We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay yet again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay yet again”
Reviewed 28 November 2012 via mobile

I've just returned after spending five nights at this hotel. I visit Portsmouth quite often throughout the year and being thrifty and in a double dip recession I always look for the best deal available. I used to stay at this hotel every time I was in Pompey but since December of 2011 whenever I've been down the price has been extortionate. Fortunately this time I booked early enough to get the premier saver rates some at £29 & others at £39. Even with breakfast it equated to £44 a night with full unlimited breakfast.

After a long drive down from Lancashire we arrived at the hotel and the receptionist was "brilliant" I wish I could remember his name because he went the extra mile for everyone, I must express has does the other members of staff but he attended to us. Check in was a breeze and were in our room in minutes. Both rooms were on the ground floor next to each other so that was an advantage. The rooms a great loads of space. Wardrobe is none existent but you've got shelving and a rail so that was fine. The bed was lovely and comfortable, loads of spare pillows. The shower room is perfect, again loads of space the shower is really hot whenever I've used it.

Unfortunately the weather was terrible so didn't get to see much of the area that I usually visit but being on a break and chill-out this wasn't a big problem. My friend and I spent quite some time seated in the foyer chatting, drinking coffee and watching the world go by. One thing that was apparent about the staff was there attitude to detail. Everywhere was spotless and clean. From the bedrooms, hallways, foyer and restaurant everywhere was clean.

The food is always of exceptional quality, breakfast was always hot and plentiful. The choice and variety is unbelievable, there's something for everyone. The hot drinks machine was my favourite though. Unlimited Costa Coffee, I was in heaven. We originally hadn't booked for the meal deal but decided to upgrade when we where there. I spoke to reception and asked was this possible. They said yes and for an extra £15 we had a three course meal with a drink. The choice was great, the prawn cocktail is amazing. In total I would say this is probably the best large chain budget hotel I've stayed in. Probably due to the staff that work there. I will defiantly be returning more often. For the extra few pounds this hotel may cost its well worth paying. The extra service you receive is easily worth paying a little more for.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Markdl1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    363
    138
    46
    40
See reviews for
369
335
36
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxon
Level Contributor
146 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Booked a family for one night to come and visit the Historic Dockyards.
The room was £39 for four of us, plus £16.50 for two breakfasts (the two children ate free). At that sort of value, you can't complain!
Staff were very efficient and pleasant. Room was spacious, clean and modern. Usual Premier Inn standard. Breakfast was buffet style - lots of it, good choice and pleasant enough.
Only complaint would be that we got there late and went straight to bed, not aware until the morning that the room thermostat had been left ridiculously high! We all woke up boiling hot and when we opened the window, the noise of the busy road did keep you awake.
Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, otherwise it is noisy at night.
Good location for easy access to all Portsmouth's attractions at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: As for a room on the car park side away from the busy main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxonLioness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Check in was fast and efficient and the staff member was very helpful and went that extra mile which was appreciated. The room was adequate, standard Premier Inn stuff, nothing too fancy but clean and tidy.

We collected a take away pizza from the bar / restaurant and returned to our room. After eating two slices my partner lifted the next slice out of the box and to our horror a live earwig was now running around inside the box.

Naturally, I returned the unfinished pizza and was given a cash refund and apology by the food and beverage manager. I mentioned the incident again when checking out the following morning and was surrpised not be offered a refund based on the famous Premier Inn good night guarantee. Maybe it's just a great nights sleep that's guaranteed and insects in your food does not affect that?

Once home I used their website contact page to complain and ask about the refund issue but 48hrs later and I haven't heard a thing by email or phone.

Room Tip: The car park side is quieter, busy dual carriage way the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duggy96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants.

We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by Customer Services and the Management Team at this hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina
Social Media Team,

Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed at Port Solent Premier Inn for 1 night. Central location to Portsmouth. Room very clean and comfy.
Staff plesant and attentive.
Breakfast expensive though but local restaurants can provide meals. Tesco down the road for any provisions..
Good clean hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I was very cynical about Premier Inn, but I was so very pleasantly surprised.
The staff were utterly delightful. My first time and will certainly be back.
Had a good night's sleep. Great breakfast-chose the continental one and had a good selection of cereals and breads, including crumpets and croissants. The teas are all Twinnings and there is also soya milk, which I need as I'm a vegan.

Room Tip: Call a couple of days before and request one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Beautifully clean and spacious room with a large comfortable bed. We stayed for two nights from 2nd November 2012. Apart from the breakfasts, we also had an evening meal on one of the nights. The food was delicious and service was first class. The reception and bar staff were nice and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Better views from the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Really great Premier Inn, excellent staff I would have to say. Special thanks to Hazel and Kristen from the restaurant staff who helped my son with food allergies enjoy his stay too. They were able to provide great information with regards to what he could have from the menu and what to avoid. Often this level of service is over looked and left to the individual to cross their fingers and hope they won't have an allergic reaction. The staff as a whole were excellent and really friendly and helpful for the 2 nights we stayed whilst visiting the historic dockyard.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PirateHammyFell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,177 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
3.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
4.6 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
3.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#21 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel
Address: Binnacle Way, Portsmouth PO6 4FB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#10 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A convenient spot whether you're catching a ferry down the road or here for the yacht racing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Port Solent) Hotel Portsmouth
Tulip Portsmouth
Portsmouth Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing