We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Sunday Roast!”
Review of Yellow Kite - CLOSED

Yellow Kite
Cuisines: American, Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: A unique independant cafe housed in a Tudor castle run as a social enterpise and committed to great food, fair-trade while enabling free entry to the castle. Complimented by a fabulous champagne bar held every Friday evening at the castle and a well respected event business.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic Sunday Roast!”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We visited the Yellow Kite cafe at Southsea Castle and had the most amazing Sunday roast, big portions but managed to squeeze in some homemade chocolate brownie for dessert!! Would definitely recommend. Wine and beer available or coffee/tea. Staff were lovely and helpful. It was the perfect place to warm up on the seafront. The museum parts of the Castle are closed at the moment for winter but the cafe is open at the weekends for brunch and a roast on Sunday's. I also noticed they have Christmassy Champagne bars on Fridays through December which will be perfect to get into the Christmas spirit! The Champagne bars at the Castle through the summer were always a fab night and we saw some wonderful sunsets!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Gem of a cafe!”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The castle is worth a visit but the added gem is the Yellow Kite Café! We had a piece of delicious beetroot and poppy seed cake on our last visit and a coffee that you could refill if you wanted to. It was a crisp cold day but the café was lovely and warm, clean and it had very friendly staff. The cakes are homemade, there are a variety of foods on offer and it is worth knowing that dog walkers are allowed to take their pooches into the last room! There are toilets as well that were clean if not a little dated! We look forward to going again to sample another piece of homemade cake or even have a meal there. I have been told there are special events on a Friday through December that are worth going to!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
148 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“We only had a coffee, but that was just fine.”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Nice outdoor sitting area.
Cooked meals available, which from the menu (and what I could see of the kitchen) would be quite satisfactory.
near to the D-Day Museum.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank CountrysideBasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great cafe in Southsea Castle”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Well, unless you were visiting the castle, you probably wouldn't find this cafe. It is situated in the courtyard, and it isn't very big, and we arrived in time for morning coffee. There was a good selection of home made cakes, and we sampled the scones and a flapjack. The scone was very fresh, though a bit short of raisins,, and the flapjack was beautifully moist. One of the best I have tasted. Coffee was excellent.
The D Day museum stands in front of the castle, and we noticed that it also had a Yellow Kite cafe attached.
We would have liked to be there for lunch, as the menu looked good. They also offer a child's menu, and a Sunday roast lunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fabian735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FAREHAM, HAMPSHIRE, U.K.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not much choice”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Everything looks nice but doesn't cater for kids. It does have a kids menu but it is the sort of food everyone would like their kids to eat but they never do. Because of this, we were unable to eat here. Just a small tip for anyone in this sort of business. Try to smile at customers. A smile goes a long way.

Helpful?
Thank Mikeyja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yellow Kite also viewed

 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing