We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great for the price”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We had a one night stop pver here on our way to the isle of wight. For the price it was perfect. Nice and clean very friendly staff. The adjoining pub serves nice meals although the staff in there were pretty shocking. Around the hotel there are a couple of other options to eat so you would not be left hungry! would recommend this hotel for a short term "stop-over" stay for which it is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KWillibobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    363
    138
    47
    40
See reviews for
369
337
36
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

This was our first time in a Premier Inn. Much to our surprise this one far exceeded our expectations. Very quick check-in, very good modern room furniture/decor, air conditioning, Freeview TV, walk-in shower with a seat(!) and noise free. Everything you need for a relaxing night's stay. A bonus was the on-site restaurant. A menu to satisfy anyone and a delicious rump steak was enjoyed. Friendly and very efficient staff here as well as the Reception/Bar area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We chose the Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent because it was only ten minutes away from the cross channel ferry terminals, but we were pleasantly surprised by our choice.

The accomodation was very clean and the rooms offered plenty of space and came equipped with air conditioning, tea/coffee making facilities, trouser press, hair dryer and TV showing freeview channels. There was no bath only a shower, but this was well known before booking. The reception is manned 24hrs a day and the staff were helpful and polite.

The hotel has a restaurant but it is located within walking distance of a 24hour Tesco Extra, Pizza hut, Beefeater and KFC, which gives you plenty of choices depending upon your budget. And given its close proximity to a range of shops, eateries and the motorway, it was really quite during our stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Div29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Nice comfortable room altho the sink in the room and not in the bathroom is a strange concept but the noise from the busy road outside is unbearable. When mentioning it to staff when leaving it was our fault as we should of checked how busy the road was before booking!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonHelene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Social Media at Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

After a long ferry trip and huge drive with 2 young children aged 2 and 5 we were in desperate need of an easy check-in, simple information and a comfortable room. This is what we got at Premier Inn. We were met by friendly staff and were given the most lovely, modern, comfortable bedroom. It seemed very new and clean. The kids were desperate for a sleep so it was really nice to find the children's beds including the travel cot all made up and ready. The bathroom had a fantastic shower. There weren't any products like shampoo and conditioner but there was a hand pump on the shower wall for shower gel.
The breakfast was fantastic. I'm even considering going to our local Premier Inn for breakfast only one morning. £7.99 for 1 adult and 1 child, including drinks. there was loads of choice, including especially ordered omelettes and poached eggs etc.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Other members of our family were not so pleased with the tired environment at the sister hotel next door (attatched to the Beefeater)

Room Tip: This Premier Inn is newer and cleaner than the next door one attatched to the Beefeater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strattongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Stayed overnight on our way to France in a family room. One Kingsize bed, one single & a substantial mattress on the floor.

The room was clean, spacious and well maintained. The breakfast was good with plenty of choice, from cereal and toast, to fresh fruit and muesli, to pastries and a full English. The staff were courteous and friendly. The hotel was quiet at night & we all got a good night's sleep.

Would recommend this as a good base for exploring Portsmouth, and to catch those early morning ferries (only 10 mins from ferry port).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mouthybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,179 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
3.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
4.6 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
3.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#21 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel
Address: Binnacle Way, Portsmouth PO6 4FB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#10 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A convenient spot whether you're catching a ferry down the road or here for the yacht racing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Port Solent) Hotel Portsmouth
Tulip Portsmouth
Portsmouth Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing