonable time and staff friendly. No napkins so we asked for some and when the guy returned he gave us a whole kitchen roll. Not the best....

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank louisaw78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Drinks and declined food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

The Wine Vaults is a large pub in Albert Road. The outside has recently been repainted but the pavement approach is pretty rough as are the swing doors into the pub. The inside is huge and really scruffy - perhaps it's an attempt at grunge. There are various drinking and eating areas. We went to the outside little terrace at the back of the pub. Horrible. Old Christmas trees, litter on the terrace, left overs on the tables. Missing an opportunity to have a really delightful outside seating area. The loos are disgusting, admittedly not as smelly as they used to be!!. I had a chance to look into the kitchen which is pretty basic and the door and paved area outside the kitchen is filthy. What a shame. Could be lovely with a bit of effort.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Dire”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

The service and food we experienced here was the worst I have encountered in years. The three of us arrived at 6pm and were asked not to sit at a particular table as it was about to be occupied. We sat elsewhere and were soon approached by a waitress who took our drinks order. The first drink we asked for was a milkshake for my granddaughter. No milkshakes available. We ordered a coke instead, declining the offer of ice. She soon returned with the ice-laden coke to take our food order!
30 minutes later another waitress arrived and asked if we would like to order anything. She replied that ours was just coming when told we had been waiting for half an hour.
A couple at the next table who had arrived 20 minutes after us were already enjoying their meal.
10 minutes later 2 of our meals arrived. When asked if we would like anything else, we said yes, our third meal, please.
By this time we had started to eat our 2 meals. One was a Yankee Burger. A small portion of overcooked (almost burnt) dry chicken breast with a lettuce leaf and salsa in a bun, served with a portion of lukewarm chips.
My meal was a Sloppy Jo Burger. This was a rather gristly lump of mince in a bun served with the same lukewarm chips.
The third meal arrived and was equally disappointing. A Meat Feast Pizza described as Cajun chicken, pepperoni, maple glazed ham, mixed peppers & spicy BBQ sauce. The ham and chicken were tiny cubes of meat, the base was a claggy dough and the sauce was sickly sweet and excessive. The onion rings ordered as a side dish were very greasy.
We were approached by a waitress who asked if everything was ok. She was very apologetic and said she would speak to a manager.
She returned shortly to say that we would not be charged for the food, only the drinks. We had not eaten more than two mouthfuls each, in any case.
Had the meals been up to an acceptable standard, they would still have been very expensive for what they were. Nearly £40 for 2 burgers and a pizza.
It wasn't until we had left that I realised that the cost of a pint of lager and a large coke (with or without ice!) was £6.70.
I was in central London recently and these prices exceeded those I paid there.
When we left, the table we were originally going to occupy was still empty.
The only favourable comments I could make are that the request for no peppers on the pizza was met, and there was no hassle regarding payment or otherwise for the meals. However, was this because it wasn't unexpected?
No criticism of the waitresses who were pleasant and polite (and apologetic) at all times.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Flantheman2334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWine V, Manager at The Wine Vaults, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
I am so sorry to hear about your experience at The Vaults. We did have a fully booked Restaurant on the evening in question, however this is not an excuse for the delay in the arrival of your food or the lack of quality of the food which is simultaneously inexcusable, i can assure you i have spoken to Chefs working on the evening in question to make sure this does not happen again.
Please once again accept my sincerest apologies regarding your evening and please feel free to contact me personally on 02392 864 712 if you wish to discuss the issue further and i hope that this event does not dissuade you from using The Vaults in the future.

All your feedback has been appreciated and will be used to improve the dining experience at the The Vaults in the future.

Apologies once again.

Adam Greeman
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good service and nice food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Visited this place to meet with our software team based in Southsea and pleasantly surprised with the service and venue. Set in a good location and offering a good range of wine and beers. Food is great and portions huge!

Helpful?
Thank Aniljain01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wine Vaults also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to The Wine Vaults? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing