We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit with my wife”
Review of HMS Victory

HMS Victory
Book In Advance
More Info
US$46.45*
and up
Brighton and Portsmouth Full-Day Tour from Oxford
Ranked #4 of 117 things to do in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Luxor, Egypt
Level Contributor
196 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Visit with my wife”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

When in Portsmouth a visit to HMS Victory is a must, Step back in time when you board, wonderful guided tour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Observer1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,062 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,528
    403
    93
    26
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Living history at Portsmouth”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Being a naval history buff, I spent a couple of happy hours wandering slowly through HMS Victory. It was fascinating to see how the crew of 821 lived in very confined quarters, with even hammocks strung up in the dark and dingy orlop, where the cables were stored. The staff on board were courteous and keen to answer questions and explain the working aspects of this ship. This is a must for family outings.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank meikant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Leopoldo, RS
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We realy enjoyed the visit. It's a very good program to do with childrens too. You will feel yourself as a Pirate in a big ship.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jamilehallam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Dockyards experience”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Victory, the flagship of Horatio Nelson, is a great treat for both adults and children. It was the second shp we visited along with the HMS Warrior, and Mary Rose in her new Museum.

The ship is undergoing repairs presently but the entire ship and all her decks, main deck thru the lower decks are all open for viewing.

We also visited the Warrior built 100 years later and one can compare the two ships as well as the sunken Mary Rose built 400 years earlier. It is well worth viewing .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Russell J. R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Well laid out, lots of interest for all ages. Good information plaques and easy to imagine what life on board must have felt like.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed HMS Victory also viewed

 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to HMS Victory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing