We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than Tenerife”
Review of Sailmakers Loft

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portsmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sailmakers Loft
Ranked #24 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
cwmbran
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“better than Tenerife”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

This is an old house, with loads of character. We had the top floor room, with balcony and fantastic sea views over the harbour and Solent. Very clean and comfortable, laid back.
Bobby is a great bloke, chatty, witty and very knowledgeable about the old town and he cooks a mean full English. Nothing was too much trouble for him.
As long as I can book the top floor room, I will definately make this my number one place to stay in future ----- and there are 2 pubs withing spitting distance !!

Alan and Margaret Mortimer

Room Tip: Top floor is a must if you like ships
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    25
    4
    11
    3
See reviews for
4
38
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

it needed hoovering and dusting. The bathroom wasnt too bad but the shower seal is going black. Bedding was shabby and old - the quilt and valance didnt fit the bed (double on a king size bed). Curtain pole bent, hook on the back of ensuite door stuck on with blue tack! and the blinds didnt work properly (good job your not overlooked).
Nice chap runs it but it just needs a woman's touch (without sounding sexist) .....

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lesleyfearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nr Notts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

A nice b and b, come and go as you like and have breakfast when you like, its ideally situated and the top floor room must have one of the best views ever.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nrNottsCliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Kent, UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Was a little nervous having read some of the less positive reviews, and - being utterly honest - this was not the first choice accommodation, but several others were already booked, we needed a location by the harbour and this was free.

However, bed very comfortable, loads of tea / coffee etc provided ( a bonus, so many places provide the absolute minimum ) breakfast perfectly fine. The house may apparently have a "history", but once inside it's just a tall narrow, old-fashioned, house, but so what ? The location is terrific, the ship views great, and Bobby is a very helpful and knowledgeable host. OK, he isn't resident overnight, but that is no rarity these days and doesn't matter a bit

Will definitely stay again when next in Portsmouth

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barryp54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Lovely b&b with very clean and comfortable rooms and a great fiew over portsmouth harbour and the sea! Landlord very nice and friendly and a great low-fat English breakfast!

Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank beccy_stinkesocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2011

Booked a nights stay for my wife's birthday and didn't fancy a normal hotel chain.
Location is brilliant and parking not a problem as the owner provides a free permit.

We were given the middle floor room at the front, with some sea views. But the bed seemed old and soft with worn out bedding. Although the sheets had clearly been laundered they didn't fresh and new feeling like in many hotels. The carpet was in need of hoovering with much dust and fluff around the edges.

The very small bathroom had a pathetic dribble of a shower with lots of mould behind the door that is only evident once you are in the shower and close the door, perhaps why the cleaner has missed it.

However, we sneaked a look at the top floor room before the other guests arrived and it was completely different. It was bigger, and had MUCH better views, looked modern, bright, and quite pleasant. I would give this place one more try if I was guaranteed the top floor with its own balcony.

All rooms must suffer from noise from boats which pass with almost monotonous regularity during the night, just feet from the building. Impressive when you first see a big ferry tower over you as it sails but tedious when they rumble past at 4am!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PBRSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Cramped room..have heard that loft room is good however did not stay in that one.
Did not have ensuite or staff in residence.
Breakfast very good.
Great location for all Portsmouth attractions.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DurhamEvvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#11 of 38 in Portsmouth
403 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#22 of 38 in Portsmouth
994 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Maritime Club
Royal Maritime Club
#15 of 38 in Portsmouth
737 reviews
1.4 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 38 in Portsmouth
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sailmakers Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sailmakers Loft

Property: Sailmakers Loft
Address: 5 Bath Square | Spice Island, Portsmouth PO1 2JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Sailmakers Loft Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing