We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Sailmakers Loft

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portsmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sailmakers Loft
Ranked #23 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 5 February 2011

Booked a nights stay for my wife's birthday and didn't fancy a normal hotel chain.
Location is brilliant and parking not a problem as the owner provides a free permit.

We were given the middle floor room at the front, with some sea views. But the bed seemed old and soft with worn out bedding. Although the sheets had clearly been laundered they didn't fresh and new feeling like in many hotels. The carpet was in need of hoovering with much dust and fluff around the edges.

The very small bathroom had a pathetic dribble of a shower with lots of mould behind the door that is only evident once you are in the shower and close the door, perhaps why the cleaner has missed it.

However, we sneaked a look at the top floor room before the other guests arrived and it was completely different. It was bigger, and had MUCH better views, looked modern, bright, and quite pleasant. I would give this place one more try if I was guaranteed the top floor with its own balcony.

All rooms must suffer from noise from boats which pass with almost monotonous regularity during the night, just feet from the building. Impressive when you first see a big ferry tower over you as it sails but tedious when they rumble past at 4am!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PBRSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    25
    4
    11
    3
See reviews for
4
38
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Cramped room..have heard that loft room is good however did not stay in that one.
Did not have ensuite or staff in residence.
Breakfast very good.
Great location for all Portsmouth attractions.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DurhamEvvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Stayed at this guest house for one night and we're glad. The room was filthy. I don't believe the room had been cleaned in a considerable period of time. The bed lined was clean, although tatty. The dresser and window cills were covered in dust and the previous guests dirt. The toilet pan was fithy, this hadn't seen a toilet brush. The tap still had the previous guests tooth paste stuck to the spout. The shower, well, it is a small square type with a bi-folding door, for this to be cleaned, you need to get inside it. The glass was fithy, full of scum, you couldn't see out the clear glass. When I pulled the door shut, it was black with mould. Again I wouldn't like to guess when this was last cleaned. In the morning we went down for breakfast. Bobby joined us, having cooked our breakfast in his bare feet, who then proceed to place with his feet whilst he sat and talked with us, whilst we ate our breakfast. When I returned to pay our account, the kitchen door was open. I'm glad I didn't see this before eating. The place was disgusting, the work tops were crammed with everything you could think of, that shouldn't be in the kitchen.
For location it was great, but cleaniness, I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PrimaGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Bobby is a good host and being local can tell help you with most things. Many eating places nearby. Spice Island is a great location if you like the sea and shipping and a bit of history combined. Within walking distance (15 minitues) of all the main attractions in Portsmouth. A most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artmcleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Our host entertained us well at breakfast with interesting conversation and met our needs for a filling breakfast. Unfortunately, in our room the curtains, blinds and windows needed cleaning. The B&B is located approx 20 minutes walking distance from Gunwharf Quay, following the 'chain link' of paving stones along the ground. Views of the Spinnaker Tower (worth a visit), across the harbour to Gosport and the open sea, and despite the rain a view of the Isle of Wight. Would recommend the Historical Dockyard as an all-day visit. We paid £18 each to visit all the on-site attractions, there are also a number of free museums on site. Visit the City Museum, free and interesting but worth a donation. For a choice of restaurants for the evenings, take a short journey down the road to Southsea.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJNorthamptonshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltash, Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

I stayed for three weeks, out-of season, in a single room whilst attending a course in Portsmouth. It served its purpose for this though it wasn't the most comfortable of rooms. The room was very small, had a small bed (with plastic mattress cover - euugh!) and a duvet aimed at small children. Fortunately I was travelling with my own sleeping bag (and towel - old habits die hard) so I didn't trouble the owner for a replacement, which was probably just as well because the owner would have complied but I suspected it would have been grudging compliance - customer service is not high on the list of his priorities.

Breakfasts were adequate but lacking in variety. Once I had established my preferences on day one that's what I got for the next three weeks. Again, I could have said something but, quite frankly, life is too short; I wasn't starving and I didn't want to give this chap any more reason to sink into his own morose.

It was cheap, warm and dry, and it was well-situated with some great restaurants and pubs nearby and a continually-changing maritime view. It is for these reasons that I recommend it; those and as a study into how to take a perfectly good B&B and slowly drive it into the ground through poor customer service and an arrogant belief that all one needs to make money in the hotel and catering business is a good location - still it was a lot better than staying in a monolithic corporate hutch in Southsea.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2009

Fantastic location right on the water, located right beside two pubs and easy walking distance to the main sight seeing attractions.

Overall, the B&B is average. The cleanliness and upkeep of the rooms was questionable and the food was average at best. The bed was worn out and uncomfortable.

Go for the location, not a traditional B&B atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prost99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#12 of 38 in Portsmouth
398 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Maritime Club
Royal Maritime Club
#16 of 38 in Portsmouth
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fortitude Cottage
Fortitude Cottage
#6 of 34 in Portsmouth
383 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ship Leopard Hotel
The Ship Leopard Hotel
#7 of 34 in Portsmouth
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sailmakers Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sailmakers Loft

Property: Sailmakers Loft
Address: 5 Bath Square | Spice Island, Portsmouth PO1 2JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Sailmakers Loft Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing