We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hope to go back soon”
Review of Cavendish Lodge

Cavendish Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cavendish Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hope to go back soon”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had just one night at Cavendish Lodge, but right from our booking and before we even arrived Jean the owner could not of been more helpful. Ensuring our stay was going to be a pleasant one. Jean was lovely as to was her beautiful home, we felt so relaxed and nothing was to much trouble. Breakfast was amazing and was cooked when we wanted it. We wish we could of stayed longer, but hope to return very soon. Thank you Jean.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gawjus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
40
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My husband and I are on our way back from staying at Cavendish Lodge whilst attending a wedding at Southsea Castle. We stayed in the New England room (in King bed form), which was perfect - toiletries provided, great decor and a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was excellent - fruit salad and yoghurt, smoked salmon and scrambled egg and a full English with quality ingredients. Jean was very understanding about our fleeting arrival to drop off our bags before the wedding and it was lovely that she came up and chatted with us when we arrived back just gone 10pm. The decaf coffee and fresh coffee were also very welcome. We left fully reminded why we stay in B&Bs whenever we can. Cavendish Lodge is a fabulous example.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We had an early 9am Saturday morning meeting in Portsmouth not far from Cavendish Lodge. Jean cooked a great breakfast early so we could get away on time and get to the meeting. The bed was comfortable and the pillows exceptional. We have stayed in many 5 star and above hotels and those pillows surpassed all of them. A true little gem well done Jean and John we will stay with you again when we next in Portsmouth.
Rowan and Ian

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rowan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

After a brief search of b&b a in the area we settled on cavendish lodge as our base for short weekend trip to Portsmouth. Having studied here for 5 years we knew the area well and the location is great. You are very close to the pubs and eateries of Albert road and kings avenue. The seaside is a 10 minute walk away and a cheap cab ride will get you into he town centre or to Gunwharf Quays.

We had not read any of the previous reviews before booking so were taken aback by the welcome we received there. Jean even ironed our crumpled shirts in preparation the party we were attending that evening!!

We had booked two of the rooms, the glamour and the New England room. The finish and quality of the decor was 10 out of 10 and the rooms had tea/coffee, fresh milk in a flask and a jar of cookies. Our en suite shower was perfect (New England room) and the bed was very comfortable.

The guest lounge was lovely with plenty of books, DVDs and CDs to keep you occupied! We enjoyed a glass or two of wine with scrabble before seeing friends in the evening and our hosts were very accommodating providing an ice bucket and glasses! We were entertained by the two resident cats who were very friendly.

We returned to our rooms after midnight with greeted with water left by our hosts!

The breakfast in the morning was everything described in the previous reviews. There was delicious yoghurt and fruit followed by a choice of cooked breakfasts and delicious coffee!!

Needless to say our hosts went above and beyond what you would expect from a b&b. We would recommend this to anyone wishing to stay in the area and are looking forward to our next visit to cavendish lodge!!!




Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank joshua r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Jean is a great hostess and we felt very welcome here. We stayed in the New England room which was perfect, very pretty, clean and spacious. The en suite was great, towels nice and fluffy and a good size. Breakfast was extremely good and I cannot fault this place at all. We will be coming back here as one of our daughters is at Uni here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane_nrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

I am from the Portsmouth area and know many of the hotels but on the way from Kent I was ringing around and couldn't find anywhere to accommodate myself, my wife and our 8 year old daughter. When I rang the Cavendish, I felt at home just from the phone call! Jean is the lovely host and even though she didn't have a family room she rang me back and offered to pop a mattress down for my daughter.

When we got to the Cavendish Lodge, we were greeted by Jean and went in to a gorgeously decorated and personalised place to stay. My daughter loved the 2 cats, Dolly and Lou-Lou (they were no trouble at all by the way!)

The room was just perfect, impeccably clean and with everything you could wish for. I honestly do not understand why anyone would want to stay in a hotel chain when you can stay in a lovely place like this.

After going out for bowling and a meal we came back around 10 to find the real log fire stoked up in the front room and enjoyed a wee snifter of brandy, a great chat with Jean and a read, then up the wooden hill to Bedfordshire!

After a fab night sleep I am in bed typing this looking forward to breakfast! We were made to feel so at home and will definitely stay again.

Thank you Jean and we wish you every success for the future! Warmest regards, Corrina, Safire and Steven.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank StevenW72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Cavendish Lodge was an excellent choice as it was within walking distance from most Portsmouth attractions ( Aquarium, HMS Victory, Mary Rose Museum..etc ). The bed was really comfortable and the bathroom was huge. There is tea and coffee in the room. Free parking on the roadside. Lovely breakfast and the host was very nice and helpful. We will recommend Cavendish Lodge to our friends and we'll stay there again in the future.

Marius & Maria

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marius_Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
0.7 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
0.5 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Lodge

Property: Cavendish Lodge
Address: 11 Cavendish Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cavendish Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing