We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting Portsmouth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
West Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Visiting Portsmouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Yet again had a lovely time in Portsmouth and a relaxing experience at the Premier Inn. Staff at Port Solent are lovely especially Inga who remembers us every time we visit. Will be back again in a couple of weeks and know that I will get a good nights rest following a long journey.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 255Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    356
    132
    43
    38
See reviews for
359
324
37
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

I booked two rooms overnight 13/14 March 2014, as we wanted to visit the city with friends. Both rooms were excellent and we had no problems with them. I also pre-booked four breakfasts for the morning of the 14th., because we planned to spend the day at the Naval Dockyard and wanted a substantial breakfast. Having experienced the breakfasts at Premier Inns in the past, we thought we knew what to expect. However, we were extremely disappointed with our experience; and that goes for all four of us. We met up at 0900am., and went for breakfast. We were told that they had "run out" of the main food items. Al that was left was one sausage, some old=looking scrambled egg and mushrooms. people were complaining to the waitress who was running the gauntlet, apologizing and trying to do her best. This was a scandalous experience ! We had been spoiled by getting good breakfasts in the past at other locations, but this place was the pits. It is enough to make us not return there ever again. £32 plus for breakfast ? You must be joking. We intend to take this up with HO.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelDevon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Great service, very friendly / helpful staff. Room was well maintained, if basic (no baths, just showers and sink in room). Sheets had a few little stains and bed base moved too much BUT minor gripes!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessHelicopter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We were agreeably surprised how good this hotel was since it is classified as 'budget'. In all respects it was comparable with many four star hotels we have stayed in and the breakfast, a good deal better.



  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

The staff were friendly and helpful, rooms comfortable and clean.
Excellent hot shower and a very nice stay. We were visiting the Mary Rose museum so very convenient for that. It was great not to have to go outside to restaurant but food was cold so did have to complain about that.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

The hotel is in a good location 5 mins drive into Portsmouth. The hotel is over the road from a pizza hut, KFC and Tesco Extra with petrol station (and the tesco has a krispy kreme donuts coffee shop).

The hotels car park is on the small side. I had no problem when I arrived mid afternoon but later on as I headed out to dinner the car park was full.

The staff (as ever at Premier inns) were extremely welcoming, friendly and happy to see you. Check in and finding my rooms was no problem at all, very quick and easy. The room was as you would expect from a standard premier inn, large, clean and comfortable, nicely decorated and modern looking. The bedroom was equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, tv, hair dryer, wardrobe, desk, chair and a tub chair. The bathroom did not have a bath but there was a shower and toilet and the sink was in the main bedroom. I found that there was plenty of hot water during my stay.

I did not eat in the restaurant (I got a pizza hut to take to my room) but I did buy drinks from the bar and again the bar staff were extremely polite, friendly and helpful.

I would certainly consider this hotel again if I needed to stay in this area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liggylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here last night with my son as we wanted to visit Portsmouth. The service was great, room clean and very good location. I would def recommend. The restaurant was being worked on so we had breakfast in the Beefeater next door. Nasty food, poor service and dirty, avoid at all costs. Worst breakfast I've ever had.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth North Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
3.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel
Address: Binnacle Way, Portsmouth PO6 4FB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#10 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A convenient spot whether you're catching a ferry down the road or here for the yacht racing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Port Solent) Hotel Portsmouth
Tulip Portsmouth
Portsmouth Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing