We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic cafe bar on the marina”
Review of Marina bar & cafe

Marina bar & cafe
Ranked #107 of 645 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
90 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Classic cafe bar on the marina”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This cafe is right by the marina so you get a mix of sailing folk and beach or local folk. The food is good, traditional cafe grub, with the added bonus of a bar. Lots of tables outside if the weather is good and lots of tables and sofas inside for evening (or rain). Friendly staff, unpretentious, lovely view of the marina. Especially good if you come back from sailing or the beach starving!!

Helpful?
Thank Ydnewyrrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    24
    9
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best English Breakfast. Best Service.”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

You just can not fault the Big Breakfast that we often sample down at the Marina Bar . By far the best breakfast in the town..

All the staff are very friendly and chatty and the location is second to none.

Just nice to sit out side and have a few drinks when the currant bun is shinning.

The OASIS of Ferry road.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Siddy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Friendly cafe with good views”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

It doesn't look much from the outside, and the interior isn't inspiring, but it's a very friendly place with good views of the marina, and the food is good and reasonably priced. The staff are very helpful, and there's plenty of room inside and out. Just the place for a walk or drive.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Friendly service, good food”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We decided to pop in on the off chance after a walk along the seafront and we weren't disappointed. Lovely to look out over the marina with some tasty food; and very friendly service too!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice for Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Visited here on a Sunday in December with family , we were advised to book but it was nearly empty when we arrived , it got busier towards 1pm though. We ordered drinks and were seated , very polite waitress/bar staff , chose from the "specials" board , Pork roast , beef roast ,2 x beef and ale pie and a lamb shank. The roasts were ample and came with vegetables on the side which were carrots , broccoli and red cabbage which was delicious, the pies came with puff pastry lids that were huge and perhaps too huge ,the lamb shank served with red wine and rosemary jus looked divine. We were asked what sauces we required to accompany our meals and a plate of mint , horseradish , mustard and apple all appeared ... nice touch .... All in all a nice meal , friendly staff and a lovely setting ... will definitely be back !!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Codmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marina bar & cafe also viewed

 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Marina bar & cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing