We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem!”
Review of Harbour View Cafe - CLOSED

Harbour View Cafe
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I normally prefer to eat in pub/restaurants but for a change decided to call in here guessing that our usual haunts would be packed due to the dockyard's Victorian Christmas Market & can't believe I've never been here before (only lived here 25 years, lol!)! The steps are a bit of a climb but once inside it's pure 1970's nostalgia! Not the biggest of cafes but it's clean & the prices are very reasonable. You can get a 2 course meal for about £6 & their cakes are out of this world, plus the tea actually tastes like tea. Brilliant view over the harbour, friendly staff who seem quite happy to be there. My favourite eating haunt from now on whenever I cross the water to Pompey!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tallulah3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Woking, Surrey, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Traincrews' PNB”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

While the premises may be a little tired, the café is clean and tidy, the views over the harbour are spectacular and the service is excellent and amazing value for money. Although I cannot say that the meals are the best I have ever had, and I don't consider this to be a valid point, where else can you get a full English breakfast for £3.50, cooked to order, piping hot and brought to your table. This is, after all, a café and not a restuarant.
Service is both friendly and efficient and, when time and conditions allow, a bit of friendly banter is a bonus - well done ladies.
Train driver and retired banker.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan-Nichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The cafe had a lovely view across the harbour.Food was good and cheap and gave you a good start to the day

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank christine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
344 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“While away the time”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Having arrived by bus to visit Portsmouth we needed a coffee to revive ourselves. We rembered visiting this cafe a couple of years ago. It's up a flight of steps and feels fairly basic once inside. Staff are friendly and helpful and prices reasonable. While away the time watching the ferries come in and out and watching all the passengers rushing around while you sit calmly enjoying your coffee.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FerringFairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“COFFEE BREAK”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

When near historic Dockyard stop off and enjoy a very nice coffee break at Harbour View Café. Sit on the balcony and watch the ships sail by. Lovely. Coffee good and staff very pleasant and helpful. Great for that very welcome feet up and break.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harbour View Cafe also viewed

 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Cosham, Portsmouth
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing