We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cavendish Lodge

Cavendish Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cavendish Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the New England room for one evening when attending a show on Southsea Common. Very comfortable bed, and a high standard of room and en suite. Excellent hosts ( fresh milk and iced water in the room was very appreciated). Great breakfast. Couldn't fault it.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
38
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We have just had a wonderful 3 night stay at Cavendish lodge and we cannot speak highly enough of the welcome we received from our hosts Jean and John. The room was delightful - very comfortable, beautiful decor and furnishings. The tea/coffee making facilities were good, as was the cookie jar! The en-suite shower room was spotless and of a very high standard. The breakfasts were delicious and we enjoyed the company of the other guests in the dining room. There is a lovely back garden where we enjoyed watching Jean's cats having a bit of a play. The house is very close to the city so we were able to leave our car there and walk into the Historic Dockyards and the city every day. We felt very much at home there and enjoyed chatting to Jean and John. They are perfect hosts and we cannot fault their B&B in any way. We will definitely be back. Mr & Mrs Adie, Scotland

Room Tip: Our en-suite room at the front of the house was very bright, clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Celia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

just had a one night stay but what a lovely place. Jean and John wonderful hosts, delicous breakfast....cant fault this b&b...excellent stay. Helpful to find out about the area and even mended my hubbys glasses!! Perfect place for Portsmouth area and ferries.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dshackleton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

From the start, we had a wonderful welcome, gorgeous room, great breakfast, good conversation. Jean and John made us feel really welcome, they advised local restaurants, attractions etc. The room was very stylish and comfortable, great bed and quilt !! Good choice at breakfast, nothing was too much trouble for Jean. Thank you both for a wonderful stay. In the words of Mr Schwarzenegger (who once resided in Southsea - according to John) "I'll be back!"

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

My fiancée and I stayed at Cavendish Lodge in late May this year. The B&B is very well kept, clean and fresh, with great decor and furnishings. The rooms are of a very high standard, warm and welcoming, with a relaxed vibe. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds we have slept in, whilst staying away. John and Jean are great hosts, that cater to your every need. Nothing was too much trouble and we was even given a lift down to the seafront by John! The B&B offers free street parking and is within walking distance( 10-15 mins) from the shops and restaurants and the seafront. Great stay and will definitely return again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank London-couple123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had just one night at Cavendish Lodge, but right from our booking and before we even arrived Jean the owner could not of been more helpful. Ensuring our stay was going to be a pleasant one. Jean was lovely as to was her beautiful home, we felt so relaxed and nothing was to much trouble. Breakfast was amazing and was cooked when we wanted it. We wish we could of stayed longer, but hope to return very soon. Thank you Jean.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gawjus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

My husband and I are on our way back from staying at Cavendish Lodge whilst attending a wedding at Southsea Castle. We stayed in the New England room (in King bed form), which was perfect - toiletries provided, great decor and a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was excellent - fruit salad and yoghurt, smoked salmon and scrambled egg and a full English with quality ingredients. Jean was very understanding about our fleeting arrival to drop off our bags before the wedding and it was lovely that she came up and chatted with us when we arrived back just gone 10pm. The decaf coffee and fresh coffee were also very welcome. We left fully reminded why we stay in B&Bs whenever we can. Cavendish Lodge is a fabulous example.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
0.7 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.5 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Lodge

Property: Cavendish Lodge
Address: 11 Cavendish Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Cavendish Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing