We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why is there always a problem?”
Review of Yellow Kite - CLOSED

Yellow Kite
Cuisines: British
Description: A unique independant cafe housed in a Tudor castle run as a social enterpise and committed to great food, fair-trade while enabling free entry to the castle. Complimented by a fabulous champagne bar held every Friday evening at the castle and a well respected event business.
Restaurant details
Description: A unique independant cafe housed in a Tudor castle run as a social enterpise and committed to great food, fair-trade while enabling free entry to the castle. Complimented by a fabulous champagne bar held every Friday evening at the castle and a well respected event business.
LONDON
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Why is there always a problem?”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Yellow Kite have the advantage of the cafe in Southsea castle, a superb venue, with indoor and outdoor seating and good access.
The problem is that every time we go there is something wrong.
One reason may be the continual change of staff. They are for ever training new staff. It is unusual to see the waiting staff from once visit to the next and the friendly chef has gone. This has to be a management problem.
Given that they don't make their cakes, bought in from 30 miles away, and the sometime poor reception, I ask my self why I keep going back?
Maybe nice for the staff to have the music up loud first thing in the morning but it can be annoying to have to ask for the banging beat to be turned down every time.
There are two new cafes being built on the sea front within in 1 mile, both will have far better sea views, and the tennis pavilion at less than 300m, so they should try harder to provide the service……with a smile. The scowl from the kitchen, as in 'huh customers' is off-putting.
Reads as a bit of a moan but I am trying to give an honest review.
But coffee is 'free refill'. And is a pleasant filter.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CERDIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YellowKite, Manager at Yellow Kite, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
We know the normal corporate response should be something along the lines of....'We are sorry our normal high standards have not been met on this occasion.....' But, we're not a bank or an electricity company. We are human, we work hard to please all our customers and we always do our best. Sometimes service isn't perfect, but then neither is life. We make it as good as it can be for the thousands of visitors we have every season. Just a tiny point on the mention of the staff,over 50% of the team are going into their second or third season with us, no mean feat for a seasonal business and yes some of our delicous cakes including the luscious lemon come from a great bakery in Bognor (which is perhaps 30 miles away ) while the others are either cooked by us on site or provided by a local organic baker based in Old Portstmouth. We order the lemon cake in with a particular nod to this reviewer as we know he likes it. What's that thing about pleasing all of the people, all of the time?
The Yellow Kite Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Our first visit this year to the Yellow Kite Cafe, located inside one of Henry 8th's castles on the coast at Portsmouth. We were surprised to discover that they had decided to stay open through the winter, what have we missed! Entry to the castle is free and provides a unique setting where you can choose to sit on benches in the courtyard or in snug alcoves under the ramparts. While you wait to order at the counter you can watch the chefs at work or drool over the yummy cakes on display. It is a small but interesting menu. We went for the toasted sour dough bread with fresh mackerel pate and the same bread again with bacon, lettuce, tomato & avocado, with some quality crisps as an extra & filter coffee with free refills. The food is brought to you and the staff were really friendly and efficient. The taste and quality of the food was excellent and we had to avoid afternoon tea and cake later as the portions were quite large!

As well as the Cafe, there is a free access museum, a play room with dressing up clothes for kids, a small gift shop and a marquee for functions, all within the castle walls. Outside you have a whole variety of activities to choose from to help burn off the calories! Can't wait for the next visit!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Venue For Meeting Friends For Coffee And Chat”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The only place I know that tops up filter coffee without charging extra and you're allowed to linger for a while.

Situated inside the walls of Henry VIII's castle it's an atmospheric setting.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stopped for lunch. Had delicious wraps, both freshly made and very tasty. Hot chocolate could have been in a mug!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cs030cs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Yellow Kite”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

The Yellow Kite provided a great bacon sandwich and excellent Latte. We returned for lunch and were pleasantly pleased with a nice glass of wine and a good menu choice including a beautiful homemade lemon cake. Set us up nicely for our tour of the D Day museum and a few pints later. Highly recomend

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paddy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yellow Kite also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing