We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We have never stayed at a Premier Inn before and were very pleasantly surprised - staff were friendly and helpful, our family room was clean and well appointed and breakfast was plentiful and varied. If all Premier Inns are like this one we wouldn't hesitate to stay with them again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 410KimA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

829 - 835 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

Very, very handy for the ferry port. It's straight across the road from the other Portsmouth Premier Inn which does appear strange when first arrive, however this one has a little restaurant inside so is slightly more advantageous in that sense in you're planning on having breakfast/dinner.
Rooms are big and although my room faced onto the main road, was very quiet. There's ample parking with an overflow car park. Its also right next door to a massive tesco's so you can pop over to grab any bits you may have forgotten!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kungaloosh_boosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Stayed for several one night business trips.

Spotlessly clean and for a Premier Inn staff very approachable and friendly.

Good quality food in the restaurant with the usual nice breakfast.

The icing on the cake is attached to the Tescos 1/2 mile down the road which is a Krispy Creme
Donut factory. Watch them being made and select a assorted dozen to take home and share. Yeah share :-)

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
Thank keithowen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Fantaastic Hotel and well siuated in Portsmouth. Exccellent staff, quick and professional check in. Evening Meal superb both myself and my older daughter had the steak Superb. Breakfast very good also and the staff at breakfast very good indeed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevefoster1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

A nice hotel that is conveniently located to the motorway and A roads. The problem with that is if you are not used to traffic noise at night (I'm not) the droning if vehicles on both the A road and the motorway could be annoying.

The hotel is nice, modern and clean with friendly staff.

The room has a sink in it right outside the bathroom which creates more room space. The room was quite spacious with usual tea and coffee making facilities, open wardrobes and small flat screen tv. This room had a phone too.

The restaurant in the morning offered nicely prepared cereals, yogurts, juice and a hot buffet. When I ate the air conditioning was on super chill or something because I was cold to the point of commenting to the staff who didn't seem to do anything about it. It cooled my food down in a couple of minutes to a point of it not being enjoyed. I don't imagine it is always this cold at breakfast though.

All in all a reasonable stay with the only negative being road noise. I stayed on the 3rd floor. I still managed to sleep so it couldn't have been that bad.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Splitpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed here for 1 night, due to unplanned visit to family, in Portsmouth. Couldnt' pre book online as we were too busy, so wnet there on off chance at 9pm (if we had booked on line it would've cost £80, paid by cash so cost £90 - don't agree with this). However the staff were polite and welcoming. We ate in the restaurant (The Thyme) food was hot and tasty, restaurant staff were helpful and attentive - even though they were extremely busy). Our family room was clean and comfortable, however the sink was situated in the bedroom and every time one of used the bathroom and had to wash our hands, we woke each other (I'm sure my 12 year old son has a bladder of a 90 year old). There was no bath only a shower. Although situated near a busy road and the hotel was full, noise was minimal. Breakfast was tasted good, it was replenished quickly and it was hot. We waited 10 minutes to be seated though, whilst a staff member chased their own children around and we were ignored - however the other member of staff once she realised we were waiting was very apologetic and showed us to our seats. Overall we were pleased with our emergency landing and would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria209011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Stayed here for 1 night before our ferry crossing to the Isle Of Wight as a family of 4.
Lovely clean room with plenty of room even with childrens beds made up.
Ample tea/coffee making facilities.
Breakfast was lovely,hot and well stocked buffet breakfast with all you could possibly thing of.Highly recommend it in this hotel.
Only downside was thought the bathroom to be tiny almost capsule like with sink in the bedroom.Apart from this excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charliemaine1bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,278 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
3.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
3.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#23 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel

Address: Binnacle Way, Portsmouth PO6 4FB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#10 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £44 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A convenient spot whether you're catching a ferry down the road or here for the yacht racing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Premier Inn, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Port Solent) Hotel Portsmouth
Tulip Portsmouth
Portsmouth Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing