We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply great!”
Review of Circolo Pizzeria

Circolo Pizzeria
Ranked #51 of 651 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Bringing Authentic Italian Pizza to the heart of Southsea
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Simply great!”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Ate for the first time at Circolo last night and it won't be the last, the service was good the food was great the atmosphere was European, you simply were transported a fantastic all round experince thank you to all the team in there...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SJODubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    57
    25
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Lots to learn but food very good”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

This place has only been open a few months and we went here last night. Met the young owner who was a pleasant and friendly chap. Had the squid and risotto balls for starter and then pizza for main. All excellent really with steady service. Waitress was very timid and just needs to inject some oommphf into her service, engage with the punters after all it's that type of environment. Asked for the bill and then waited ages for her to come over so I approached the bar with the bill and my cc only to be told that they don't accept cards. So I had to march along to the cashpoint and draw some more loot out. Really the owner should have told us at the outset that he's not set up for cards as yet. Anyway pretty reasonable in the end but as he gets busier he will have to have much more of a handle on things. Worth a try for the food.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank HampshireNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Southsea meets Italy in style!”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

First visit for lunch with four friends. Great value lunch deal. Atmosphere great as we could have stayed all afternoon. Genuinely friendly service. Very nice decor, looks like they have reclaimed some of the original features, think it was a butchers a long time ago. Inventive and stylish including the loos (very important!). Will be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet Ayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southsea, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing every time!”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I love this place. The burgers are incredible and the pizzas are divine! My favourite restaurant in Southsea! Always amazing every time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Portsmouth!”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Popped in here for a quick bite the other evening with my partner. The pizza's were superb! Lovely and fresh on a crisp base.

Definitely one of the best pizza's I have had for long time! I had their signature pizza - it was excellent!

Lovely relaxed atmosphere.. will be returning very soon!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kports1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Circolo Pizzeria also viewed

 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Circolo Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing