We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful”

Southsea Rose Garden
Ranked #18 of 118 things to do in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Although August and the best season for roses over there were still lots of beautiful blooms being tended by a very attentive gardener.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenniepearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    51
    6
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So neglected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was born in Portsmouth and am proud of my City.However what has happened to the usually beautiful gardens along sea Front They are so neglected i am ashamed to say.I know money is tight but this saving will cost you money by putting people off.don't

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventurerNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and magical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

When I visit the rose gardens I'm always reminded of my faverate movie "The secret garden" by the way the flowerbeds are positioned and the smell of the sea and clean fresh air makes you feel like you in a fairy tale and I quite often don't want to leave the wonderful sight of roses in there prime and the beautiful memorial benches that make me feel at one with the world

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank pheonixflame1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Riot of colour in high season.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Very nice place to stop and sit a while. Plenty of seating and a Japanese garden off to one side to explore. Lots of colour, climbers all around while you sit and relax. Could benefit from a few more volunteers to dead head as it's an endless task.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JollyGoodHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A quiet and beautiful place..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is a little gem, hidden away from the crowds and yet very close to the seafront. It's quiet, the kind of place people just go to sit for a while and read a book etc. The roses are beautiful, lots of colours and all very well kept. Will definitely come again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kate h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southsea Rose Garden also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Southsea Rose Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing